Divido Financial Services Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Divido Financial Services CEO Christer Holloman (no image)
Christer Holloman
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great company - cares about team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Divido Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    - Great product in a high growth sector - Genuine concern for team happiness and success - Flexible working and unlimited holidays - Nice office

    Cons

    - There can be lots of change but pretty much the same as any other start up - There was some low morale after changes last year but lots done to address this and now very different.

    Continue reading

    Divido Financial Services Response

    July 29, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your feedback! I completely agree with you, this is an exciting sector and we are perfectly placed to capture this opportunity. I understand that change can be frustrating, but as you point out - as a small business we have to not be afraid to try new things, it's the only way we can get even better! Christer Holloman CEO

  2. "This company doesn’t care about you"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Divido Financial Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free snacks and sometimes fun team events

    Cons

    - micromanagement - a lot of alcohol consumption - no training - insufficient hardware - no communication - bad management

    Divido Financial Services Response

    August 3, 2020CEO

    I'm glad you enjoyed the free snacks and sometimes had fun at our team events. We try to vary the events to make sure there has been something for everyone, from extreme indoor skydiving to a casual meal. Attending these events is always optional, no forced fun here. I do not want to micromanage what people drink in their free time but non-alcoholic options are always available. Like most businesses, we set quarterly goals in collaboration with each team and then give everyone the autonomy (flexible hours, work from home, unlimited holiday etc), tools (e.g. hardware, software) and support (coaching, training) to get the job done. I am sorry if this made you feel micromanaged. If you stilled worked for Divido, the best way to get training or hardware is just to ask for it, your line manager, HR or myself. I don't agree with 'no communication', but I think there is always room for improvement - had you still worked for us I would have welcomed your suggestions. Apart from a constant flow of updates on Slack, regular 1:1's with your line manager, you should have been invited to team meetings and cross-department forums. In addition, the leadership team and I take turns to give All Hands updates three days a week about all aspects of the business from sales to finances - as well as quarterly and ad-hoc company presentations. Everyone is always invited to ask their own questions in case anything hadn't been communicated clearly enough - you can even do it anonymously via Slack these days. Christer Holloman CEO


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place - typical startup"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Divido Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    Okay pay and hours of work

    Cons

    Heavy turnover Constant change and restructuring

    Continue reading

    Divido Financial Services Response

    July 29, 2020CEO

    "No opinion of CEO"! I clearly failed to make an impression on you #sadface. Jokes aside, over time we will have more opportunities to get to know each other and soon hopefully you too will see and share my outlook on our exciting future! I'm glad you feel you are being fairly compensated for your work here, we constantly benchmark the industry to make sure our pay is in the top percentile for comparable companies. Whilst it is frustrating at the time, change and turnover are natural when we accelerate and evolve as fast as we are. We always try to give as much heads-up as possible, be completely transparent about what we are doing, want to be doing, and show you the role you play in making that happen through team and individual goals and KPI's, so we get to the goal together. Christer Holloman CEO

  4. Helpful (3)

    "culture of not trust"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Divido Financial Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team is fun to work with.

    Cons

    rumor has it that the CEO worked at Glassdoor and he can see who left the review. People are not leaving honest reviews or rather not say anything!

    Continue reading

    Divido Financial Services Response

    January 30, 2020CEO

    I did indeed work at Glassdoor, before they got acquired by their current owners, though I am afraid that does not give me any special viewing privileges. It does mean that I know the value of feedback and I’d welcome the opportunity to hear in more detail about how we can improve the employee experience, please do reach out to me, your line manager, HR or the leadership team any time. If you prefer to give anonymous feedback, please consider to take the time to complete the quarterly employee surveys; the sooner we learn about things that aren't great, the quicker we can fix it. Christer Holloman CEO and co-founder

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Massive turnover - lack of trust - no clear direction"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Divido Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    Modern offices. Great colleagues. Not much more I can think of!

    Cons

    No bonuses for non-sales people, no matter how hard you work, and no salary reviews either. No career progression or support from HR. Tight expenses policy for employees but *huge* waste of money from CxO. If you are in the 'elite Swedish team' you can do whatever you want, no rules apply. Unsafe location in Camden, leaving the office late leads to an unsafe journey to the station. Many unrealised promises. Work from home not allowed anymore for anyone - they say - but the elite can and no one can say anything about it. >100% turnover, great loss of really smart colleagues due to bad management. Not many people in Divido can actually tell you what our product is.

