DreamWorks Animation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

DreamWorks Animation Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 413 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
DreamWorks Animation CEO Margie Cohn  (no image)
Margie Cohn
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people, the free breakfast and lunch, the various activities they put on throughout the year, feels like a home like you arent even going to work(in 68 reviews)

  • "Free food, relaxed environment, growth(in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in London, England

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This was a great place to work whilst it was an independent studio. I worked in the UK office where there was a great atmosphere, true team spirit and significant autonomy in my role. The offices were lovely and in a convenient location and I made genuine friends their who I am still in touch with now.

    Cons

    The purchase of the Studio by NBC Universal.

    Advice to Management

    Management really cared about their people, those that remain in the set up at NBC Universal should continue to show

    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-25
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Licensing Director in London, England

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly creative and inspiring studio

    Cons

    Difficult working in a satellite office

    DreamWorks Animation2019-06-11
  3. "Really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation

    Pros

    Feel free to talk to people and to be honest it's kinda enjoy working place

    Cons

    Well if you look at it, it doesn't look much but you thing I had to was just waiting for customers to come

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    DreamWorks Animation2016-01-15
  4. "brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cgi Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation

    Pros

    Great team based all over US and Europe

    Cons

    Long hours to get each contract done in time

    Advice to Management

    More update software given freely to complete projects

    DreamWorks Animation2015-11-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company, people and product."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Products in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Business run by passionate people, who care about people and product. Unique amongst Hollywood studios, and should be embraced more.

    Cons

    Not enough financial controls makes the business vulnerable. Too many Disney people now trying to change it. DreamWorks has lost sight of what makes it different and special.

    Advice to Management

    Have more faith in being DreamWorks rather than all of the new Disney people trying to replicate somewhere else. Trust those who have been in the business for a length of time, and don't just assume that the new people are the stars.

    DreamWorks Animation2015-03-30
  6. "A wonderful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Development Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company culture and people who work there are fantastic. A very stimulating creative environment

    Cons

    I have no cons, my experience there was wonderful.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic in Dwārka
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Absolutely amazing experience I had work their.

    Cons

    They Growth towards their employees

    DreamWorks Animation2019-09-01
  8. "Wonderful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Animatic Editor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company that truly cares about their employees. Always something going on to improve the quality of life for employees.

    Cons

    Has offices in multiple locations which isn’t perfect.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-08-12
  9. "Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation part-time

    Pros

    Best among the best always

    Cons

    I think I hate the salary altogether

    DreamWorks Animation2019-08-11
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supervisors really care about mentoring their direct report and the company places a lot of resources into continuing education.

    Cons

    Movement between departments (marketing to production) is not always encouraged or allowed. Pay is under market.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-30
Found 413 reviews