Domestic & General Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Domestic & General Group Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Domestic & General Group CEO Ian Mason
Ian Mason
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and understanding team leaders(in 27 reviews)

  • "(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "The team leader selection process isn't great, we have some team leaders who were good at hitting targets but didn't have any people skills(in 33 reviews)

  • "(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for with a fantastic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Representative in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Domestic & General value every single member of staff from the Call Centre Agents right through to the management and operational teams. There is a great company wide culture where people are professional, driven and passionate about working for Domestic & General. Progression opportunities are great and they really do look to train and coach internal employees to enable them to progress into different roles and other areas of the business. Salaries at Domestic & General are very competitive with fantastic incentives and bonuses across all pay structures. During my first couple of weeks I was extremely surprised at how friendly everyone in the Brighton office was. I felt at home straight away. I had a great induction with detailed training. I felt that the senior stakeholders, managers and my line manger was always there to support with any questions I had and any additional training I needed to successfully fulfil my new role.

    Cons

    When I first started in my role the Brighton office was quite dated however this has just gone through a massive transformation with a £1.4 million refurbishment and the office is now modern and clean.

    Domestic & General Group2019-04-24

    Domestic & General Group Response

    September 4, 2019Resourcing Business Partner

    Thanks for your great review. I am pleased to hear you felt at home within your first few weeks at Domestic and General. We have worked hard on developing a company culture that is inclusive and encourages our colleagues to work as 'one team' and be passionate about delivering excellent customer service.

    Continue reading
  2. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Document Management Assistant in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours available. Very lovely work environment and nice team of management

    Cons

    Can get busy certain times and work is repetitive

    Domestic & General Group2020-01-06
  3. "GOOD JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consolidated Resorts in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people were who made the job what it was

    Cons

    no real opportunities to progress - sometimes treated like a child

    Domestic & General Group2020-02-03
  4. "If you get a job there. Don’t stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Agent in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people at the Nottingham branch really make it a fun place to work

    Cons

    You feel like a number. I worked there for 7 years and I never once felt valued or like my opinion counted. They do not care about the work load you are given. The team that I was in was made to take calls from 4 different departments at the same time. While trying to maintain the same conversion targets we would have normally had. Management don’t really engage with staff. It’s extremely repetitive The only way you progress is if the management like you. They do not put the customer first. They rip off the customers with pricing. Some of the products especially sky protect are so unethical.

    Continue reading
    Domestic & General Group2020-02-05
  5. "Friendly staff, repetitive role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff are friendly, good pay, a range of benefits

    Cons

    repetitive nature of work, rude customers

    Domestic & General Group2020-01-13
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Discovery Executive in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Colleagues are the best part of working for the company. Good opportunities and progression development being introduced in the last year.

    Cons

    Communication between departments is not the greatest but it could be because it is such a big company. Secondments within the company could be structured better

    Continue reading
    Domestic & General Group2020-01-14
  7. "People make it great, they keep you all feeling like a team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teamwork, chance to progress within and always something happening

    Cons

    No real support with mental health, they will refer to occ health but there is never any after care. Can feel like a very lonely place to work at times and that’s even if you do well

    Continue reading
    Domestic & General Group2020-01-27
  8. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative 

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None none none none none

    Cons

    Awful treating of staff

    Continue reading
    Domestic & General Group2020-02-13
  9. "I wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good Location (center of Brighton) Staff Discounts

    Cons

    Terrible Training Coaching is over promised and under delivered, if delivered at all. Management are irresponsible and bully/alienate groups & individuals they don't like. Extremely long hours Cold calling Up-selling unnecessary & unethical products

    Continue reading
    Domestic & General Group2020-02-07
  10. "Not the best place for personal career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Good working nvironment

    Cons

    Not much support Have to be strong willed

    Domestic & General Group2020-01-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 331 reviews