Duluth Trading Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Duluth Trading Company Reviews

Updated 20 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Duluth Trading Company CEO Stephanie Pugliese
Stephanie Pugliese
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good employee discount, fun environment, excellent communication and awesome bosses(in 8 reviews)

  • "Flexibility on schedule to maintain a healthy work life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor management, no more than 12 hours per week part time(in 4 reviews)

  • "Pay is lower that the competition, management is unprofessional, some are rude, some play favorites and not very good leaders or teachers(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Scan items and put them into the required boxes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Picker in Belleville, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to do, not a lot of people like it, but I don’t.

    Cons

    You have to wait for more boxes to come, to be able to pick.

    Advice to Management

    You should’ve had more people help.

    Duluth Trading Company2019-07-03

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    July 5, 2019HR Assistant

    We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback. We will take your advice and use it as a guide for company improvement.

  2. "Men = 1% of workers: Women = 99% of workers. This is to your disadvantage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Picker/Packer in Belleville, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work. Good on the job training.

    Cons

    No matter how nice you are, you will offend someone. You could be a deaf/mute male and still offend someone. Men are the minority and you will lose every argument or stance you need to voice. If one complaint occurs, it will never stop, just quit or don’t take the job at all. The pay is very low, lower than Walmart.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t believe everything you hear. If someone complains, don’t embarrass the person and confront them in front of their peers. Complaints should be handled by HR and not whomever is around. Don’t start reprimanding someone about other topics unless you have the burden of proof. Otherwise you’re looking to be sued. If you have a good worker who likes working there and they quit because of pressure from gender discrimination,...

    Show More
    Duluth Trading Company2019-07-17
  3. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company full-time

    Pros

    Loved my time here at Duluth!

    Cons

    Not enough upward movement in management

    Duluth Trading Company2019-07-02

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    July 5, 2019HR Assistant

    We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback on Duluth Trading. One of our core values is that we strive for growth, both personally and collectively, and we will utilize your feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve the employee experience. We are glad ...

    Show More
  4. "Some good, some bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Duluth Trading Company full-time

    Pros

    Benefits like most companies. Employee discount on clothes. A lot of autonomy at work.

    Cons

    Same issue with a lot of retail, understaffed, and feel like you can't get your job done. As the middle manager, you become the sales associate.

    Advice to Management

    More full-time employees. It would lead to more consistent work, and better service.

    Duluth Trading Company2019-07-01

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    July 5, 2019HR Assistant

    We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback and we will take your advice as a guide for company improvement. We are glad to have you on our team!

  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distribution Manager in Mount Horeb, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing, used to be a good company. Too many people from Lands End came in and only know how to destroy a company. So sad...

    Cons

    The company was once great but too many Lands End losers got into management. Sat good bye to Duluth Trading.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Lands End people who only know how to destroy a company

    Duluth Trading Company2019-07-21
  6. "Great job, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, coworkers, great discount, flexible hours

    Cons

    You have a manager to rely on but it doesn’t seem to matter as other managers micromanage. There’s no manager discretion and it’s chaos.

    Advice to Management

    Quality over quantity should be rethought. Keep poor agents that work to fast and make errors yet let go of the good ones that put customers first and actually listen - sad

    Duluth Trading Company2019-06-15

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    June 18, 2019HR Assistant

    We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback. We will take your advice and use it as a guide for company improvement.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People you work with. Employee discount.

    Cons

    Poor management, no more than 12 hours per week part time. Most of the leads hang around talking with each other, a few work really hard or this store would close. New manager is a former lead and will hang around talking with his friends just like before (what a shame). Urinal has been broken for three months and never fixed even with repeated tickets. Part time employees have to clean bathrooms (people can be really...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Top level company managers do not care. Even when approached about conditions they blow it off. Not a company with a future in our town. I give them two more years tops. Sales are sluggish. No investment in the community. Maybe they should run the store with only full time employees. They can’t find anyone to willingly work evenings-they ran them all off. At least 4 more people left after I did.

    Duluth Trading Company2019-05-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Growing, great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, decent pay, work from home, great discounts

    Cons

    No social outlet, easy to lose identity in a large company. When DTC went public with stock options, they didn't offer any to CSR's, we didn't get a chance to buy in through the company at all. It didn't make me feel like I was part of the team anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Quit pushing time, it stresses out the CSR's - Customers don't like to feel rushed.

    Duluth Trading Company2019-05-05

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    May 6, 2019HR Assistant

    We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback. We will take your advice and use it as a guide for company improvement.

  9. "Great People, Opportunities to Advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Clerk in Mount Horeb, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duluth Trading Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment well maintaining a professional feel. Flexibility on schedule to maintain a healthy work life balance. Plenty of opportunities to advance your career once you get a foot in the door. Focused on growth for the company as well as individuals.

    Cons

    Salaries are on the low to average side. The operating system is not as advanced as it could be, lots of paper exchanging hands.

    Duluth Trading Company2019-04-11

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    April 12, 2019HR Assistant

    We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoy the overall work environment at Duluth!

  10. "Great store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Noblesville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent managers and friendly associates.

    Cons

    No negatives about this store.

    Duluth Trading Company2019-04-11

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    April 12, 2019HR Assistant

    We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoy the overall work environment at Duluth!

Found 81 reviews