Domestic & General Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Domestic & General Group Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 303 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Domestic & General Group CEO Ian Mason
Ian Mason
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits for staff, nice and friendly colleagues, supportive management and team leaders(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great people and good office culture(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "The team leader selection process isn't great, we have some team leaders who were good at hitting targets but didn't have any people skills(in 29 reviews)

  • "Career progression is limited due to he size of the organisation, but D&G does make up for this through offering variety within roles(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for with a fantastic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Representative in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Domestic & General value every single member of staff from the Call Centre Agents right through to the management and operational teams. There is a great company wide culture where people are professional, driven and passionate about working for Domestic & General. Progression opportunities are great and they really do look to train and coach internal employees to enable them to progress into different... roles and other areas of the business. Salaries at Domestic & General are very competitive with fantastic incentives and bonuses across all pay structures. During my first couple of weeks I was extremely surprised at how friendly everyone in the Brighton office was. I felt at home straight away. I had a great induction with detailed training. I felt that the senior stakeholders, managers and my line manger was always there to support with any questions I had and any additional training I needed to successfully fulfil my new role.

    Show More

    Cons

    When I first started in my role the Brighton office was quite dated however this has just gone through a massive transformation with a £1.4 million refurbishment and the office is now modern and clean.

    Domestic & General Group2019-04-24

    Domestic & General Group Response

    September 4, 2019Resourcing Business Partner

    Thanks for your great review. I am pleased to hear you felt at home within your first few weeks at Domestic and General. We have worked hard on developing a company culture that is inclusive and encourages our colleagues to work as 'one team' and be passionate about delivering excellent ...

    Show More
  2. "Fantastic career opportunies with excellent internal recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Head of Risk in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    D&G understands that its people are the heart of the business, and works actively to recognise and reward talented people from all areas of the organisation. There a number of examples where employees joining the business in entry-level roles or operational backgrounds have progressed into senior management positions, and this number continues to grow. The culture is open and collaborative, and everyone has a... part to play in the shared one-team goal of providing excellent service to our customers.

    Show More

    Cons

    The work can be challenging due to the strong focus on getting things right for the customer and continually improving the service that we offer, but those with a passion for providing excellent products that provide real value to our customers are likely to succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to share the excellent stories of career progression and where employee feedback has led to business and cultural change.

    Domestic & General Group2019-09-17
  3. "Love progression? Love D&G"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Progression opportunities - Social atmosphere - Focus on the people rather than the sales figures

    Cons

    - Work the occasional Saturday

    Advice to Management

    Sales come when you take an interest in your people

    Domestic & General Group2019-09-13
  4. "Not just a job!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Currently I have been apart of Domestic and general for 8 years, in this time we have grown to be a real power house employer, not only have we grown in profits we have also put our people first and the community, to be apart of a company who sponsors local charities and pride makes you proud to stand up and say who you work for, this wasn't always the case but now I am proud to work for domestic and general that... now that we have grown, myself going from a sales agent to a people manager who has grown to understand what it takes t keep engagement high, high performing and to do what is right by our customers.

    Show More

    Cons

    Only con has to be shift patterns, this is currently being reviewed so going forward i would have no cons.

    Advice to Management

    To keep on putting our customers first and also your staff.

    Domestic & General Group2019-09-13
  5. "Great culture with excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time

    Pros

    This company stands by its values from the tone from the top. From management to the great call centre agents everyone is doing their best for the customers. Opinions count and there are more and more development and progression opportunities for everyone. If you work hard you will see the benefits.

    Cons

    A couple of the offices could still do with some updating.

    Domestic & General Group2019-09-09
  6. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Replacement Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and the customers who are nice but you dont get much time to tall to them

    Cons

    The job is demanding

    Advice to Management

    People are people not statistics

    Domestic & General Group2019-09-05
  7. "Good company to work for, plenty of opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Growth, career progression and people

    Cons

    Systems are a bit behind needs some IT and digitalisation investment

    Advice to Management

    Needs to invest to spur further growth

    Domestic & General Group2019-09-01

    Domestic & General Group Response

    September 4, 2019Resourcing Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you enjoy working for Domestic and General and believe we offer great career opportunities for people to grow. We have started our digital transformation journey so hopefully we will start to see some positive changes soon... ...

    Show More
  8. "Repetitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Representative in Nottingham, England

    I worked at Domestic & General Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and understanding team leaders

    Cons

    Repetitive and mind numbing

    Domestic & General Group2019-08-28

    Domestic & General Group Response

    September 4, 2019Resourcing Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a company review. I am delighted to hear you felt supported by our Team Leaders and colleagues whilst you were here. We wish you all the best for your next career move

  9. "Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time

    Pros

    Not bad pay for job

    Cons

    Terrible working atmosphere, Awful Management

    Domestic & General Group2019-09-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "the most misleading place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Domestic & General Group full-time

    Pros

    - competitive salary - decent benefits

    Cons

    - Long days - Constantly busy - Expected to do other departments work when they can't cope, but the favour isn't repaid - no progression this job is sold you as being a low pressure, easy to achieve job role. in truth it is back to back calls all day from the second you start selling a product that people just aren't that interested in. spend more time doing customer service calls than actual sales calls, but... still expected to achieve a conversion rate of 23.5%. Very high pressure job with poor training and poor communication.

    Show More
    Domestic & General Group2019-08-27
Found 303 reviews