DHG Senior Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Senior Associate

DHG Senior Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
44%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
DHG CEO Matt Snow
Matt Snow
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to learn and grow professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    DHG is a very professional work place, which offers a lot of opportunity for growth and advancement. DHG has an excellent client base and the partners have an open door policy, which encourages collaboration and learning.

    Cons

    You need to know what your niche industry and career goals are at the very beginning of your career with DHG. Staffing issues and frequent turnovers require longer hours from those who stay.

    Continue reading
    DHG2015-10-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Audit Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DHG

    Pros

    Clients and your coworkers are awesome. Clients generally need some tidying up on the accounting side, but are overall very good.

    Cons

    Partners can't make decisions, lack of communication, no transparency into decisions, "bookends" on pay...supposedly.

    Continue reading
    DHG2015-09-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff are great. The work is interesting. The hours outside of busy season are pretty reasonable.

    Cons

    There's a lot of pressure and it has gotten worse in the past year or so. It feels like upper management wants to be a big 4 and that mindset is being pushed down.

    DHG2015-01-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "An OK place to work and start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Associate in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at DHG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work / life balance

    Cons

    A lot of office politics at the time and low pay relative to the position

    DHG2014-12-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Changed since the merger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Associate in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Okay pay. I worked with some great people including partners (all of whom were there when the firm was just Goodman & Company).

    Cons

    Ever since the merger with Dixon Hughes the firm became more and more like a Big Four. Our office worked with other regional offices a lot and since both offices were so different there were too many clashes and politics. Busy season used to be manageable but more recently the expectations for you to be there late were higher. Upper management is also very shady and hard to trust (regional and office managing partners as well as human resource managers). The partners in the region can't even communicate with each other. Overall the more hours you put in the better you'll do. If thats your thing than I'd recommend DHG over a Big Four.

    Continue reading
    DHG2014-06-10
  6. "It was a great job out of college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DHG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunities for advancement were numerous. This company wants to grow.

    Cons

    My position involved a lot of extended overnight travel.

    DHG2014-04-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Typical Public Accounting Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DHG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the "Southern" culture of DHG, and I really liked the people I worked with - associates, managers, partners, support staff - everyone was great. At DHG you can experience the work and have the resources of a Big 4 firm without the Big 4 culture.

    Cons

    I saw very little reward for the extra hours and travel time I put in. The last year I was there, another associate and I had 500 more hours year-to-date than any other associate in our region. Both of got a cost of living raise/adjustment just like all of the other associates. Some appreciation in the form of a bonus or a slightly higher raise would have been nice. Ultimately, I left after working seven days a week for eight months straight - a good portion of that involved travel. While my co-workers were great, I was definitely seeing too much of them.

    Continue reading
    DHG2014-03-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work but moving toward big 4 mentality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Enjoyable group of people to work with. Technology and training better than average. Strong ethics.

    Cons

    Moving towards Big 4 corporate culture minus the name recognition. Talk more about work life balance than put it into practice...more work less life. Small annual raises.

    DHG2013-08-14
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DHG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome at what they do

    Cons

    I dont have any cons

    DHG2013-05-29
  10. "Great opportunity to grow as an accountant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at DHG

    Pros

    Personal development, pay, people you work with.

    Cons

    Travel can be excessive as an auditor.

    DHG2011-11-10
Found 23 reviews