Douglas College Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Douglas College Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Douglas College President & CEO Dr. Kathy Denton
Dr. Kathy Denton
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mostly good, intellectual people to work with, great courses study benefits, okay work-life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment - some depts offer flex days(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Coquitlam, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Treated as a human being first and foremost. - They invest in employee development; you get to go to seminars and training sessions that are expensive / difficult to get into. - High level of trust: no micromanaging; you get a project with your team and you submit it once complete. - Higher pay than other entry level positions. - They train you to be prepared for the workplace once you graduate. - Very flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    - As a student assistant you can only work up to 20hrs/week.

    Continue reading
    Douglas College2020-03-20
  2. "The Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager 

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a good place to work, great team environment

    Cons

    Working hours can be long

    Continue reading
    Douglas College2020-01-12
  3. "WorkBc Maple Ridge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Case Management 

    I worked at Douglas College

    Pros

    Living so close is perfect I live so close

    Cons

    Bullying, many individuals developed PTSD as a result working in this environment. I was bullied out of my job. Staff members were fearful of asking questions. I observed many hostile behaviors towards staff. Looks and remarks people made to feel stupid countless complaints to HR . This trickles down from the top

    Continue reading
    Douglas College2020-02-07
  4. "Overall positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, flexible schedule, and great co-workers.

    Cons

    Pay is not so great. Only minimum wage.

    Douglas College2019-11-28
  5. "Needs more contact with CEIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Education Technology Facilitator in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Independent, low supervision, varied projects

    Cons

    Isolated, no peers, few network permissions for the expectations

    Continue reading
    Douglas College2019-11-07
  6. "Good place to work if you go to school there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Westminster, BC

    I have been working at Douglas College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Especially convenient to your schedule if you go to school there already. As a teaching assistant, you're not expected to do that much.

    Cons

    Pay is pretty low, but factoring in the time you actually work, it's worth it

    Douglas College2019-10-22
  7. "Faculty Position at Douglas College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Stable position. Managers are great. - Tim Hortons on site.

    Cons

    - Lots of bureaucracy/layers/processes - takes a long time to get things accomplished. - Not the greatest benefits program.

    Douglas College2019-10-14
  8. "Inhuman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary. That’s about it. (The students are okay.)

    Cons

    HR, administration, lack of respect. HR treats you like a statistic, a cog in their greasy wheel. I try not to interact with any administrators at the college, from HR to departmental receptionists. They are, on a whole, rude, inept, and a burden. Worst experience I’ve ever had. It’s a toxic place to work.

    Douglas College2019-11-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Encore Career Program-Job Search for 55+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Coach in Coquitlam, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paycheck, most colleagues are wonderful people, parking

    Cons

    Extremely Stressful working environment, No work-life balance, unrealistic expectations, office politics, lack of plans=chaos, no office space,

    Douglas College2019-10-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Very good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good environment Very nice people

    Cons

    Not challenging and Old Technology.

    Continue reading
    Douglas College2019-07-31

    Douglas College Response

    August 12, 2019HR

    Happy to read that you like the work environment and people at the College. New technology is on the horizon.

    Continue reading
Found 70 reviews