    Continue reading

    Divido Financial Services Response

    January 30, 2020CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am sorry your current experience is not a great one and that you felt no other channels to express your concerns were open to you; you can always speak to your line manager in your regular 1:1's, HR or any member of the leadership team. If you prefer to give anonymous feedback, please consider to take the time to complete the quarterly employee surveys; the sooner we learn about things that aren't great, the quicker we can fix it. As you note, Divido is full of amazing people and we want to keep it that way. The nature of a start-up means that there are not always multiple paths of linear development options to choose from like you would find in larger more established firms. However, all our internal job descriptions are available to view at any time, as well as the paths that are open to you when you deliver on your specific development goals, competency framework and OKR's in your current role. If your line manager has not explained this to you, please let HR know and they can support your line manager to walk this through with you. I trust my employees, which is e.g. why I am making the WFH policy even more generous this year. I'm sorry to hear that someone made you feel threatened for speaking up, that goes against the culture we are trying to create here where your opinion matters and should be respected. Please contact HR or myself as soon as you can to explain what happened so we can stop this from happening again. And, regarding direction; We are building the world's most global platform for point of purchase finance, adding more markets every year. I love that we have one singular and clear focus on achieving this vision. Christer Holloman CEO and co-founder

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Huge employee turnover - stay away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Divido Financial Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An amazing product and good salary

    Cons

    Blame culture, dictatorial top management and close to 100% employee turnover every year.

    Continue reading

    Divido Financial Services Response

    January 30, 2020CEO

    I am sorry that we decided to part ways so soon after you started. As you recognise, we have a great product, great pay and benefits as we want to attract and retain the best people. Our transition over the last 18 months from an SME to an Enterprise has meant some hard decisions but ones which, in the same period, has seen the employee base grow by over 20% and in areas like our Engineering team by over 40%. We’re continuing to work hard on the employee experience here at Divido and make sure we hire the right person for the job, first time. Christer Holloman CEO and co-founder

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting fast moving, forward thinking technology platform"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Divido Financial Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hackathon's / Conferences - I have been fortunate to attended multiple conferences since starting here, a thing that wasn't possible in my previous role's. This has allowed me to meet more developers and learn a huge amount. Optional team hackathon's multiple times a year where the team heads off to rapidly solve a targeted business need(normally near a pool). Tech Stack - A wide ranging technical stack with lots of different areas for personal growth, and the ability to learn from experts of the technology - React, PHP, Go, aws, docker, micro services and more. Learning and Mentorship - Aside from the great conferences and hackathon's there is also a strong slant for personal development and great support is actively encouraged. Work from home and flexible hours - Some days working from home, and flexible hours can make all the difference to a great work life balance.

    Cons

    Location - The Camden office is right above a market with so many food stalls that it can be difficult to choose what to have and can be expensive, and its can be very busy in the surrounding area during holidays. The risk of being involved with a startup, is a potential concern. With such fast change and a pace of continual improvement this could be considered a con in comparison to working with a larger established company with better defined processes(and documentation).

    Continue reading

    Divido Financial Services Response

    January 30, 2020CEO

    Thanks for the feedback! Glad you have been enjoying the hackathons and for inexpensive (and healthy) food in Camden, my personal favourite is to bring a packed lunch from home or grab a salad at Morrison!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative, Fast Paced, Friendly, and Focused!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Divido Financial Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The first thing I noticed when joining Divido is that everybody is extremely friendly and incredibly professional. People have a ‘can do’ attitude, making everything that seems to be possible -- possible! Opinions are extremely valued. The company’s goals are clear, and this is evident by how each team across the organisation collaborates with each other on joint initiatives so that resolutions and product offerings can be provided in a timely manner. There is a lot of focus at the co-owner level on what Divido wants to achieve, and this is passed on to all so that everybody can be part of Divido's success. The co-owners of Divido are also really good friends. This might not seem that important, but it helps so much in making Divido an extremely fun and friendly place to work.

    Cons

    Coming from a large organisation, I miss the pampered morning breakfast options (hot porridge with dry fruit...! yum). There is a kitchen at Divido, but as we are a start-up (albeit a fast-growing one) it's quite small and lightly stocked in comparison. It’s not all bad though — healthy (and non-healthy!) snack options are always available. I'm just a sucker for warm porridge in the morning, I think.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Positive environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Divido Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    Startup culture means that there is always an opportunity to make yourself a role and management are very keen on encouraging this.

    Cons

    Not for everyone, the pace of change at a startup and the requirements placed on you can be overwhelming at times.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Start-Up quickly becoming a serious scale up"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Divido Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    Incredible people with a unified sense of purpose to make the company successful. Inspiring, if occasionally quirky founders, who are passionate about people Lots of challenges and opportunities to make an impact, irrespective of level with a highly autonomous and trusting culture

    Cons

    Start-up world is not for everyone, be prepared to work hard and embrace ambiguity and dealing with change

Found 33 reviews