Democracy Prep Public Schools "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Democracy Prep Public Schools Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 12 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Democracy Prep Public Schools CEO Natasha Trivers (no image)
Natasha Trivers
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Las Vegas campus has the MOST GROWTH in the state among schools with over 200 scholars(in 32 reviews)

  • "There are so many opportunities to grow as an educator whether it is LeaderU, DPYou, or professional development sessions facilitated by experts(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (7:00-4:30)---Will need to balance home/work life(in 44 reviews)

  • "It's hard to maintain work/life balance - but possible(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Five Star Middle School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    5 star Middle School Greatest growth in math and reading of ANY school in Nevada with more than 200 kids. Nationally recognized for growth among scholars with IEP's and English Language Learners Strong team culture Incredible growth as a professional and a person as a result of working here Great benefits, such as 12 weeks paid paternal / maternal leave after 1 year of working for the company, 8 weeks paid maternal / paternal leave your first year working for the company, work phone provided, laptop provided, free health insurance after 5 years working for the company

    Cons

    Long work hours, longer school year, work some Saturdays, work from home sometimes required to meet expectations, work life balance

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-06
  2. "Great team but too much workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team with great shared goals benefits

    Cons

    too much workload terrible work-life balance

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2020-01-12
  3. "Amazing schools and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Democracy Prep Public Schools for less than a year

    Pros

    A great network of schools with an outstanding mission and curriculum

    Cons

    Not enough work-life balance; too much PD

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-10-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Realistic Review of DP Schools by a Current Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive school culture - I love the school I work at and I really appreciate my school leaders; they do a great job at creating a positive school culture (I can't say what this looks like for all DP schools) Welcoming & supportive environment - I feel supported by my team and when working with students; the whole school functions as one big team Regular feedback Pays pretty well Benefits - health/dental/vision insurance, life insurance, retirement, iPhones & MacBook Airs for work, among others

    Cons

    These are more network level things, rather than site specific: Long hours (7:15 - 4:45 for most) Lack of work/life balance - outside of regular work hours, which are already long, you are required to work an extra 40 hours or your pay is docked/PTO is reduced Not enough prep time - outside of lunch, I have only 2 prep periods which ends in me doing a lot of work after school or over the weekend; yes, lesson plans are provided, but there is still so much that needs to be planned in order to make them effective and specific to your class needs that there just is not enough time in only 2 prep periods Only 5 days of paid time off - if more time is needed, your pay is reduced by days and half days No substitutes/assistants - teachers cover lunch/recess and sub when other teachers are out, resulting in a loss of preps and is one of the reasons why there are so few days of PTO

    Continue reading
    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-09-28
  5. "It's a Charter School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Structures and systems are in place so everything is mostly organized Lessons were provided Most resources were covered and provided for Coaching (although a very particular charter school style) Tuition reimbursement for grad school

    Cons

    Long hours: school day really started at 7:30am and kids did not leave until 4pm. We were all tired by 2pm that the rest of the day that it felt like an absurd joke Work life balance: there was little balance, the day is long and then all the work and grading you have to do after made it difficult, the school would also demand an extra 40 hours you work throughout the year. That meant things like tutoring after school, Saturday school Inflexibility with teachers and their choices/decisions they made for their classrooms: everything had to be the same otherwise you were chastised or criticized for it Not a strong community culture but this depends on the school

    Continue reading
    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-10-14
  6. "!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Really focused on academics Pay was good

    Cons

    Work/ life balance Suspended kids for everything and anything

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-10-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "When things sound too good to be true, they are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with underserved populations

    Cons

    Company in dire financial straits Major micromanagement from top down Lack of transparency to public and to employees Benefits and pay promised widely to employees in handbooks network wide not given Questionable ethics at network level Lack of concern and regard for children and families in areas outside of NYC Lack of regard for work/life balance

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-07-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of work, but that's teaching in general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Science/Chemistry Teacher in New York, NY

    I have been working at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my students and coworkers.

    Cons

    Long looong looong hours of work to do. Even for a teaching job, work life balance is rough here.

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-05-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "High Expectations, High Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HS English Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The above was mostly true - for teachers and students

    Cons

    It's hard to maintain work/life balance - but possible.

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-05-27
  10. "stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Democracy Prep Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    teachers are committed and talented

    Cons

    absolutely no work life balance

    Democracy Prep Public Schools2019-06-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 36 reviews