Dunelm Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dunelm Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 667 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Dunelm CEO Nick Wilkinson
Nick Wilkinson
203 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team to work for, Good pay great benefits(in 22 reviews)

  • "great management, helpful work colleagues, fabulous store with lovely products & staff discount & smart uniform(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours but manageable heavy lifting but good exercise(in 17 reviews)

  • "No cons fantastic place of work(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Never looked back! Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Dartford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunelm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At dunelm you are most certainly not a 'number' you are a person who will end up becoming a member of the dunelm family with plenty of opportunities and encouragement to progress further in your career with Dunelm. Once you start you won't want to leave. Most definelty without a doubt the best company I've worked for!

    Cons

    There are no cons in my opinion.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on doing what you are doing.

    Dunelm2019-04-10
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales TeamLeader in Workington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunelm part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great staff benefits. Decent wages for shops. Extra days off for birthday, moving house, kids first day at school. Able to to buy extra hols if needed

    Cons

    Extra hols not always guaranteed, due to availability. Expect a lot from.their team leaders

    Advice to Management

    They do pay a great rate for team leaders although we are expected to do the same job as the managers. They do tend to throw £10 an hr down your throat a lot. Some managers and area managers can be very defensive. I think this is due to there passion towards the company. However sometimes they need to look from the colleagues perspective sometimes

    Dunelm2019-04-09
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dunelm part-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere in the building

    Cons

    Lack of help supplied to staff

    Advice to Management

    Help

    Dunelm2019-04-09
  4. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunelm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Internal promotions Training Supporting colleagues Rewards and benefits to colleagues is great

    Cons

    Quite heavy work load at times Communication

    Dunelm2019-04-08
  5. "decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Kettering, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dunelm part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good fun, nice people mostly

    Cons

    hard work and pay is average

    Dunelm2019-04-04
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunelm

    Pros

    Been with the company many years now and enjoy it! Challenging but rewarding.

    Cons

    No cons, enjoy working here

    Dunelm2019-04-01
  7. "Great career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery in Canterbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunelm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great career opportunities if you’re willing to work hard. Family atmosphere. Amazing colleagues. Lovely benefits.

    Cons

    Training and coaching could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Invest time in colleagues early on will reap benefits in the long term.

    Dunelm2019-03-30
  8. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dunelm full-time

    Pros

    People I worked with

    Cons

    No opportunity long hours little pay

    Advice to Management

    Do some work yourself

    Dunelm2019-04-08
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunelm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced. Dunelm does not just sit back. Something changes everyday and i love that. It's the little things, like getting 5 minutes chat with your chief executives to really make you feel more that just a number and that you matter. I have free reign to be creative with my store displays to get the best out of the store to take money I love my job and enjoy it mostly everyday Birthday day off Charity day off...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lot of task to be done in one week. And it can be quite hard at this time of the year due to holidays

    Advice to Management

    Just had new management and it's going well so far

    Dunelm2019-03-22
  10. "Working a dunelm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Boston, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunelm full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunity for development and progression. Everyone I've met from store though to area management are really welcoming happy and inspiring people who are passionate about what they do. Lots of training and support is given to help in jobs role. Company has good values a clear focused strategy for the future.

    Cons

    Colleagues may end up working a lot of hours over contracted hours which is good for some but not others due to personal commitments.

    Advice to Management

    Agreements on flexible contracts. Online scheduling and overtime which would also be easyer for colleagues to access from home and helps communicate to colleagues whom may not be in store for periods of time any changes or overtime opportunities.which also helps will equal opportunitys in work place.

    Dunelm2019-03-23
Found 667 reviews