E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
582 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Channel Sales Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, great brands & fun place to work

    Cons

    i can't think of any

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-05-20

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 22, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and all you do!

  2. "A leading family owned company in the wine industry"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leading company in the wine industry Great campus in the US Program to grow and elevate people Family atmosphere, strong values

    Cons

    The big campus is in the US, the rest of the world has small teams and quite a flat hierarchy which means less opportunity to progress. They also don't have as many benefits.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 21, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We will be sharing your feedback with our Sr. Leadership teams, but if you would like to discuss your concerns directly, you can contact us confidentially via feedback@ejgallo.com.

  3. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Friendly colleagues, Leadership very approachable and supportive, Environment is great, Bonuses, Career opportunities (US), Health insurance, Development support

    Cons

    Holidays and parental leave could be better (is the standard for an American company), Career Opportunities (outside the US, due to the size of the office)

    Continue reading
    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-05-22

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you very much for your Glassdoor post. We appreciate you taking the time to give us valuable feedback. All our EMEA employees are invited to attend quarterly business update meetings which are hosted by our VP, General Manager, EMEA. If you would like to submit questions in advance of the meeting we will make sure we remind employees to do so when we issue the invitation in July. The other items you identified would be ideal to review with you individually, so please do reach out so we can discuss this in greater detail and fully understand your recommendation. We look forward to hearing from you! Best Regards, Sharon Wigglesworth Sr. Director, Human Resources

  4. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery

    Pros

    Great perks Friendly team Diverse team Good for CV

    Cons

    Conservative Lower than average salary PC no Macs Office not downtown

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-11-22

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    November 26, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review, we appreciate it!

  5. "Good company, but some management a little old fashioned"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + annual family event + you do get some freebies!!

    Cons

    - not very forward thinking at times

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-05-10

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 11, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    We appreciate both your review and your feedback and we wish you the very best in your future career endeavors. Cheers!

  6. "Started recently at Gallo and really enjoying it. A great place to come to work every day."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From my first interview I was made to feel so at ease. Such a nice atmosphere. It really is like a family! A really supportive environment. I've never felt like I couldn't approach someone with a question, which is so important for a new starter. Would definately recommend this as a great place to come to work everyday.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of. Location and role are ideal for me.

    Continue reading
    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-15

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 17, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you are enjoying your new role and office! Please continue to check in with us, we're listening. Welcome to the Gallo Family!

  7. "Fantastic forward thinking company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very inclusive company Lots of perks (Company Car, subsidised, Gym Membership and Generous pension) Good Employee loyalty with all the staff Very Supportive further Education and family time If you work hard you will be rewarded Very progressive thinking and lots of new ideas Flexible working environment No need for suits-smart casual working attire

    Cons

    It is a large company. Due to strong employee loyalty, naturally their's not much movement on current roles. Only new created roles. Head Office is in not central London

    Continue reading
    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 12, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your thoughtful feedback. We want to make sure that you feel like there are plentiful opportunities to grow your career, so if you have any concerns, we recommend that you reach out to you HR Leader or confidentially via feedback@ejgallo.com. Thanks again and we are so thankful to have you as part of the Gallo family!

  8. "Great company, amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International UK Office in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    One the best things about working at Gallo is the great culture and what really makes it a special place to work is the people. This company has a true 'family' feel.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons at this time.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 12, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We truly appreciate all that you do to make Gallo such a special place to work. Cheers!

  9. "E&J Gallo EMEA"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fine Wine National Account Manager - Off Trade in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A family company with a real family feel to it Super friendly people who all have a real passion for wine and the company (many of whom have worked for Gallo for 15-20 years which speaks for itself). A very professional company with some exciting plans ahead for the future Lots of NPD always released - constantly looking ahead Seem to really look after their staff well and are well awarded

    Cons

    Location wise it isn't in the middle of London so not the easiest to get to if coming via train for example

    Continue reading
    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 13, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    We were thrilled to read your review! Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience and we appreciate all that you do to make our UK office so special. Cheers to you!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    a lot of free lunch/trips

    Cons

    similar to other reviews - preference for long term staff to be placed in key positions. No real support to help development. No meaningful goals in place. poor structure

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-03-21

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    March 22, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you had a less than favorable experience with Gallo. We pride ourselves on providing development opportunities for employees and appreciate your detailed feedback. All the best to you in your future career endeavors.

Found 843 reviews