E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 5 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery President and CEO Ernest Gallo (no image)
Ernest Gallo
61 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    a lot of free lunch/trips

    Cons

    similar to other reviews - preference for long term staff to be placed in key positions. No real support to help development. No meaningful goals in place. poor structure

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    March 22, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you had a less than favorable experience with Gallo. We pride ourselves on providing development opportunities for employees and appreciate your detailed feedback. All the best to you in your future career endeavors.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "E&J Gallo 1 year"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere and generous treatment of employees like lots of team lunches, days out

    Cons

    Preference for long term staff to be moved into key positions

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 23, 2017Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your team/work environment! Employee development is critical to our success and we work hard to put the right people in the right places. We appreciate your suggestion as it relates to our Career Development process. If you would like to discuss this in greater detail, please contact us at feedback@ejgallo.com. Cheers!


  3. "Best Place to Work in the Central Valley"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Constant employee learning opportunities and trainings, quick advancement, great employee benefits, strong culture, friendly and helpful coworkers. Gallo is a family-owned company that truly makes everyone feel like they are part of the family.

    Cons

    None, I'm an extremely happy employee

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 6, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear you are happy. Thanks for all you do!

  4. "The Best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Engagement in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, diversity, family owned and the endless opportunities.

    Cons

    A bit difficult to understand what department or job functionalities entail when looking for opportunity to grow.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We're so happy to hear it. Thanks for sharing!

  5. "Gallo is a great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, leadership cares about employees, mission for innovation

    Cons

    Although the main campus is amazing, Modesto is not the greatest location

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Cheers!

  6. "Really great company with fantastic values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Country Manager Ireland in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Empowerment, Inclusion, Respect & Fun

    Cons

    It is a big Company

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Hello from across the pond! Thanks so much for your feedback. Cheers!

  7. "Work hard play hard!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fun, family owned company to work for. It is always clear that even the highest level corporate managers at the company truly care for their employees. Gallo has a fun, family culture and the importance they place on the well-being of their employees never goes unnoticed. They offer stellar training programs to develop employee skills and have great opportunity for growth and career advancement.

    Cons

    Slightly less competitive pay at entry level.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all you do! Cheers!

  8. "Great Family-Owned Organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly a people-first organization Demonstrated commitment to work-life balance Excellent values-driven culture Opportunities for growth and career development Highly secure company and industry

    Cons

    Change is not rapid and takes levels of buy-in

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for all you do!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High paced environment that provides opportunities for professional growth. Flexibility given to assist with worklife balance. Great team environment. They care about their employees.

    Cons

    This is not a con but more of a statement. Your career has to be driven my you just like other companies. Have to be proactive, network, and build a team that will assist you in your career development.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Please be on the lookout for our 2020 (and beyond) D&I Initiatives and keep your feedback coming. Cheers to you!

  10. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Committed to Growth Strong and Consistent Corporate Values Feels Like Family Open to New Ideas

    Cons

    Need expanded work from home options after COVID

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate all of your hard work and dedication. Cheers to you!

Found 919 reviews