Douglas College Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Douglas College Reviews

Updated 27 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Douglas College CEO Dr. Kathy Denton
Dr. Kathy Denton
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mostly good, intellectual people to work with, great courses study benefits, okay work-life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "nice people who like their jobs and great location with good benefits and okay wages(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, flexible schedule, and great co-workers.

    Cons

    Pay is not so great. Only minimum wage.

    Douglas College2019-11-28
  2. "Needs more contact with CEIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Education Technology Facilitator in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Independent, low supervision, varied projects

    Cons

    Isolated, no peers, few network permissions for the expectations

    Advice to Management

    Allow CEIT to integrate this position into their best practices. Help this position have more access to the CEIT department meetings and management.

    Douglas College2019-11-07
  3. "Good place to work if you go to school there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Westminster, BC

    I have been working at Douglas College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Especially convenient to your schedule if you go to school there already. As a teaching assistant, you're not expected to do that much.

    Cons

    Pay is pretty low, but factoring in the time you actually work, it's worth it

    Douglas College2019-10-22
  4. "Faculty Position at Douglas College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Stable position. Managers are great. - Tim Hortons on site.

    Cons

    - Lots of bureaucracy/layers/processes - takes a long time to get things accomplished. - Not the greatest benefits program.

    Douglas College2019-10-14
  5. "Inhuman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary. That’s about it. (The students are okay.)

    Cons

    HR, administration, lack of respect. HR treats you like a statistic, a cog in their greasy wheel. I try not to interact with any administrators at the college, from HR to departmental receptionists. They are, on a whole, rude, inept, and a burden. Worst experience I’ve ever had. It’s a toxic place to work.

    Douglas College2019-11-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Encore Career Program-Job Search for 55+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Coach in Coquitlam, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paycheck, most colleagues are wonderful people, parking

    Cons

    Extremely Stressful working environment, No work-life balance, unrealistic expectations, office politics, lack of plans=chaos, no office space,

    Douglas College2019-10-23
  7. "Very good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good environment Very nice people

    Cons

    Not challenging and Old Technology.

    Advice to Management

    Very good

    Douglas College2019-07-31
  8. "Evaluation Douglas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, less pressure than other companies

    Cons

    Not a high salary and the rotation or changes are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries

    Douglas College2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid, if possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer in New Westminster, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Location Known brand Good place to start your career Parking

    Cons

    Hierarchical structure, managers are set in their archaic ways, poor salary, zero communication, lack of inclusiveness.

    Advice to Management

    Many of your departments do not have even one staff who is a person of color. They leave or cannot renew their teaching positions or have never been hired. Find out why.

    Douglas College2019-08-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Truly deserves the Top Employer Award!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lives up to its motto of "Do What You Love!" The culture is great. The work environment is empowering and the core values of Douglas College aligns with my own core values. I also love that creativity is encouraged, passion is commonplace and the collegiality is unifying. I feel I am appreciated and allowed to take initiative to get things accomplished. On top of these are the excellent benefits and perks - I... have never paid a single cent on dental work or eyeglasses. Health coverage is excellent as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have not experienced anything negative.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Douglas College2019-05-17
Found 67 reviews