Dovetail Games Reviews

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Dovetail Games CEO Paul Jackson (no image)
Paul Jackson
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, great location, great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist Level I in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dovetail Games full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - As an Artist in the Environment team, you get to work on a variety of different real world locations. The company releases new DLC frequently and there's a lot of fresh work to be done, so things are always interesting. - Very unique location in the Historic Dockyard of Chatham, surrounded by old warships, a submarine, film studios etc. The building itself is impressive and the facilities are modern but also have that "Victorian" feel. - Great work-life balance, normal and flexible working hours. - Great people, casual atmosphere, many fun company events.

    Cons

    - The frequency of releases also means that sometimes work needs to be done at a very speedy pace, which is not always ideal. - The surrounding town of Medway is not the most exciting place - it does have some good areas, but rents are generally high.

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2019-05-25
  2. "Very welcoming & friendly environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dovetail Games full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All in all it's generally a nice, peaceful place to work. Your colleagues are kind, management is approachable and there are a lot of activities to keep you busy throughout the day. An actively stocked kitchen, weekly company meetings to get updates on company projects, just a relaxed place to be.

    Cons

    Decisions regarding the games is questionable. They're simulator games so don't expect too much exciting unless you're into trains and fishing.

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2020-05-11
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Great set of people actively hindered by rubbish execs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dovetail Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great set of people all passionate about Sims and what they do there.

    Cons

    The execs are incompetent at best and malicious at worst. They constantly ruin the good work the teams are doing. They also force crunch time for every dlc

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2019-09-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Unsurprising company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Game Tester in Stirling, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dovetail Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free access to dovetails game library? CEO is a very excitable man with a real passion and interest in his employees.

    Cons

    - Low wage - repetitive work - uninspiring work No ambition to be the best, forcing the same content out reskinned and not even fully functioning to make a quick buck.

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2019-06-21
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Cannot be trusted"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dovetail Games full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexitime was nice and overtime was compensated with time in lieu. Work/life balance was good when not at the end of a project.

    Cons

    Backed an entire studio into a corner by closing them down. Their options were move them to Chatham (a different country), start working for a new startup company with very little notice, planning or information or just plain fired. Those not wanted by the new company were given the option of redundancy. The management is not to be trusted here. Constantly increased workloads with no payoff or incentive for staff. Training was non existent Planning was non existent Career growth was non existent Felt like the same content was always being churned out with no room for improvement unless you put in some crunch.

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2019-04-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for where you get out what you put in."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Director in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dovetail Games full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, democratic, strong values with passionate and dedicated teams.

    Cons

    Only games company in that area.

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2018-10-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with good work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dovetail Games full-time

    Pros

    - I like how the whole company is kept in the loop by Exec team at company meetings and an approachable, open door policy is shown by all senior staff. - My opinions are always listened to and respected, with more junior members of the team feeling they have a voice - CEO wanders around office regularly to chat - My hard work has always been rewarded by the company and progression has been available when I have sought to move up - They encourage personal development and given guidance when I have asked for help and advice - Great flexible working with focus on work life balance - I like the friendly, family atmosphere where people take a genuine interest in activities outside of work

    Cons

    - I have none, I really enjoy working with this company

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2018-09-07

    Dovetail Games Response

    September 18, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, it is wonderful to see and hear that you having a positive employee experience. If that ever changes please come and speak with me. Kind Regards Gemma Johnson-Brown CPO

  8. Helpful (7)

    "Good but not great"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dovetail Games full-time

    Pros

    Mostly friendly staff Mostly approachable management Free food and merchandise every now and then Flexible working hours

    Cons

    The producer is hostile and unapproachable Wages could be improved

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2018-09-12

    Dovetail Games Response

    September 18, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write, we do read all reviews carefully and appreciate the time it takes to write them. Sorry to read you felt you had to remove your previous post and re-post negatively, I can assure you no-body in leadership are manufacturing reviews, this would serve us no purpose, I imagine that for as many people who do not have a great experience and Dovetail there are many more that do. Like my other responses I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised face to face, particularly your points regarding a producer, as we have a number of producers it would be useful to be directed in the right direction, we take grievances and issues very seriously and once we (HR) are informed there is an issue, we have a duty to investigate. I note your point about listening to lower to mid-level staff, the leadership team try to be as open as possible and we have many different channels for people to communicate with us (email, face to face, slack etc.) we recognise that for some these routes are still overwhelming so we have introduced a physical suggestion box in our offices. I hope you take the opportunity to speak with me and perhaps in the future you feel we are a company that deserves 5 stars. Kind Regards Gemma Johnson-Brown CPO

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Good company but needs lots of work."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dovetail Games full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Lots of good people at the company * Has good social events and encourages charity work * Have many people that care about the projects they are working on. * Company cares about the Health of its staff with the Boot Camp and other similar events.

    Cons

    * Very hard to progress unless you are in the "Select few" or a Manager that has been there for a long time. * Most of the staff are under constant and unrealistic pressure * The company has no meaning of quality control as DLC is released broken and never looked back up to fix it. * Content quality is getting constantly worse in some areas - TS1 for example - the staff are lazy and don't get their work done on time! TSW is similar where the content feels rushed, Fishing is similar too. * Many managers that don't understand about quality control and most content is released rushed, buggy and uncared about. (and some don't even understand the community or how their games work!) * Many managers are stuck in their way and don't care about suggestions, and basically just want to do things how they have always done them, ignoring ideas for improving things. * Low moral everywhere and most of the staff want to leave! A few staff have left and now get double what they were paid at Dovetail. * Low pay compared to other companies. * Stressed Employees are left as they are with no help, and most of the time are told to be "not stressed" and get their work done. I feel that employees aren't cared about enough, Management takes credit for the work of the Artists, Scenario builders and Environmental people too, almost no praise is given unless it's someone who is valued, or if something goes wrong then that person will be in trouble. Although If one person worked say 20-30 hours extra one week, and then 10 minutes less the next, nothing would be mentioned of the extra hours they would almost instantly be in trouble for the 10 minutes. Most of the focus is on getting as much money as possible but not caring about the product, so they will gladly release a product that is broken and say that it will be fixed, but when it makes money broken never go back to it. (basically, they never fulfil their promises.) Dovetail games is the laughing stock of the gaming community, (not that I agree with this) DLC Simulator comes to mind when people talk about DTG. They want to be the best simulation in the world but aren't even close to being 2nd to last at this point...

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2018-09-02

    Dovetail Games Response

    September 18, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your view points and opinions face to face, I genuinely would like to get an understanding. However if you feel this isn't an option for you - as has been raised in other reviews, my perspective is: - In the past 12 months we have introduced a new performance management process, this has just come out of it's first year cycle, we have seen many great things and it has also highlighted areas that need improvement, when it comes to "getting rid of staff" there is a legal and best practice process to follow, if anyone is highlighted by their managers as having performance or capability concerns, we follow our company processes - which are stated in our employee handbook. - As above our QA team are included in the same process, we have had many QA team members that have progressed on through the company and to other departments and this has meant that many experienced testers move through the company, therefore many of the current are new to the company/testing or a combination of both, we welcome new people into the industry through QA, but I take your point and will look at how we onboard and train to get our new comers up to speed and quickly as possible. - Training assessments are part of the performance management process outlined above, given that it's in it's first year cycle and you are highlighting this as an area of concern, I will take a look at what development needs have been highlighted through the process. - Making staff feel wanted vs. constantly stressed, this should becoming naturally from your line manager and your regular meetings, which should also cover your other two points. As you have highlighted many areas that should be covered through regular one to one's and our performance process, I am drawing the conclusion your experience through this process hasn't been optimal or what is intended and this should be highlighted to your manager. I will be reiterating to managers the importance of the performance process not only for them but for their team. Thank you again for writing a review, I hope your experience with us continues to improve. Kind Regards Gemma Johnson-Brown CPO

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work - enjoy working here"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dovetail Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been here a couple of years now and enjoy my job and the people I work with, have seen a number of changes mostly positive. Pro's about working here: * On a whole most people friendly and can have a laugh, it is a fairly relaxed atmosphere. * Flexible working is actually flexible ( I have kids and it's been nice to get home to see them for dinner and attend sports days etc, which I didn't get to do at previous role). * Most of the people I work with are passionate about what they do and enjoy the subject matter - although it's not my cup of tea and I was worried about this before joining at the recent company offsite the COO and CEO made me feel relaxed about this and that I could bring my enthusiasm for what my passions are and that was just as important. * Most senior managers are approachable, some are now in another office, as we have out grown this one - but we are moving to be in one big space at the end of this year and that is exciting. The whole company has been shown the new place a couple of times. * There has been improvements on progression and career development but I feel there is still some way to go, especially if you sit at mid-level. * Performance books introduced, following managers going away for training and it's a bit inconsistent if they are used or not, my manager has only used them once for the annual review, personally I would like more. * Feel like company tries to care about well being & health there is football, health checks, boot camp and lots of charity things going.

    Cons

    * Benefits & Perks really not on par with others, would be great to be offered Private Medical/Dentist cover, gym membership, more holiday etc. (although a note from HR the other week did say they were looking in to medical cover) * Office is busy and loud at times, making it hard to concentrate, hopefully new office will address this. * Lack of time to go back and add polish like I would like to - no time to "flywheel"!

    Continue reading
    Dovetail Games2018-08-10

    Dovetail Games Response

    September 18, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to right a review, we appreciate your time to write and review Dovetail Games. We are aware our benefits and perks need some work and attention, we are reviewing our benefits and perks packages and aim to make improvements to these over the coming years. With regards to your advice on, others have a voice, this is something we are very aware of and try to have as many channels as possible to aid communication (email, face to face, slack, myideas inbox etc.) and recently we have introduced a physical suggestion box to enable anonymous suggestions if one wishes to use this route. The leadership and management try to achieve and work towards as open communication as possible and I am pleased to read you are enjoying your time with us. Many Thanks Gemma Johnson-Brown CPO

Found 43 reviews