Dignity Memorial Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dignity Memorial Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Gorge Cotte
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "helping families who have to make arrangements because they just experienced a loss(in 29 reviews)

  • "It takes a certain personality to be both in sales and able to assist families at their time of need(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Word of advice to any new Pre need counselors coming in(in 19 reviews)

  • "Have to work long hours and almost every day of the week to get a decent paycheck(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Memorial consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time

    Pros

    Helping families at a difficult time

    Cons

    Stay clear it’s all about money and the bottom line

    Advice to Management

    None they don’t listen so don’t bother

    Dignity Memorial2018-08-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Truly Prepared for Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Service Councilor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time

    Pros

    This organization has a great training and preparation program to make certain I had the tools needed to succeed. They really invest in their employees and I have been amazed at how patient everyone has been and how they have taken the time to teach me all I need to know about this position. The people I work with are all so very helpful and this is a career that I really feel like I am helping families protect their...

    Show More

    Cons

    You have to be driven to succeed. Opportunity doesn't fall into your lap except on rare occasions, so if you want to be successful you absolutely must have the drive to prospect, and be vigilant when it comes to identifying opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the training as positive as possible, and really work on investing in those that are coming up in this profession. Change grows from the bottom up, so stay in communication with the ones doing the daily grind so you know how best how to guide us to a successful future.

    Dignity Memorial2019-05-21
  3. "Funeral/ cemetery sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Service Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dignity provides one of the best training programs I have ever seen. They invest a lot of money in the training as it is 2 weeks of classroom learning . The money is very good and rewarding.

    Cons

    The work life balance is none existent. They prefer you work 8 days a week on a 7 day work week. I feel there is some deception in prospecting by how to get existing families to come back in for reviews. The families spend a lot of money usually in the thousands and then get hit with a processing fee. WTF

    Advice to Management

    Give consideration to the combo units with seminars not just the funeral homes. Spend more time in the units that maybe struggling to make their numbers to see why sales maybe low and what can be done to help them make their numbers.

    Dignity Memorial2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Expect to work 60+ hours a week and average about 4 dollars an hour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Service Counselor in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I got to work for free

    Cons

    Long hours, terrible pay, they promise you the world, they do not provide any leads, bad commission structure, all the good managers get screwed

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting so much pressure on sales managers to hit quota if you aren’t going to provide the tools they need to do this!

    Dignity Memorial2019-06-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Better People, Awesome Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Clearwater, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The management is genuinely concerned about the success of each employee. The ability to serve families, and the positive responses from them, offer fulfillment in a career. Benefits are way beyond what most company offer. Great co-workers and is always nice to have people that have the same caring attitude as me.

    Cons

    Would like to see more structured training for potential and upcoming managers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to families and lets move forward in a way that positively impacts the new generation. "Life Story" and Cemetery Heritage

    Dignity Memorial2019-04-23
  6. "If Only My Position Had A Reliable Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Funeral Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dignity Memorial part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers Hourly wages Providing support and comfort to clients

    Cons

    The general manager at my location was two-faced My position was per diem, therefore the schedule was not reliable

    Advice to Management

    Do more to show that you care about employees, regardless of their schedules and positions Be more open to hiring apprentices and other similar roles

    Dignity Memorial2019-04-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a Bad Job, But Not a Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Funeral Support in Wheat Ridge, CO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most of the staff here at this branch of SCI are wonderful. The cemetery is beautiful.

    Cons

    I have been here for almost six years, and the only promotion I have received is because I help to provide assistance to the person that told that she "had 45 days to figure something out (she was shown the door because they didn't even attempt to find her a smaller role) and I came into her position. The politics, the morale, and the overall environment around here is much to be desired. You get preferential treatment...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you treated your employees as peers instead of "good little worker bees", and actually paid them a decent wage, we might be in better spirits.

    Dignity Memorial2019-03-19
  8. "Deathcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pretty place to work at. Vacation

    Cons

    Very disorganized how we do things. Depending on day we are told to hold appts and not put in to sales force tlll after 8 because of calling night. Other days we are being yelled at to get them in to force. Confusing!!! All for a prize?

    Dignity Memorial2019-04-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Nicholasville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Consisting of over 2200 cemetery and funeral homes across North America Dignity has many opportunities for career advancement Great 401K Live and virtual training

    Cons

    Working with families during a difficult time can be tough, but it is very rewarding as well.

    Dignity Memorial2019-03-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Higher Managment needs training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PreNeed Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time

    Pros

    Be able to help families pre plan and saving their loved ones the emotional and financial burden.

    Cons

    EVERYTHING ELSE. Word of advice to any new Pre need counselors coming in....don’t question your management. If you feel like you’re not receiving the proper training,...stay quiet If you feel like there is favoritism (which there is)....stay quiet If you’re being ridiculed and talked down to about your appearance, smell, smile, or the pace you walk when door knocking....stay quiet. Expect to work 60+ hours for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your management team. They don’t know which way is up or down.

    Dignity Memorial2019-03-21
Found 181 reviews