DreamWorks Animation Reviews

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
DreamWorks Animation President Margie Cohn  (no image)
Margie Cohn
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, free breakfast and lunch, great bonuses, and flexible hours(in 69 reviews)

  • "Free food (but the food sucks after a year)(in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not much other than semi-low pay(in 17 reviews)

  • "Poor upper management planning and tendency to give irrelevant notes(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyable"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Host in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Merlin's Magic Pass Employee Benefits

    Cons

    Incredibly busy during school holidays

    DreamWorks Animation2020-02-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in London, England

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This was a great place to work whilst it was an independent studio. I worked in the UK office where there was a great atmosphere, true team spirit and significant autonomy in my role. The offices were lovely and in a convenient location and I made genuine friends their who I am still in touch with now.

    Cons

    The purchase of the Studio by NBC Universal.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2019-07-25
  3. "-"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Licensing Director in London, England

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly creative and inspiring studio

    Cons

    Difficult working in a satellite office

    DreamWorks Animation2019-06-11
  4. "Really good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation

    Pros

    Feel free to talk to people and to be honest it's kinda enjoy working place

    Cons

    Well if you look at it, it doesn't look much but you thing I had to was just waiting for customers to come

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2016-01-15
  5. "brilliant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cgi Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation

    Pros

    Great team based all over US and Europe

    Cons

    Long hours to get each contract done in time

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2015-11-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company, people and product."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Products in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Business run by passionate people, who care about people and product. Unique amongst Hollywood studios, and should be embraced more.

    Cons

    Not enough financial controls makes the business vulnerable. Too many Disney people now trying to change it. DreamWorks has lost sight of what makes it different and special.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2015-03-30
  7. "Character Animator for Feature Film"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Animator in Glendale, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Free food isn't bad either!

    Cons

    Deadlines seem to get tighter and tighter for each show.

    DreamWorks Animation2020-05-24
  8. "Toxic Social Culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice campus Good benefits More stability vs most other studios...for now

    Cons

    Rampant favoritism. Certain people are the 'golden employees'. Everything they do is considered to be perfect, while everything you do will be questioned. Toxic coworkers - people here can be hostile and childish. They gossip, and make new employees like me feel very unwelcome. It's a bubble - Dreamworks only values experience within the company, and seems to view outside experience as irrelevant. As someone with 7 years industry experience, I'm viewed as less competent that someone with 1 year experience because they've been with the company longer. Subpar pay - LA is extremely expensive. The salary is good by most standards, but isn't remotely close to justifying the exorbitant cost of living, where the average price for a home near Glendale is $800k. Additionally, you have to pay to join the guild to work there, which is a financial burden. The benefits you get with the guild are no different from any other reputable company -health insurance, 401k, etc. But at other companies you don't have to pay thousands of dollars in union dues to access those benefits.

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2020-05-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "DWTV - You realize how bad the company is once you leave"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free food (but the food sucks after a year) - The people are great - Nice campus! - You learn a lot under tight deadlines. - They try to keep you on for another project. - Cool events.

    Cons

    - Very low pay compared to other studios. They tend to hire new people so they can pay them less. - I've seen many of my friends taken advantage of and asked to do tasks above their paygrade/position, but not get the promotion/pay bump. - Poor upper management planning and tendency to give irrelevant notes. None of the execs have creative backgrounds and it does ruin the show. - No risk taking - shows come out pretty... bad. - Not enough development/smart planning time to make a show successful. - It's a constant repetitive grind with inflexible deadlines. - Budgets are very tight.

    DreamWorks Animation2020-04-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "3D Modeler"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Modeler in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The collaborative culture of the modeling department here is really amazing and creates a joyful and nurturing work environment. The talent of the team is also world class. DreamWorks studio culture overall is phenomenal and unparalleled. Artistic development and training programs are much appreciated. Work/life balance is fantastic.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility. Studio perks seem to be trending downwards under NBCU leadership

    Continue reading
    DreamWorks Animation2020-02-20
Found 434 reviews