Diageo Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great brands, great people that you can learn a lot from(in 147 reviews)

  • "Diageo across the globe has a great emphasis on work life balance and supportive to the needs to the employees(in 118 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Company but lots to still improve"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working nice people great brands no culture of long hours

    Cons

    standard of senior management is avg total package is ok but not amazing, basic is weak so its all in variable lots of talking not enough action

    Continue reading
    Diageo2018-03-10

    Diageo Response

    March 13, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi, thank you for being in touch. We're pleased that you find many aspects of working with Diageo to enjoy. Your advice to management has been taken into account and will help us improve. Best regards, Anna.

  2. "Good overall, bad and inexperienced HR"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Leven, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary, peers, good values when they are adhered to.

    Cons

    HR, senior management, frequent redundancies

    Diageo2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible company who treat employees like dirt"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff product allowance, company shares

    Cons

    I worked at one of their malt distilling sites and was sacked less than a year into my employment, after making an honest mistake leading to a small loss of product, when asked to do something as a favour which was not my job. I was the sole person responsible for looking after the site’s waste treatment plant, and senior management asked me to carry out a sampling task involving open valves at the distillery, a site for which I was not actually inducted to work on (which is supposedly mandatory), and not familiar enough with in terms of layout. I wasn’t trained, shown what to do, had seen any work instruction etc. and my simple mistake, along with a poor design of equipment allowed an escape of liquid from a vessel. Even with the correct knowledge and training, it was a mistake that could have been made by anyone, and all I could was apologise in the subsequent investigation meeting and disciplinary hearing which took place a month afterwards. During the time between, I was stopped from doing the job I was actually employed for, and the senior manager I reported to behaved as though I had done it intentionally, essentially ignoring me for the rest of the time I was there. Some of the facts stated by the senior managers I was interviewed by during the first meeting and disciplinary were actually incorrect, and near the end of the latter, I had to sit and wait for almost three hours for a decision to be made after having already spent two being questioned about the incident. I was told I had been “risk-blind” and everything I did before, during and after the incident was wrong. Therefore I was dismissed on the grounds of misconduct and essentially frog-marched off the site. Self-righteous nonsense would be the politest way of describing this. They think they could sell snow to Eskimos. The people I worked with said that it was ultimately the fault of the management this had happened, but as is typical, they are totally absolved of any responsibility. They spend hours and hours every day sitting in pointless meetings, where they colour in and tick boxes, congratulating themselves and each other on the company social networking service, whilst they ignore the real issues and the lines of contractors who can’t start the work they’ve been hired to do until they’ve been seen. When something happens they will do what they can to cover-up anything that could get them in trouble with the regulatory bodies (with which they are on very thin ice), and throw the lower level workers straight under the bus. Everyone said that Diageo used to be a great company to work for, but they are certainly not now, and big changes in attitude and culture over the last 12-18 months have alienated a huge number of their workforce. Historically, they have always demonised their employees when they have done something wrong, even non-deliberately, and it is unbelievable what they have actually managed to get away with dismissing people for. They cannot start a witch-hunt quickly enough and are more willing to provide the resource for this instead of helping and training their staff, which is disgusting from a company of that size and reputation. This, along with the cutbacks associated with corporate greed seen everywhere now, and increasing pressures with unreasonable and ridiculous expectations, especially from a now largely inexperienced workforce, have forced employees with as much as 20-30+ years of experience to take early retirement or leave to work for their competitors. For an operational type-role at least, I would strongly advise anyone to avoid this company, unless you have no other choice. It’s very easy to make a mistake when interacting with plant processes, and with their attitude, you’ll be living in fear of this and have zero job security.

    Continue reading
    Diageo2018-06-10

    Diageo Response

    June 13, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi there and thanks for getting in touch. Your comments have been noted and will be passed on. We wish you all the best in the future. Sue

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Project manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits e.g. Share schemes and healthcare plans. Plus flexible working from various sites and at home. Good processes that are adhered to

    Cons

    Too many glass ceilings!!! Senior management need to look after those below and appreciate the talent that exists. Possibly look at more benchmarking how others within the industry promote talent from within and live by that.

    Continue reading
    Diageo2017-05-21

    Diageo Response

    May 26, 2017HR Coordinator

    Thanks for letting us know about your experience at Diageo. It's great to hear you enjoyed the benefits available to you. Your feedback on talent and your comments for management have been noted, thanks for taking the time to share these with us. Good luck in the future.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great industry to be in: a virtual global duopoly and constantly growing demand"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good corpo name and fantastic global brands, deep pockets and decent benefits. Highly profitable and able to invest in its brands to sustain demand. Very good for high management ranks.

