Dixons Carphone Reviews

Updated 13 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Dixons Carphone CEO Alex Baldock
Alex Baldock
298 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in the call centre(in 97 reviews)

  • "Very good work environment and good pay(in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, bad bonus structure(in 83 reviews)

  • "Career progression from carphone to curry's(in 70 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good internal career growth opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Acton, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone full-time

    Pros

    In corporate - when higher up position becomes available, internal recruitment is highly prioritized

    Cons

    Below market pay at some roles

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 8, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hi, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with the Glassdoor community. It's great to hear that you can see potential to grow your career with us, and we hope you'll be part of Team DC for the long term. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  2. "Decent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good degree of flexibility if working part-time

    Cons

    Having to deal with difficult customers

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 13, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hello, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's important to us that we can offer our retail colleagues flexibility in their role, as we understand how this can help our colleagues maintain a healthy work-life balance. We appreciate you being on Team DC for the past 5-7 years, and look forward to many more. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  3. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Developer in Newark on Trent, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Business fully behind development projects

    Cons

    Lots of old systems that need refreshing

    Continue reading

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 8, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hello, Thanks for sparing the time to share your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear your development projects received support from across the business during your time working with us in Newark. Wishing you all the best in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

  4. "great"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Fulham, England

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone full-time

    Pros

    good management, great people, well payed

    Cons

    long hours, high target, pressure

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 7, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for sparing a moment to share your experience with the Glassdoor community. It's great to hear that you're happy at work, supported by a great team and receiving good pay. We encourage an open and collaborative workplace, and encourage anyone experiencing stress or anxiety in relation to targets to speak with their line manager or with HR. We can discuss whether there's any way we can support you in reaching your targets, such as further training. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  5. "Relatively easy job with okay pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good teamwork ambiance, benefits including discounted gyms and in-store discounts

    Cons

    Lack of support with work to help with frequent stressful calls

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 7, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hello, Thanks for taking a moment to post your feedback. It sounds like you were able to make the most of your employee benefits during your time with us, and we're pleased to hear you were part of a great team. It's not good to hear that you felt unsupported during your time with us. We recommend any colleague experiencing stress to reach out to their line manager, or to HR, to discuss their situation so we can identify the best ways to provide support and to ease pressure. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  6. "Great learning experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive management skills Opportunities which come regularly eg brand ambassador, training days, and management course

    Cons

    Needs a system update (in-house)

    Continue reading

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 6, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you took advantage of the training and development on offer and are pleased to hear you learnt some new skills in management. We hope you're able to apply these newly learnt skills in future roles. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  7. "Fun place to work, poor wage"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Salesman in Middlesbrough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone part-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, nice management and relaxed work pace, given lots of freedom

    Cons

    Poor money, goalposts are constantly shifted to stop you from getting bonuses

    Continue reading

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 3, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so pleased that you find the work pace relaxed and feel you are given ample freedom and support from management. It is great to hear. We encourage all employees to be open and collaborative and therefore encourage you to speak to your line manager if you have any pay-related concerns. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  8. "Overall good company based on relationship"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work from home, good office facilities

    Cons

    Location is out of the way

    Dixons Carphone Response

    June 30, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Glassdoor community. We're happy to hear you made the most of our office facilities and our flexible working opportunities during your time working with us. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  9. "Great place for part time work."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Staff are great - Some managers are great - Good bonus structure if you’re good at sales

    Cons

    - Constant weekends - Can’t book bank holidays off - Some unachievable targets - Barely any progression

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 13, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hi, Thanks for sparing a few minutes to share your review with us. It's fantastic to see that you've part of a brilliant team, working alongside great staff and managers. We hope that you've been able to make the most of our bonus structure too. Working in retail is fast-paced and demanding. Our company encourages an open and honest working environment and we encourage colleagues to have an open conversation with their line manager / HR to solve problems they encounter whilst working with us, such as unachievable targets, and/or to discuss how we can support your careers progression at Dixons Carphone. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

  10. "AM role performing management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Satirising role and wasn’t a bad job at all

    Cons

    Made redundant And pressure around certain KPIS

    Continue reading

    Dixons Carphone Response

    July 13, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for taking a moment to share your 5-7 year experience with the Glassdoor community. As our customers' expectations change, we have made some tough decisions about how we operate to make sure we continue to put our customer first. We are working closely with all impacted colleagues to make sure they have the support they need at this time. Wishing you all the best in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

Found 2145 reviews