Dunnes Stores "poor management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dunnes Stores Employee Reviews about "poor management"

Updated 26 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Dunnes Stores Managing Director Frank Dunne (no image)
Frank Dunne
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, especially on bank holidays & Sundays(in 64 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours competitive salary friendly management(in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "poor management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunnes Stores part-time

    Pros

    Long breaks Paid weekly and that’s about it

    Cons

    Poor management they are always rude to staff and expect too much from us Literally cannot get booked off Didn’t get 1 Sunday off a month like it states I’m entitled to on my contract Long hours

    Continue reading
    Dunnes Stores2018-03-05
  2. "Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Dunnes Stores

    Pros

    Long breaks, but that's about it.

    Cons

    Very poor management. New staff training wasn't good, managers were belittling, and after a 9 hour shift they would still ask you to stay late (unpaid).

    Dunnes Stores2017-10-31
  3. "Could Be Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at Dunnes Stores

    Pros

    Decent starting wage for a retail job, flexible hours to work around your schedule

    Cons

    Poor management, staff mistreatment, no appreciation for work done

    Continue reading
    Dunnes Stores2019-08-26
  4. "Good for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time

    Pros

    If you are a college student flexible around your hours Staff discount Good hourly pay for retail and time and a half on Sundays and Bank Holidays

    Cons

    Constantly understaffed putting huge pressure on staff especially on checkouts Poor management

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-22
  5. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dunnes Stores part-time

    Pros

    The wages are above average

    Cons

    Poor management leads to intense pressure

    Continue reading
    Dunnes Stores2019-07-13
  6. "Just Another Face"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Assistant in Bishopstown
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good. The hiring criteria is lenient.

    Cons

    Poor management (communication etc). The corporate culture is unfriendly.

    Dunnes Stores2019-03-12
  7. "Inequality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great pay with constant pay rises * The company tends to work around staffs availability well

    Cons

    * Poor Management : evident favouritism and instances of bullying I have worked for Dunnes for many years as a part-timer, through school and college education, and I have witnesses many cases of bullying of staff by the Managers, and not only Department Management but STORE MANAGEMENT also, which is absolutely appalling. Management tends to pick and choose who they like and dislike, and base rosters around their preferences. Being part-time I would still manage to "max out my hours for the week" while other part-time staff was scraping by with the minimum 15 hours a week. Nobody listens to you -It's as if Dunnes Stores is expected to be your number one priority in life and you don't have a life outside of it. Management texts or calls you the day prior or day of your shift expecting you to come in for extra hours and if you refuse due to late notice you are bound to be getting minimum hours for the rest of your time there. Some management's way of managing the stores is outrageous: this discourages staff from actually caring and leads to the store going downhill. It may look like some management is doing well/improving a store due to increasing figures, but what is not seen is how they treat their employees, but nobody cares once the figures are good.

    Continue reading
    Dunnes Stores2019-01-29
  8. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GREAT TEAM CULTURE, YOUNG PEOPLE, GOOD STARTING RATE, LENIENT ON HOLIDAYS

    Cons

    Poor Management. No standardisation of management and how they treat staff and each other.

    Continue reading
    Dunnes Stores2018-10-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Store room assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and good working hours if you worked well.

    Cons

    poor management no matter how you do.

    Continue reading
    Dunnes Stores2018-05-09
  10. "Deli Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Assistant in Louth
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy employer. Many hours available, 35+ a week. Ability to be fully HACCP trained.

    Cons

    Very little room for progressing up career ladder, repetitive days. Unfriendly work atmosphere, poor management. Dark culture.

    Continue reading
    Dunnes Stores2017-08-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews