DreamWorks Animation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

DreamWorks Animation Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
DreamWorks Animation CEO Margie Cohn  (no image)
Margie Cohn
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people, the free breakfast and lunch, the various activities they put on throughout the year, feels like a home like you arent even going to work(in 68 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and community, free food, lovely campus(in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in London, England

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This was a great place to work whilst it was an independent studio. I worked in the UK office where there was a great atmosphere, true team spirit and significant autonomy in my role. The offices were lovely and in a convenient location and I made genuine friends their who I am still in touch with now.

    Cons

    The purchase of the Studio by NBC Universal.

    Advice to Management

    Management really cared about their people, those that remain in the set up at NBC Universal should continue to show

    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-25
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Licensing Director in London, England

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly creative and inspiring studio

    Cons

    Difficult working in a satellite office

    DreamWorks Animation2019-06-11
  3. "Really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation

    Pros

    Feel free to talk to people and to be honest it's kinda enjoy working place

    Cons

    Well if you look at it, it doesn't look much but you thing I had to was just waiting for customers to come

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    DreamWorks Animation2016-01-15
  4. "brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cgi Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation

    Pros

    Great team based all over US and Europe

    Cons

    Long hours to get each contract done in time

    Advice to Management

    More update software given freely to complete projects

    DreamWorks Animation2015-11-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company, people and product."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Products in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Business run by passionate people, who care about people and product. Unique amongst Hollywood studios, and should be embraced more.

    Cons

    Not enough financial controls makes the business vulnerable. Too many Disney people now trying to change it. DreamWorks has lost sight of what makes it different and special.

    Advice to Management

    Have more faith in being DreamWorks rather than all of the new Disney people trying to replicate somewhere else. Trust those who have been in the business for a length of time, and don't just assume that the new people are the stars.

    DreamWorks Animation2015-03-30
  6. "3d Modeler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks, Art, Environment, work culture, Overly friendly supervisors.

    Cons

    Slow, Not enough juicy work for everyone.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-12-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time

    Pros

    Culture & People are the two amazing pros.

    Cons

    Once you work here, it's hard to switch or like other places.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-19
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Producer 

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Lunch Beautiful Campus People are awesome

    Cons

    Not a lot here. Some projects are more desirable than others.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-21
  9. "Movies to feel proud of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, good working relationship with production staff.

    Cons

    Growing pains after acquisition by Comcast with added uncertainty. Currently experiencing a brain drain as talented engineers find other opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Present a clear path going forward.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-12
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time

    Pros

    I sometimes like it here

    Cons

    Low pay and of course the benefits are not good

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-21
Found 421 reviews