EAT "head office" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EAT Employee Reviews about "head office"

Updated 15 Feb 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
EAT CEO Andrew Walker (no image)
Andrew Walker
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bonus of free food and constant work(in 22 reviews)

  • "Free lunch and coffee, possibility to be promoted(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "They expect very high standards and work even on minimum wage(in 16 reviews)

  • "Marketing is poorly communicated from head office to team members(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "head office"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Could be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Host/Team Member in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EAT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff meal on shift of £6, however as the in store price goes up, the staff meal value doesn't. Free coffee on shift, which is great because the coffee is delicious. Fantastic friendly team.

    Cons

    Marketing is poorly communicated from head office to team members. Senior management make no effort to speak to team members and are not approachable or friendly. They expect very high standards and work even on minimum wage. Website/career portal discusses 'great career opportunities' even though no one has been sent on a training programme in the past 12 months in my store. Constantly changing branding/food items to keep up with pret/starbucks etc. Instead of actually communicating to customers what they enjoy etc. Prices/sizes/recipes change allll the time. The stores in Scotland do not look as modern or fresh as the stores in England, they look a bit outdated. Always complaining about waste being high, but then not having enough variety. Which is paradoxical.

    Continue reading
    EAT2018-01-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EAT full-time

    Pros

    If you are lucky enough to have a competent Gm and a good Ops manager you can actually make the most of this experience and get some management training. But this is extremely rare.

    Cons

    Just Minimum wage for team members and very difficult to get bonus, despite hard work especially in the busiest shops. salary for managers under expectations, unless you are external. Shops Always understaff, managers end up working as team members because of high turn over and hours allowance disconnected from reality. Some People from head office are so incompetent they wouldn’t even be helpful as team members.

    Continue reading
    EAT2018-02-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "modern day slavery if you want to work at eat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EAT full-time

    Pros

    work with great people instore. free lunch

    Cons

    not good pay. long hours no gratitude from senior management head office. always complaining. have to work a lot for poor pay.

    Continue reading
    EAT2017-11-01
  4. "Customer host that runs the shop!!?!?!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Host in Clapham, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EAT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None I can think of.

    Cons

    Bullying. Seen 5 starters come and go, most left in tears. supervisor shortage so they push you to run the evening shifts with no training and on minimum wage. Basically it's a full time constant cleaning job with pressure coming from head office onto the store manager who then takes it out on his staff. Lastly, they try to screw u out of money by working late and 'forgetting' to add it to your time sheet. Ridiculous low shop budgets. Don't work for them.... soul destroying.

    Continue reading
    EAT2017-09-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Host in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EAT full-time

    Pros

    No pros whatsoever. Employees are treated like rubbish

    Cons

    Bullying culture coming from the head office. Ridiculous expectations (trying to make profit without investing and without staff).

    Continue reading
    EAT2017-04-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bullying culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EAT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no pros to working for EAT. if you are considering applying here I would advise you don't.

    Cons

    They are now just trying to copy pret completely. All the new head office management are from pret. They are unfairly sacking people so they can bring their friends from pret. They told all shops to hire more people 6 months ago now they are demanding managers start to get rid of people because they want to cut the wages bill. Same story with waste targets. There is a horrible bullying culture starting to run through the company which starts from the top. They want everyone to work like machines for minimum wage. So I'm summary if you want a job where you are expected to do the work of three people and get paid the legal minimum whilst getting treated like rubbish and then potentially sacked for no reason, then EAT is the place for you. Don't put yourself through it guys there is plenty of companies out there that provide better jobs than with these jokers.

    Continue reading
    EAT2017-03-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Host in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EAT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in working shifts. Lots of free food at the end of the day. The meal allowance allows you to get free lunch during your shift, however read more about this in the cons.

    Cons

    No one cares about you, even if you get that impression, forget it! Especially people in charge like head office. Break unpaid. £6 allowance guarantees you a sandwich if you're lucky because the prices are expensive. They hire EVERYONE and I mean everyone. You don't speak English? Fine with us! You don't seem to smile or be interested in anything? Fine with us! They promote a lot and it might seem like a good thing but it's not, because sometimes you find a manager that knows less than you and is not able to be a manager. No way of getting a bonus! Only if your shop earns a lot of money and they like, and that surely doesn't depend on you.

