Democracy Prep Public Schools Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 28 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Democracy Prep Public Schools CEO Natasha Trivers (no image)
Natasha Trivers
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Las Vegas campus has the MOST GROWTH in the state among schools with over 200 scholars(in 32 reviews)

  • "There are so many opportunities to grow as an educator whether it is LeaderU, DPYou, or professional development sessions facilitated by experts(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (7:00-4:30)---Will need to balance home/work life(in 48 reviews)

  • "It's hard to maintain work/life balance - but possible(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Job to have."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment for the most part.

    Cons

    There are long work hours.

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-04-28
  2. "Mission-Driven Network With Opportunities for Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curriculum Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Civics-driven mission, quality professional development, generous benefits, driven managers.

    Cons

    Long work hours, benefits favor longevity

    Continue reading
    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-02-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Community of Educators and Scholars"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Principal in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    DPAC in Las Vegas is the only 5-Star Middle School in a Title 1 Classification, Shining Star School, high achieving school for scholars with IEPs and ELL scholars, amazing teammates to work with, a community that pushes SEL and cares about children as whole people, collaboration across grade levels and content areas, focus on the arts as well as core curricular classes, truly a place full of educators who are making a positive change.

    Cons

    Long hours. Your day starts at 7AM and doesn't end until 4:30PM plus 40 additional hours outside of work.

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  4. "A wonderful group of educators"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Math Teacher in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. love my coworkers! They are so awesome to work with and amazing growth is happening every day academically! 2. The curriculum is amazing and easy to follow and use! 3. we went from a 2 star to a 5 star school! Shining STAR school!

    Cons

    LONG hours weekly (more than 40)

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  5. "Amazing team of adults"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our Las Vegas middle school has grown from being a 2 star school to a 5 start school in two years. The teachers are all dedicated to making this an excellent place to work. There is a vetted curriculum is provided to middle school teachers.

    Cons

    Long Hours (7-4:30) and a longer school year.

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  6. "The BEST School Ever!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Music Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    5 Star School, great team to work with, great scholars to build relationships with.

    Cons

    Long hours-7AM to 4:30PM, plus 40 additional hours.

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  7. "Five Star Middle School"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    5 star Middle School Greatest growth in math and reading of ANY school in Nevada with more than 200 kids. Nationally recognized for growth among scholars with IEP's and English Language Learners Strong team culture Incredible growth as a professional and a person as a result of working here Great benefits, such as 12 weeks paid paternal / maternal leave after 1 year of working for the company, 8 weeks paid maternal / paternal leave your first year working for the company, work phone provided, laptop provided, free health insurance after 5 years working for the company

    Cons

    Long work hours, longer school year, work some Saturdays, work from home sometimes required to meet expectations, work life balance

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  8. "The best place to be for those that want to make a change"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Las Vegas's best school! A place to see real change Amazing growth is really happening A wonderful support system

    Cons

    Long hours Not enough jeans days!

    Continue reading
    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  9. "5 Star Shining Star School"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    *School Values *Passionate educators that are striving for common goals *Awesome scholars *High expectations *My co-workers are AMAZING *DPAC has the Highest growth in the STATE of NEVADA for ALL middle schools that serve over 200 scholars *I am able to carry out my passion for teaching on an everyday basis *I LOVE DPAC

    Cons

    *Long hours (7:00-4:30)---Will need to balance home/work life

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Realistic Review of DP Schools by a Current Teacher"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive school culture - I love the school I work at and I really appreciate my school leaders; they do a great job at creating a positive school culture (I can't say what this looks like for all DP schools) Welcoming & supportive environment - I feel supported by my team and when working with students; the whole school functions as one big team Regular feedback Pays pretty well Benefits - health/dental/vision insurance, life insurance, retirement, iPhones & MacBook Airs for work, among others

    Cons

    These are more network level things, rather than site specific: Long hours (7:15 - 4:45 for most) Lack of work/life balance - outside of regular work hours, which are already long, you are required to work an extra 40 hours or your pay is docked/PTO is reduced Not enough prep time - outside of lunch, I have only 2 prep periods which ends in me doing a lot of work after school or over the weekend; yes, lesson plans are provided, but there is still so much that needs to be planned in order to make them effective and specific to your class needs that there just is not enough time in only 2 prep periods Only 5 days of paid time off - if more time is needed, your pay is reduced by days and half days No substitutes/assistants - teachers cover lunch/recess and sub when other teachers are out, resulting in a loss of preps and is one of the reasons why there are so few days of PTO

    Continue reading
    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-09-28
Found 48 reviews