Docler Holding Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Docler Holding Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Docler Holding CEO Károly Papp
Károly Papp
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "good salary and nice benefits (health insurance, free breakfasts, gym passes etc)(in 15 reviews)

  • "The company supported me a lot with the documentation to move from Brazil to Luxembourg(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "yes it’s a Hungarian company, but it can’t be the fault for everything(in 12 reviews)

  • "renting an apartment in Luxembourg is really expensive, especially if you what to live in the city(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Relaxing environment but old mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Docler Holding full-time

    Pros

    No stress environment, plenty of parties and activities, high wage.

    Cons

    Stubborn mentality, no space for innovation, talented colleagues move away or gets fired because of mentality conflicts.

    Advice to Management

    You are not an inspiration for your colleagues. There is no innovation and no care of internal talents.

    Docler Holding2019-09-10
  2. "Old fashioned Hungarian company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Budapest
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Docler Holding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - good salaries on Hungarian market - In that time there was some really good managers and team leaders - well organized company events (even a great Christmas celebration with lot of lottery prizes)

    Cons

    - very strict rules (like where to put your coat!) - no home office - arrogant and undereducated leaders

    Docler Holding2019-08-26
  3. "Very good company, however I don't like the product, 3 shift is not for everyone, but many things compensate this."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Budapest
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Docler Holding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of days off, considerably good salary, Free breakfast, fruit, company events, working environment, lots of other benefits.

    Cons

    Product is questionable, 3 shifts, the management seems a little incompetent sometimes as they are only businessmen, not professionals.

    Advice to Management

    More competency in higher positions, a bit higher salary.

    Docler Holding2019-08-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place for a developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Docler Holding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Decent salary. - Help with relocation.

    Cons

    - The worst case of blame and shame culture I've ever seen. - Working overtime is encouraged, but almost never compensated. - Overtime work happens very often due to poor culture and low management competence. - Very little actual work is done because of the reasons above. Main skills you need are how to pretend, to blame and to protect yourself. - Salary raises and promotions are for Hungarian employees only.

    Docler Holding2019-09-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The best company I worked for so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Docler Holding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Docler is the best company I worked for. People are amazing here. The coffee machine is incredible and we have bubbling water also. Beyond that, my coworkers are awesome! They're always helping me and being very patient to explain me all the work I need to do. The HR was fantastic with me since the first talk and they helped me with my moving from Brazil. Actually, they're still helping me with administrative things.... Professionally, I have a great computer and the best tools I know to execute my work. I saw some comments about working with a porn site, but I do not agree with this, because it's like any other job and since the website it's one of the biggest websites in the world, this job can be very challenging.

    Show More

    Cons

    Well, just because I cannot leave this field in blank, I would suggest the IT department (and maybe HR, I don't know) to give a brief to new joiners about the career plan/opportunities inside the company. But obviously this is not a problem, since I'm a new worker.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep what you are doing, guys! This company is amazing!

    Docler Holding2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Really good in take part of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PHP Developer in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Docler Holding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company supported me a lot with the documentation to move from Brazil to Luxembourg. All professionals who participated in the selection process were very respectful and attentive. The interviews had a quick feedback and the company offered me a good salary and a great opportunity for professional growth. The work time is awesome, very good breakfasts and in the Fridays we left earlier, at 2pm or 3pm. The... company will give yet with an English course and after 3 months academy, to maintain the health.

    Show More

    Cons

    Until the moment I didn't happens nothing bad.

    Docler Holding2019-06-26
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Worst experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Docler Holding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good place to learn latest tech trends. Very good perks. Lot of money. Free fruits.

    Cons

    But very bad people. Everyone thinks I am the boss. You are good if you are a Hungarian or you bend before them or are very good at manipulating.

    Docler Holding2019-07-14
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Bad Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Docler Holding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits and sometimes good people in the teams

    Cons

    They don't give proper feedbacks to the people in the various teams. You may surpass the trial period without any remark or negative feedback, and then, from one day to another you might be suddenly fired or kicked out of the team in a rude way because of whatever silly reason. You can see bad managers being there for many years, and good positive proactive people fired after few months. I don't suggest at all to... start a job in this company, if you don't want to ruin you career in the small Luxembourgish market. Don't be deceived by the offered benefits, you will regret it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire less people rather than open all the doors and then kick them off after few months. You should improve you hiring and firing decisions probably. Don't try to compensate the bad fear atmosphere with gadgets, events, and benefits, because anyway the people are not dumb and shallow, and they will understand what's behind the mask.

    Docler Holding2019-06-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Budapest
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Docler Holding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoy your free everything as long as you can.

    Cons

    Despite the weird and not-so-seamless recruiting process and a lot of bad reviews here and on Hungarian sites, I decided to accept their offer. What I experience here is the total lack of people management skills and EQ in any kind of management-related positions with even worse feedback and communication towards employees from them. Engineering managers are constantly joking about several employees should be... fired, threatening those employees who they don't like to fire without meaningful reasons. Laughing on employees instead of helping them, talking to them, mentoring them. Doesn't give any feedback by default, when someone proactively seeks it, what you get is either too general and superficial or dishonest and not straightforward at all. Makes decisions based on personal preference, not on professional/technical opinion. It is fair to say your future manager will only do two things here: hire you and fire you. Scrum masters are sometimes hysterical about following the rules and paying attention in meetings, sometimes don't even participate in scrum events. If you don't pay attention in the meetings, you are shamed in front of everyone. Even if these are 1.5 hours long without any direction or control. Keep saying insulting things like 'have you thought about starting to work?' or 'you should do something meaningful already!' from about the second week of employment when just started learning the legacy codebase. Acting like a boss while the real one is nowhere. Don't even bother to give feedback, nothing changes. There is no mentoring, just a short onboarding. If you ask for a deeper explanation on something which needs a senior developer's help, you can wait 4-6 weeks to get it. If you need help with a not so complicated thing which you need for your daily task, sometimes even this takes about 1-2 weeks. It means if what you already know turns out to be not enough, nobody will help you through it, you might end up just getting fired. If you are not a bootlicker type, you won't succeed but more probably won't even survive here. I recommend you to buy at least a few identical t-shirts what your boss is wearing, there are examples here that it might work. Probably also because of this, the fluctuation is high, employees are leaving the team, leaving the company, getting hired, getting fired about bi-weekly. There are weird team-building events regularly with awkward group exercises… I advise you the same what I will advise to everyone through the rest of my career, stay away from this place. It doesn't matter how much they offer you and how much free everything they give you, these are just there to cover the fact that you will be treated as an insect and you can be fired anytime.

    Show More
    Docler Holding2019-06-14
  10. Helpful (5)

    "A joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Representative in Budapest
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Docler Holding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are trying to grow their reputation by offering free "everything", however the most important fact is being undercover: if you are not a yes-man or a good friend of your boss, you just simply get fired without any good reason. Especially in december before the yearly bonus would be received.

    Cons

    Good salary and a nice office.

    Advice to Management

    If you don't like your employee, sit down and talk to them instead of firing them.

    Docler Holding2019-04-05
Found 125 reviews