Defra "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Defra Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Defra Permanent Secretary Tamara Finkelstein (no image)
Tamara Finkelstein
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "An employer who truly values flexible working and allowing the employee to work around their own needs(in 17 reviews)

  • "Calm, interesting issues, good work-life balance(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management do not give appropriate amounts of responsibility to those who deserve it, very hierarchical(in 4 reviews)

  • "Brexit dominates senior management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defra

    Pros

    Lovely people (presumably selection effect of competent but caring people going into Fast stream) Great cafe Saporis round the corner

    Cons

    - Sometimes it feels like they could work harder in aggregate hours but they have a phenomenal work/life balance and you realise they get results

    Continue reading
    Defra2015-11-09
  2. "Very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at Defra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible people Great work-life balance Average salary

    Cons

    Sometimes it is slow to get things done

    Defra2019-11-11
  3. "Interesting and varied work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Defra full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Get to work on hugely important issues. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Low pay. Lots of office politics.

    Continue reading
    Defra2019-11-01
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - SEO 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues, impact of work, training opportunities, work life balance, exciting political changes

    Cons

    Frustrating admin processes, uncertainty, restructure

    Defra2019-08-09
  5. "A nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economic Adviser in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Calm, interesting issues, good work-life balance. My manager genuinely cared about his staff. I liked working there a lot.

    Cons

    A bit of a mess atm with Brexit work. Big lack of strategic direction with lots of ppl falling over themselves to try to please ministers without actually knowing what Ministers want i.e. lack of independence in that sense.

    Defra2019-05-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Named veterinary surgeon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Veterinarian in Weybridge, England

    I worked at Defra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working time. Very good work-life balance

    Cons

    No advancement chance,low wage compared to average market in same location

    Defra2019-05-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance, good working environment, good benefits, good support system, good on job learning, really friendly people in general

    Cons

    lack of vision for apprentices on fixed term contracts by middle and senior management, some university/degree or non university/non degree snobbery exists, little to none race diversity

    Continue reading
    Defra2019-04-26
  8. "DEFRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Analyst in London, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Defra for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with work / life balance.

    Cons

    Going through a period of rapid change.

    Defra2019-03-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project delivery profession"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defra full-time

    Pros

    Generally good public service ethos. Good pension. Excellent work/life balance. Flexi-time.

    Cons

    Little base knowledge of project management disciplines. Some old school civil servants who do the minimum possible. Excessive bureaucracy. Silo working.

    Defra2019-01-23
  10. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Defra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, friendly people and good work life balance

    Cons

    Slow progression- which is why I left in the end

    Continue reading
    Defra2018-09-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews