Dow "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dow Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 7 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Dow Chief Executive Officer Jim Fitterling
Jim Fitterling
186 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Midland is not a town for singles/30 somethings(in 66 reviews)

  • "Lack of employee development & poor work/life balance(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It's an excellent place and environment to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manufacturing Engineer Internship in King's Lynn, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, good pay and opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    The interns can not have access to all the various business sectors such as agrosciences, oil and gas, .......e.t.c.

    Continue reading
    Dow2011-09-25
  2. "Dow Chemical Supply Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of challenging projects. Good Salary. Good work environment. Global exposure. Inclusive working practices. Good focus on employee development. Seems to work well for Dow lifers.

    Cons

    Promotion is elusive. If you apply for another role and are successful it doesn't matter what grade it is as you get moved at your current grade and then have to prove you are worthy of a promotion which can take years.. Very US centric. Difficult to get recognized for non Dow experience.

    Dow2017-02-26
  3. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Decent Work Environment, Flexibility

    Cons

    Lack of accountability. Employees run wild causing a rift in the top employees. Performance award.

    Continue reading
    Dow2020-01-22
  4. "No recognition and opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Terneuzen
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and nice working environment.

    Cons

    no opportunities to grow, not enough recognition, no hiring so people get too much workload resulting in stress and leaving the job

    Continue reading
    Dow2020-02-07
  5. "Worked as a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lab Technician 

    I worked at Dow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, great people.

    Cons

    Did not get an opportunity to get hired on as a direct employee, so I moved on.

    Dow2020-01-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Improvement Engineer in Plaquemine, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership promotes a healthy work environment (safety, inclusion, ergonomics, etc) and I have seen many people leave higher paying jobs in the area to work here.

    Cons

    Salary is somewhat low for engineers coming out of college, and HR says Dow provides competitiveness in the total compensation in the form of good extra benefits (insurance plans, 401k match, relocation, etc.).

    Continue reading
    Dow2019-12-03
  7. "Great people to work with, Poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -great work environment -great crews -close to home

    Cons

    -cooperate just keeps taking away our perks of working there -can never get an answer from HR -worries more about the stock holders then the actual worker -pension sucks

    Dow2019-11-26
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Specialist in Ho Chi Minh City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment and culture

    Cons

    Not high salary with little promotional opportunity

    Dow2019-10-22
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator in Freeport, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, 4% bonus annually, safe work environment, good plant to get experience under your belt

    Cons

    Pay could be better, benefits could be better, compared to other poly plants bonus are small compared to the profits they make.

    Continue reading
    Dow2019-09-29
  10. "Associate Research Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong

    I worked at Dow full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefit, care employee and good working environment

    Cons

    Workload too much and previous manager do not have good management skill

    Dow2019-10-02
Found 101 reviews
</>Embed