Dorsey & Whitney Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dorsey & Whitney Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dorsey & Whitney CEO Bill Stoeri (no image)
Bill Stoeri
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "It also has a softer side that encourages a nice work/life balance for all attorneys and staff(in 4 reviews)

  • "Dorsey's benefits for support staff are very good(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "No maternity leave for support staff, no work from home availability, no overtime(in 5 reviews)

  • "As with any law firm/client service environment, the work can be very demanding at times(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dorsey & Whitney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above average pay, good benefits, flexible and generous time off, competent management who want you to succeed and take the time to praise you for good work, great company culture, fun employee events

    Cons

    I can’t think of any off the top of my head.

    Continue reading
    Dorsey & Whitney2019-08-15
  2. "good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dorsey & Whitney full-time

    Pros

    humble and nice people who are willing to teach/learn you.

    Cons

    o Sometimes working hours are too long - but the time spent with quality people is enjoyable

    Dorsey & Whitney2019-06-25
  3. "Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dorsey & Whitney full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    None that are worth metioning

    Dorsey & Whitney2018-09-06
  4. "Dorsey and Whitney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dorsey & Whitney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great 401k contribution, awesome employee lounge/ gym, good health plan, and PTO. Dedicated to driving diversity.

    Cons

    Slow to change, old culture.

    Continue reading
    Dorsey & Whitney2018-09-04
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dorsey & Whitney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, people, parties, work, fun

    Cons

    Remodeling, work life balance, management

    Dorsey & Whitney2018-08-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dorsey & Whitney full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work. Very flexible

    Cons

    Depending on the department, Silos/Groupings. If you don't fit you get treated as an outcast.

    Continue reading
    Dorsey & Whitney2018-07-17
  7. "Just don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dorsey & Whitney full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are some really good people.

    Cons

    Insanely heavy workload for mediocre pay & benefits, fear-based culture, blatant favoritism based on partner's and management's personal preferences rather than any real measures, and a toxic environment prone to scapegoating, verbal commitment to diversity that is belied by actions. Save yourself the heartache.

    Dorsey & Whitney2018-08-21
  8. "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Dorsey & Whitney full-time

    Pros

    Collegial environment, most people don't take themselves too seriously

    Cons

    Staff/attorney divide is palpable but firm does seem to be making an effort to bridge that gap

    Dorsey & Whitney2018-06-14
  9. "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dorsey & Whitney full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros? I am drawing a blank!

    Cons

    Inadequately fair management. No wonder the turnover stats are climbing. There is "0" positive morale. Your first day may be great. After the first week, LOOKOUT. You are the property of " " adhere to firm policies at all time. Do not try to rearrange time off. Let us just state, I've been looking in the help wanted sections. Be negotiable with your pay, it be a century before you are awarded a raise. Christmas bonuses are absolute. You'll pay a hefty addition to supplement your health insurance.

    Continue reading
    Dorsey & Whitney2018-07-06
  10. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Litigation Paralegal in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Dorsey & Whitney full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work/cases..willing to pay market rates etc

    Cons

    Litigation Attorneys in Trial Dept have no idea how to assess talented support staff

    Dorsey & Whitney2018-02-11
Found 62 reviews