    Cons

    Not a meritocracy, way too political. Lots of talking and little action. Senior management do not take decisions and solely manage their careers. People who actually work end up being overloaded and confused. Very difficult to get a promotion into a well paid job. Too many millions wasted on consultants, or on executives pet projects

    Continue reading
    Diageo2014-02-26
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Never think of joining Bangalore RPA Team. There will be nothing in your life except work."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company policies and culture is good. Salary is good. Everything else ruins you life, if you are in RPA team.

    Cons

    The senior management of RPA team acts like rowdies and abuses employees. There is utter stress in RPA team and you will be treated like dogs. 12-14 hrs of work is compulsory and deadlines are nonsense. You will be asked to complete huge projects in 2 days and if you don't, they will ruin your life by stressing the hell out. You will be forced to work even on Saturday's, almost every Saturday. 0 work life balance, actually -ve work life balance. Senior management does not even know how to handel projects. They run the team like fish market. Other teams looks OK and company culture is good, pay is good. HR is namesake. Except for RPA team, which is run by goons.

    Continue reading
    Diageo2019-08-02
  7. Helpful (7)

    "ASM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in North
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Incentives schemes for sales executives but they are changing this too. Pathetic!!

    Cons

    Falling market shares & the blame is shifted onto frontline executives. Management doesn't accepts their fault in pathetic planning & executions through marketing department. Senior management is only interested in enjoying every night, in day time they sits in office, shouts at sales guys (who actually work) for falling market shares & repeat this every day to earn their lavish livelihood. Hardly any market visit & problem solving approach. All facade to please top leadership.

    Continue reading
    Diageo2018-08-26

    Diageo Response

    August 29, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for leaving us your review. We wish you all the best in your future career. Best regards, Sue.

  8. Helpful (11)

    "Join Diageo only if you have no other opportunities with you"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Executive in East
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best Sales Incentive structure in the industry Work life balance Started career advancement program for entry level employees recently Automation of travel claims, travel approvals and other day to day activities related to work Employee Training and development initiatives Iconic Brands to work with

    Cons

    Poor HR management even though HR policies are put in place just like any other MNC, but its not followed Too much politics at every level No Job Security Unfair management practices Worst work culture and environment Confused management Poor leadership at RPC level No employee empowerment till middle level management No employee motivation Doesn't value relationship with employees, distributors and other stakeholders Everything depends on the relationship with Reporting Manager If you highlight anything negative about seniors then you are put in a PIP and will be asked to resign. Senior Management makes employees work through fear factor. Key performance indicators doesn't matter. Management will not see if you are performing well or not. No proactive approach to support employees whenever they ask for help.

    Continue reading
    Diageo2018-08-22

    Diageo Response

    August 25, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. Your comments have been noted and will be passed on. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback here. Best regards, Sue.

  9. "Marketing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Seoul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diageo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is a great training ground for candidates who are looking to gain insights in both product marketing and the alcohol beverage industry. It is a massive firm behind the scenes with more than 200+ brands, some on them highly recognized worldwide.

    Cons

    Pay is cheap. Organizational politics and poor HR practices in play. The market share in the region I was working was plummeting with frequent re-orgs of the senior management.

    Continue reading
    Diageo2018-04-18

    Diageo Response

    April 19, 2018Social Media Team

    Hi and thanks for leaving your review. We're happy to hear you could grow and develop with Diageo. Your advice to management has been heard and will help us improve. Best regards, Anna.

  10. Helpful (33)

    "Avoid Diageo India and save your career"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Diageo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    USL India is trying to rebrand itself as Diageo India. This review is for DI and not for DBSI. 1. Use this company as jump springboard since they offer good hike for lateral hires Nothing else is good about this company Their office in UB city sucks ! no parking space, no good meeting rooms , some get cabins , some toil on floor. They think that they are the leaders in the market but dont realise that their market share is falling YoY If you can show 2+2=4 in various colors, shapes and sizes on a ppt, management will be happy ! send it at 1 AM on Saturday morning, they would be even more happy ! older IIM alumni praising younger IIM alumni. They think rest of " non-MBA" are general public and its a burden to have them in the firm. If you spend more than 3 years in the firm, consider yourself that you are on firing range !

    Cons

    1. Pathetic career management, equally pathetic line managers. Infact, no one even knows how to do line manager job. Most of them live by the day, week and month to ensure that bonus is on track 2. Badly designed office, no pantry, no canteen , gym of its own in UB city. Most of the facilities belong to other UB group companies who are extending the courtesy to DI. 3. If you talk against your manager or any person in dept, you are placed on PIP 4. Top management thinks that by pushing the junior workforce to the limit, they can make wonders ! 5. If you are in junior management and below, its just work work. Senior management parties in the evening and decides who will be the next scapegoat or which dept has to be down sized 6. Pathetic support system. Bad insurance policies, PF section have got notices from govt. Every individual blames the mess on previous person and continues the same

    Continue reading
    Diageo2018-01-19
Found 29 reviews