Domestic & General Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Domestic & General Group Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Domestic & General Group CEO Ian Mason
Ian Mason
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and understanding team leaders(in 27 reviews)

  • "(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "The team leader selection process isn't great, we have some team leaders who were good at hitting targets but didn't have any people skills(in 33 reviews)

  • "(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for with a fantastic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Representative in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Domestic & General value every single member of staff from the Call Centre Agents right through to the management and operational teams. There is a great company wide culture where people are professional, driven and passionate about working for Domestic & General. Progression opportunities are great and they really do look to train and coach internal employees to enable them to progress into different... roles and other areas of the business. Salaries at Domestic & General are very competitive with fantastic incentives and bonuses across all pay structures. During my first couple of weeks I was extremely surprised at how friendly everyone in the Brighton office was. I felt at home straight away. I had a great induction with detailed training. I felt that the senior stakeholders, managers and my line manger was always there to support with any questions I had and any additional training I needed to successfully fulfil my new role.

    Show More

    Cons

    When I first started in my role the Brighton office was quite dated however this has just gone through a massive transformation with a £1.4 million refurbishment and the office is now modern and clean.

    Domestic & General Group2019-04-24
  2. "Greet company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Specialist in Bedworth, England

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked there for 17 years, love the people I work with and train

    Cons

    I have no cons

    Domestic & General Group2019-11-01
  3. "Was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HRBP in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Local to home On good bus route

    Cons

    Difficult environment Favouritism in department Lack of progression

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, they don't listen

    Domestic & General Group2019-12-09
  4. "Tasked with the impossible, constructive dismissal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Adviser in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good perks, incentives, comfortable offices.

    Cons

    Friend groups are very exclusive. Expectation to be a 'family' member rather than a work colleague, which demands that you change your habits.

    Advice to Management

    Managers should act more like managers and less like friends, because friends pick favourites.

    Domestic & General Group2019-11-26
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always have people on hand if you need help. Free fresh fruit and tea/coffee. Great discounts

    Cons

    Only a week training in classroom to learn everything about the role. Not the easiest to book holiday.

    Domestic & General Group2019-11-09
  6. "Cool sales position in center of Brighton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Brighton, England

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Yo it was cool, i learned a lot.

    Cons

    im not sure, maybe longer breaks

    Domestic & General Group2019-11-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    ""Putting the customer first" hmmm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Solutions Advisor in Nottingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People were friendly and the overall environment of the place was good

    Cons

    They say putting the customer first, but that is such a front: it was a sales job and you were expected to sell, and sell on features and benefits (which was always made out to be easier than it actually was.) Completely the wrong fit for me and my values.

    Domestic & General Group2019-11-08
  8. "Customer Support and sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    boost confidence, good pay, good incentives, care about staff

    Cons

    nothing much just working weekends but that’s okay

    Domestic & General Group2019-10-22
  9. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, fast paced and interactive environment

    Cons

    On the phone constantly which sometimes can have an affect on you.

    Advice to Management

    Give more breaks

    Domestic & General Group2019-10-20
  10. "Life as a D&G customer support agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit, sale incentives sociable hours

    Cons

    It's not a customer service job, you are teached to always put the customer 2nd and the sale 1st

    Domestic & General Group2019-11-06
Found 322 reviews