E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 10 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
558 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance with many resources available(in 95 reviews)

  • "Great people and products (extensive portfolio) with a strong consumer focus(in 60 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Channel Sales Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, great brands & fun place to work

    Cons

    i can't think of any

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-05-20
  2. "A leading family owned company in the wine industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leading company in the wine industry Great campus in the US Program to grow and elevate people Family atmosphere, strong values

    Cons

    The big campus is in the US, the rest of the world has small teams and quite a flat hierarchy which means less opportunity to progress. They also don't have as many benefits.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Friendly colleagues, Leadership very approachable and supportive, Environment is great, Bonuses, Career opportunities (US), Health insurance, Development support

    Cons

    Holidays and parental leave could be better (is the standard for an American company), Career Opportunities (outside the US, due to the size of the office)

    Advice to Management

    360 feedback at all levels of the company (once a year) Frequent training to all managerial roles to improve 1:1 meetings (at least twice a year) Support from HR to managerial roles with high rotation of personnel Open forum with the leadership to discuss any concerns, opinions to improve/maintain a good work environment (once a year). All employees could send live questions (or prior the forum) and all of... the different offices of E&J Gallo could be connected remotely. This way everyone has the opportunity to address their opinions directly to the leadership (e.g. United Technologies does this every year).

    Show More
    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-05-22
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery

    Pros

    Great perks Friendly team Diverse team Good for CV

    Cons

    Conservative Lower than average salary PC no Macs Office not downtown

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-11-22
  5. "Good company, but some management a little old fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + annual family event + you do get some freebies!!

    Cons

    - not very forward thinking at times

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-05-10
  6. "Started recently at Gallo and really enjoying it. A great place to come to work every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From my first interview I was made to feel so at ease. Such a nice atmosphere. It really is like a family! A really supportive environment. I've never felt like I couldn't approach someone with a question, which is so important for a new starter. Would definately recommend this as a great place to come to work everyday.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of. Location and role are ideal for me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-15
  7. "Fantastic forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very inclusive company Lots of perks (Company Car, subsidised, Gym Membership and Generous pension) Good Employee loyalty with all the staff Very Supportive further Education and family time If you work hard you will be rewarded Very progressive thinking and lots of new ideas Flexible working environment No need for suits-smart casual working attire

    Cons

    It is a large company. Due to strong employee loyalty, naturally their's not much movement on current roles. Only new created roles. Head Office is in not central London

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking after your staff it's working.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-12
  8. "Great company, amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International UK Office in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    One the best things about working at Gallo is the great culture and what really makes it a special place to work is the people. This company has a true 'family' feel.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons at this time.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-12
  9. "E&J Gallo EMEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fine Wine National Account Manager - Off Trade in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A family company with a real family feel to it Super friendly people who all have a real passion for wine and the company (many of whom have worked for Gallo for 15-20 years which speaks for itself). A very professional company with some exciting plans ahead for the future Lots of NPD always released - constantly looking ahead Seem to really look after their staff well and are well awarded

    Cons

    Location wise it isn't in the middle of London so not the easiest to get to if coming via train for example

    Advice to Management

    Don't change anything!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    a lot of free lunch/trips

    Cons

    similar to other reviews - preference for long term staff to be placed in key positions. No real support to help development. No meaningful goals in place. poor structure

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-03-21
Found 801 reviews