Dixons Carphone Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dixons Carphone Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Dixons Carphone CEO Alex Baldock
Alex Baldock
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice working environment with great people(in 85 reviews)

  • "Very good work environment and good pay(in 70 reviews)

Cons
  • "Currys Management sometimes too involved with Carphone Warehouse(in 65 reviews)

  • "High turnover, long hours retail takes over your life(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for, fantastic training, on going support and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone full-time

    Pros

    Great team Achievable targets with great bonus structure Relaxed but professional environment Tons of investment in training and development Meet customers from all walks of life

    Cons

    Part of bonus is dependent on scores from customer feedback on their journey in the store and sometimes this is out of our control despite our best efforts.

    Dixons Carphone2019-06-23

    Dixons Carphone Response

    June 24, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. It's great to hear that you enjoy the environment and team morale. As well as the training and development opportunities available. We appreciate your comments and feedback for the Management team, and they will be passed on to the relevant people. Many Thanks, Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  2. "great company with great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very competitive bonuses and commissions possible.

    Cons

    I can't think of any, thoroughly enjoyed my time here.

    Continue reading
    Dixons Carphone2019-08-27

    Dixons Carphone Response

    August 29, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Great to hear that you enjoyed your time working with us, we're glad to hear it! Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, opportunity to make more money through bonus and commission, good hours, 1 hour lunch break, fun place to work

    Cons

    targets per week, high pressure enviroments

    Dixons Carphone2019-10-16
  4. "Enjoyable job with flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible around my university commitments, training provided really extensive and I felt confident going in the role despite having no prior experience. Always extra hours to pick up if I wanted them. Commission side of things was really good too. Overall really enjoyed my time in the company.

    Cons

    Often quiet at the store I was located in, so was difficult trying to get customers in to hit targets.

    Dixons Carphone2019-10-15

    Dixons Carphone Response

    October 16, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Great to her that you enjoyed your time working with us! We're so pleased that you felt supported in the training and that the hours accommodated your university commitments. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  5. "Fantastic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management and company ethics. Excellent training and retraining structure.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say really, except from the bonus/ commission structure.

    Continue reading
    Dixons Carphone2019-10-09

    Dixons Carphone Response

    October 10, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you had such a good experience with management and found there to be excellent training opportunities, we're really invested in helping colleagues progress with their career. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  6. "Call centre agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Centre Agent in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well paid basic salary Easily attainable, performance based OTE In house Development programmes for commited/talented employees Regular recognition walk arounds Giift card prizes Luxury electronical and miscellaneous prize giveaways Interactive training and coaching

    Cons

    30minute lunch breaks and two 10minute breaks 8pm finishes (role specific)

    Continue reading
    Dixons Carphone2019-10-09

    Dixons Carphone Response

    October 11, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Great to hear that you're really enjoying the perks and the development opportunities available with us! We will take your comments on board, thank you again for leaving a review. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  7. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Shepherds Bush, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discounts Very intergrated progression process

    Cons

    None at the current moment

    Dixons Carphone2019-10-02

    Dixons Carphone Response

    October 4, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Great to hear that you enjoyed your time working with us! We're so glad that you found there to be good progression opportunities too. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  8. "decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a lot of flexibility if you're at uni or school

    Cons

    the job gets very repetitive after a few months

    Continue reading
    Dixons Carphone2019-10-15

    Dixons Carphone Response

    October 16, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you very much for leaving a review, we're pleased to hear that the role suited you and accommodated your hours around your education. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  9. "Amazing place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Saless Assistant in Craigavon, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours were good if I wanted some time I would go to Gary team leader and ask for some time off or different shifts. - People were I worked with were the best mixture if mature staff and young resulting in a superb atmosphere. - The pay was doable but you could get high commission if you work your hard. - Very family orientated store who looks very well after their workers and its not operating like corporate companies. - 5 difficult targets to hit, but if you are goal-driven and motivated you will enjoy your time at Currys like I did - Customers were different. On one shift, you could get those people who love having banter and you will have an amazing time chatting and selling to them, whereas on the other shift you can have customers who do not understand you and are picky noobs

    Cons

    - Honestly, there were not any cons if I was, to be honest. - If you work hard commission is good 1 pound for every insurance you sell. - and about 15 pounds for every full broadband package.

    Continue reading
    Dixons Carphone2019-09-29

    Dixons Carphone Response

    October 1, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you had such a positive experience with the team and with your managers providing real support and encouragement. We're so pleased to hear this! Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
  10. "Good company to learn, quite repetitive promotionally and not much for well-being"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Learn lots in the data team - Surrounded by intelligent people - Use range of tools - Free gym, convenient canteen, hot desking, work from home

    Cons

    - Data not in one place - Lack of communication between teams as it's a big firm - Duplication across teams due to poor structure - Repetitive business each year (Christmas, bank holiday, summer) - Lack of well-being services - no diversity programme, nothing to celebrate diversity, almost all-male executive board, very white leadership

    Continue reading
    Dixons Carphone2019-09-29

    Dixons Carphone Response

    October 1, 2019Social Media Manager

    Hi, Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed flexible working, learning opportunities and team environment. We are committed to improving as a business and particularly diversity and inclusion so we are interested to hear experiences of the company culture - we would encourage you to get in touch. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Continue reading
Found 1860 reviews