Daisy Group Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated 27 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Daisy Group Founder and Chairman Matthew Riley
Matthew Riley
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people and some decent career opportunities(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is making great strides and has hired really great people who are developing well(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is awful compared to other companies and no pay rises(in 24 reviews)

  • "No pay rises unless you move within company or leave and come back(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daisy Group

    Pros

    Good company, nice people, good pay

    Cons

    No pay rise, and following the recent acquisitions processes are hard to follow

    Daisy Group2016-10-19

    Daisy Group Response

    October 27, 2016Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your patience as we continue to integrate our systems, processes and tools across the whole business. We hope that you continue to work at Daisy, and continue to provide us in the management team with your feedback.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Only worked there a short time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daisy Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Good people Good benefits

    Cons

    Some people pass off work that they should be responsible for Do not always have the right access to do the job

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2019-02-27

    Daisy Group Response

    May 10, 2019Internal Communication Officer

    It’s great to hear that you worked with friendly people. We are constantly working hard to build an engaged, positive culture in which colleagues value each other. Flexible working is key for the business to enable us to attract talent from a variety of backgrounds, I am pleased you were able to benefit from this. We are continuously working with our teams to ensure the data we have is accurate and workable for our customer service teams. Damien Russell HR Director

  3. Helpful (3)

    "OK Place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daisy Group full-time

    Pros

    Good people and some decent career opportunities

    Cons

    Shaky management and wobbly processes

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2018-08-22

    Daisy Group Response

    September 17, 2018Internal Communication Officer

    Thank you for your review. We have fantastic people working at daisy and our employees are at the heart of everything we do. We are continuously improving ways in which we can develop and create more opportunities for our employees. In the last year, we have reviewed our processes and systems to make them more streamlined and efficient. We are aware that changes like this are not instant. We have already made great progress and we continue to strive to be the best we can be. We work closely with our managers to ensure they have the right skills and resources to fully support their teams.

  4. Helpful (17)

    "A truly terrible company led by shambolic management out of their depth."

    1.0
     

    I worked at Daisy Group

    Pros

    Some individual contributors are very good, resilient people who ignore the nonsense going on around them. Some of the acquired companies brought good people (although most of those have left). The London office is good (however it is now tumbleweed city as staff rush for the exit) The hopelessly out of his depth CEO has been fired at last.

    Cons

    You could write a long book about what’s wrong with Daisy. The strategy of using debt to buy companies, failing to integrate them, and destroying value in the process is just the beginning. The founder/CEO seems the only person who believes Daisy is worth what he thinks it is. All the potential buyers recently walked away as they obviously value it much lower. Daisy’s only real ability is cutting costs, but they have destroyed any team spirit along the way, morale is desperately low and staff are leaving in high numbers. The company is likely to start selling the family silver to keep the thing going. The former CEO, recently fired, probably for failing to sell at the ridiculous price his chairman wanted, was a very insecure first time CEO who really didn’t understand the business, played to a simplistic formula which didn’t work, and completely failed to inspire the staff.

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2018-08-04

    Daisy Group Response

    September 17, 2018Internal Communication Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review We are constantly working hard to build an engaged, positive culture in which colleagues value each other. Daisy has acquired a number of businesses over its 17 year history and that has made us the company we are today, the largest independent Telecommunications, IT and Cloud provider in the UK and one committed to customer service. If we have an issue with any part of our service, we always look to learn from it and then improve the service we then deliver. This is something that we have in our Daisy Values and that is fundamental to success. We have been very busy integrating our various systems and processes and have made some great progress. We also know there is still more we can do, so we are working hard to ensure we do this as quickly as possible.

  5. Helpful (10)

    "it could be worse"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daisy Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Not enough staff or opportunities to train

    Daisy Group2018-04-18

    Daisy Group Response

    June 7, 2018Internal Communication Officer

    Thank you for your review. We believe every business is only as good as its people so it’s great to know that you work with good colleagues. As you know, we are a growing business and staffing levels are always a key factor in providing the best possible service to our customers and partners. That’s why we invest so heavily in in-house training; delivering hundreds of hours every month across our divisions and locations. There are lots of opportunities for advancement here and I would encourage you to ask your manager for any training you feel would help you achieve your goals. David Jones Chief People Officer

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Specialist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Daisy Group full-time

    Pros

    Really good people and great team players, a BIG plus.

    Cons

    Business doesn't seem to replace engineers that end up leaving in turn this leads to smaller teams with much bigger work loads. Training budget seems to be a topic that everyone talks about but it's not really being addressed.

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2017-11-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good and Bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daisy Group full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn. Good people who understand their remit Reasonably well disbursed around the country providing different places to work.

    Cons

    There is a pay cap for internal advancement that for some represents a pay cut if they're promoted. Investment has ground to a halt, impacting productivity. Integration of acquisitions has been patchy.

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2017-10-30
  8. Helpful (18)

    "A business in decline. Poor leadership at best, cronyism at worst. An embarrassment on your CV."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Nelson, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daisy Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you enjoy Machiavellian behaviour, constant redundancies, no bonuses and want to spend your life constantly looking over your shoulder, this is the place for you. It is such a shame as there are some really good people doing good things at all levels of the business that gets overshadowed, although the brain drain is accelerating.

    Cons

    Poor M&A decisions and GTM strategy with outdated propositions, opinions regularly stated (and believed) as fact and a policy that the latest acquisition and its people are the silver bullets to solve all problems. This hasn't worked out in their favour. Health warning: This will look bad on your CV.

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2017-08-02
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Daisy Group..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daisy Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people that work here Good holiday-25 days starting rising to 30 with option to 'buy' 5 more Sick pay

    Cons

    Pay minimum wage to both operatives and admin. No fair pay through out the company or within your teams. No progression. Management not bothered about you. Clicky. If your family works there you will go far. Experience counts for nothing. Neither does loyalty...

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2017-07-27
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Absolutely Awful - Avoid like hell"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daisy Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people who really care. Hiring newbies in good positions.

    Cons

    No wage increases. You're left alone to do your job and other people's job. Non existent training. Poor level of staff motivation. Everyone is looking for a new job. Lot of contractors that don't really care about company.

    Continue reading
    Daisy Group2017-04-11
Found 17 reviews