DW Sports Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

DW Sports Reviews

Updated 22 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
DW Sports CEO Dave Whelan
Dave Whelan
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "High pressure, poor pay, no work life balance, head office aren’t pleasant(in 22 reviews)

  • "Complete lack of progression, high staff turnover(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging but enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DW Sports full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic Management (at least where I work) - Shifts are fun and enjoyable - Members are great

    Cons

    - Salary - You would often work much more than what you are paid for - Head Office

    DW Sports2019-09-09
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I have been working at DW Sports full-time

    Pros

    Staff , members , bonus and people

    Cons

    Hours of work , unsociable hours

    DW Sports2019-11-22
  3. "Previous Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Blackburn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DW Sports part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helped me to organically grow my interpersonal and communication skills. I became more confident as I was dealing with customers on a day to day basis. Staff were nice to work with.

    Cons

    Manager didn't have best interest at heart.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff.

    DW Sports2019-11-18
  4. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DW Sports full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership and nice customers

    Cons

    Poor management meant morale was not great

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like human beings

    DW Sports2019-11-09
  5. "Great atmosphere but company needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DW Sports part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere with staff and customers Free gym membership

    Cons

    Low pay Unpredictable hours which make work unstable

    Advice to Management

    Improve the pay and hours to make it sustainable to keep working at this company. Also, support the personal trainers more.

    DW Sports2019-10-29
  6. "Impossible KPI Targets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DW Sports part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership Other sales assistants were friendly

    Cons

    Management demand the impossible Training is done on an app outside of working hours (unpaid)

    Advice to Management

    Give people a chance with KPI's that are actually attainable Scrap Myagi

    DW Sports2019-11-16
  7. "Nice Place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DW Sports part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment and managers. Staff discount generous.

    Cons

    Really quiet place to work

    DW Sports2019-10-10
  8. "2 stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager, MSM and Corporate Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DW Sports full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people on the ground in clubs, great atmosphere, especially after FF acquisition.

    Cons

    Complete lack of progression, high staff turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard working, loyal employees within the business, not just those who shout about how amazing they are all the time.

    DW Sports2019-10-17
  9. "Cool People Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at DW Sports part-time

    Pros

    Meet nice people, make good friends.

    Cons

    Company is outdated needing a drastic update.

    DW Sports2019-09-25
  10. "It is a good establisment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DW Sports full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing to work with

    Cons

    Not a fan of having to deal with the toilets

    DW Sports2019-09-04
Found 109 reviews