Dunelm Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,180 of over 1K reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Dunelm CEO Nick Wilkinson
Nick Wilkinson
491 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and very friendly staff(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great management and colleagues, staff discount(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Even though Rotas are available a week in advance they are not consistent so planning things before & after work can be a problem(in 36 reviews)

  • "Long hours Can be difficult over holiday periods(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Brilliant Role and Company!

      27 May 2021 - Customer Service Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly working environment Working from home

      Cons

      Sometimes slightly repetitive work Short lunch break

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It cannot be better!

      11 Mar 2021 - Customer Service Advisor in Grimsby, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've started working with Dunelm at the beginning of February 21' so one year after pandemic started. As we're all working remotely, all recruitment process had to be done over phones only. There was a little lack of communication after my successful interview but finally everything was sorted! Training provided by Dunelm is one of the best trainings I've ever had, no kidding - I've worked in couple places over last 5 years. Everything is clearly stated, you have all support provided, everyone there is ready to help you straightaway! I can't be more thankful for the opportunity to work for this company. After 3 weeks of working with Dunelm, my health decided to make some hassle around and I ended up in a hospital. What can happen if you're a new employee who's not working with company even for a month? You're getting sacked at the same moment when you'd tell the company what's going on. But not with Dunelm! They didn't even thought about sacking me, I'll tell your more! They said there's nothing to worry about and I have to look after myself as my position is secured. When I got back home from hospital, I was really anxious about what's gonna happen. Chloe, Jenny and Lewis made an offer for me so I could back to work without putting additional risk to my health. THANK YOU. THANK YOU AND ONE MORE TIME: THANK YOU. I can't say how thankful I am, I have no words to describe it either in my mother language or in English. Dunelm is simply the best!

      Cons

      There's nothing wrong so far.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Love the people I work with

      8 May 2021 - Key Colleague 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      15% discount, 30% once a year. I enjoy working with most of my colleagues, we are a great team when we all pull our weight, its the reason I stay. Flexible shifts. Great managers, always ready to listen to any problems outside of work.

      Cons

      Collection of email addresses at the til, points card would provide a lot more data analysis and people would make more trips if they were getting something back, along the lines of nectar, or tesco clubcard. Not enough staff, colleagues refusing to be till trained or just refusing to help when theres a queue. Being ignored over headsets when I have customers waiting. Not enough hhts. No bonuses, no extra money for working bank holidays or anything. Low pay, get more at supermarkets and McDonalds!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not for slackers

      11 Mar 2021 - Store Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic "family feel" from management and colleagues. Coming from a job where management went approachable at all, the open door policy here is fantastic, any issues are passed over straight away, and dealt with this helps keep a happy team, a happy team are a productive team, and that's what we are. Theres Great rates of pay. Fantastic opportunities to progress up the career ladder. Very fast paced job that keeps you on your toes constantly, so if your looking for an easy job Dunelm isn't it. Be prepared to work hard and fast, shifts fly over, I never find myself looking at the clock or counting down hours till home time, you simply don't have time to think about it 😂 I love the busyness, I love my team and currently love my job

      Cons

      The only bad thing I could think of, is the constant changes of things, I'm a sucker for routine and knowing where everything is, however Dunelm love to change things around all the time, this could be a pro for others, but for me it's the least I like about it. But i will say I'm only 6 months in, so totally have time to adjust to this

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't touch them with a barge pole

      9 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I literally have no idea as I only last a very short time.

      Cons

      They seem to have extremely high standards which unfortunately match with me and I was terminated after an extremely short period. First and only time in my life I've ever been fired and I'm glad it happened because I wouldn't have wanted to carry on there knowing how stringent they are about trivial things. Management also offered to help me with a good reference as they claimed to not want to have to let me go, once I was out the door never heard from them again. Similar to other reviews, I would have to agree with others and from my experience say that the place is full of liars.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Stressful

      21 Jun 2021 - Retail Assistant in Gateshead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good wage Some colleagues are very friendly Good discounts

      Cons

      Little to no training in person, most is online with multiple choice questions that you don’t get to practice with while on the job Constantly changing rota at last minute No consistent hours Customers can be demanding Seem short staffed majority of the time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Both pros and cons

      17 Jun 2021 - Retail Sales Assistant in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good rate of pay Overtime available upon request

      Cons

      Low contracts Last minute shift changes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I love this job pre covid-19

      12 Jun 2021 - Host in Worcester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with some lovely friendly people, great customers

      Cons

      Inconsistent hours, worst holiday system, poor rota system...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for

      14 Jun 2021 - Project Manager in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People support culture . .

      Cons

      . . . . .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Enjoyable place to Work

      26 May 2021 - Shop Assistant in Eastbourne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly work staff. Management very understanding and friendly too. No repetitive work and management give you freedom to do different tasks so your not always doing the same task .

      Cons

      15% staff discount. Should be more based on what other retailers give to their staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,180 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Dunelm Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Dunelm? Share Your Experiences

    Dunelm logo
    or