Dexis Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dexis Consulting Group Reviews

Updated 14 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Dexis Consulting Group CEO Mihir Desai
Mihir Desai
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Company facing some growing pains and processes can sometimes be rocky(in 7 reviews)

  • "Perhaps like other consulting firms, project staff are employed for the duration of that project with no guarantees beyond it(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Dexis Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility in workplace arrangements and social outings

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else. Extremely unclear policies and procedures that are changed constantly and in a non-transparent manner. Roles and responsibilities of many staff members unclear and workload distributions are very uneven, especially between project staff and HQ staff. Non-existent accountability mechanisms for some staff members.

    Advice to Management

    Teach managers how to manage in a professional, supportive way. Although it was not my experience, I witnessed others deal with passive-aggression, manipulation and an unwillingness to hear honest feedback from managers. Furthermore, invest in young people with the skills that cannot be taught. These people will add the most value to the business and will cultivate versatility so that they can be assets on a variety of...

    Show More
    Dexis Consulting Group2018-10-11
  2. "Opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dexis Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, a commitment to process improvement, and a commitment to staying agile as a company - there is always opportunity to work beyond your job description when you are looking for a challenge.

    Cons

    These are mainly external for me - we work in a challenging funding environment

    Dexis Consulting Group2019-03-14
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Don't cook the numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dexis Consulting Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Some really great people at HR: Letitia, Cate, Kay, Idra, and Becky.

    Cons

    Incompetent accounting personnel. No transperancy

    Advice to Management

    Stop the attitude "Ignorance is a bliss". Hire educated and experienced accountants.

    Dexis Consulting Group2019-03-06

    Dexis Consulting Group Response

    March 12, 2019CEO

    I agree that our HR team is really great, and gets top ratings on our monthly surveys. The accounting team has also received solid ratings but there’s room to do much better. As you know, we account for every dime through both government audits and the self-imposed independent audits ...

    Show More
  4. "Program Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Dexis Consulting Group full-time

      Pros

      Good office culture. Fun co-workers.

      Cons

      Work can be boring. Low pay.

      Dexis Consulting Group2018-11-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "OK but not great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Dexis Consulting Group full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits Mostly functional teams

      Cons

      Immature managers who don't know what they're doing If you're on a contract, you're just a body

      Advice to Management

      Get more mature managers who know how to manage.

      Dexis Consulting Group2018-11-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great company that looks out for its staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Dexis Consulting Group full-time

      Pros

      Does quality work Provides a fun, creative environment with activities like Top Chef and seasonal staff parties Regularly seeks staff feedback and makes an effort to improve systems, like for performance reviews and knowledge management Supports staff learning with annual funds that individuals can decide (with approval) how to use

      Cons

      Perhaps like other consulting firms, project staff are employed for the duration of that project with no guarantees beyond it

      Dexis Consulting Group2018-10-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Dexis Consulting Group part-time

      Pros

      flexible work life balance

      Cons

      would be better with more formal training

      Dexis Consulting Group2018-10-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Decent company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Dexis Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      * Dexis works hard, plays harder * Good place to begin your career * Exposure to different aspects of international developement

      Cons

      * Work/life balance could be better * Everyone is a salaried employee, so you do a ton of hours of extra work without compensation * Below average salary for mid-level employees * Standards, practices, and policies are more word-of-mouth

      Advice to Management

      Be consistent with policies and standards

      Dexis Consulting Group2018-08-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Dexis Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Work Life Balance and Cultural Diversity.

      Cons

      No employment opportunity after end of contract.

      Dexis Consulting Group2018-06-20
    • Helpful (4)

      "I wouldn't"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Dexis Consulting Group full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      It was convenient to the metro station and some nice places to eat. Paid well.

      Cons

      management was uneven and arbitrary. no clearly defined policies or practices. Support contractors were hired or not hired due to no good reasons that I could make out. hard to tell who did what job there.

      Advice to Management

      train your managers in proper staffing and HR practices. monitor telework better. have qualified people write your policies. and realize that longevity in the company does not correlate to competence.

      Dexis Consulting Group2018-07-28
    Found 76 reviews