    Continue reading
    EAT2016-05-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "glorified cleaner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EAT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    paid breaks/£6 food allowancper day (will stop shortly}free coffee/tea(for now)

    Cons

    un reachable bonus scheme,poor training,weak management,poor recruitment system,no trust/support from managers and head office.,

    Continue reading
    EAT2016-02-08
  9. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at EAT full-time

    Pros

    £6 worth of quality food for lunch, £2 breakfast if you start before 6.30, benefit website allowing you to get discounts ( to be launched mid November)

    Cons

    I have started working for EAT about 10 months ago as GM, and I was really excited. My 4 weeks training was not great, I had loads of gaps they showed up once I started to run my own shop. I have learned everything pretty much as soon as I went to my own branch. Now I have decided to leave company, for numerous reasons. Communication between head office and management is really poor. Head office only care about making profits, they don't care about employees. Every day job gets harder, as expectations raise. Once you have a leaver, you need to prepare yourself for 2- 3 weeks of being understaffed as nobody in company has CH to help you, and recruitment team takes long time to fill vacancies and if they finally manage, there always will be a problem so either they will tell to new starter wrong time for 1st shift or new starter does not have bank details, and they will blame you as someone who did wrong, because they expect you to check. But reasonably, people arriving in London from foreign countries will tell you everything you'd like to hear because they need a job, they need money... They have not increased managers pay this year and they were the only one company to do so, and as a reason as mentioned above - to secure profits. Loads of pressure on SSRs. They want to open new shops and expand but they don't look after shops they already have. Long hours, loads of tasks to complete, hard to keep new starters as nobody wants to work soooo hard for 6.90 while they can go to Costa, Morrisons or Starbucks who already raise pay to £8 ph in London and job is much easier and not so demanding.

    Continue reading
    EAT2015-10-30
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Inadequate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EAT full-time

    Pros

    Free meals (but see later). Possibilities of carreer progression (dependent on shop, manager, and luck). Altough, being a manager can be very tough, with no help from the company, so I'm not sure if this counts as 'pro'.

    Cons

    I have worked many years with the company. The job was hard, and not for everybody, but that was to be expected. What isn't, is that the company wasn't helping its people at all - in fact, made it harder for them to do their job. There are scarsely enough people at the shops (and it was getting worse-and-worse during my employement), yet the expectations from the staff are higher and higher. I've spent countless hours working for free: if I had to open the shop, and I wanted to do it on time, I had to get there half an hour earlier. When I have closed the shop, it took at least half an hour extra to the things which were minimally required. We could not even have dreamt about having some extra time to do deep cleaning, or to tidy up with paperwork. While the management smiled in our faces, they have actually treated us as we were totally incompetent: they have micromanaged every little aspect of how we do our job, and acted as it was our laziness that we could not cope with the amount of work that has to be done. Also, because we cannot use our common sense but had to listen of how we should run the shop, our job was much harder (of course we could not afford to listen to them in everything, if we do everything as they wanted us to do, that would have been a disaster). Simply there isn't enough people and time to do things by the book, we had to cut corners if wanted to keep up with the peace. And it's not like that if I was slow: all my colleagues, during all those years, have faced the same problems. When I have joined, there were separate positions for team member, barista, kitchen leader etc. My manager didn't even let me on the coffee machine in the first two weeks. Now, every newcomer is required to do a lot more from the beginning. There is even a position called shift runner, when the person have to act as the shop manager, when the real one is not here (and that is not for extreme cases, but on a regular, every day basis, unless the manager is willing work from dusk till dawn). This shift runner position gives a slight increase in pay for those hours when the person is the acting manager. The trick is, anyone can be a shift runner, almost straight from the street, after a two session training and the test. This not only sounds chaotic, but it is: to be an effective store manager, people need valuble experience, which they can gain in years. Putting junior people into these positions seems like a desperate attempt from the company to cut costs. There are shops that are without a manager for months, and being run by baristas, floor managers, shift runners, people, who don't get recongnition for their effort - it is expected from them. The area managers can see, what is going on, but they don't / not allowed to do anything about it. In fact, they don't want to report that things in their area are not going good, because the company doesn't like those who dare to open their mouth about what is happening. Also, why expecting us to do all our job, they don't help us at all. I have heard about a shop, where on langer out of the two was not working and have not been serviced for over a week! Temperature was a yearly issue in the summer, as the air conditioning unit would have to replaced. Every summer, when we started complaining about temperatures over 30-35 degrees Celsius (even more in kitchen), the company was stalling for time until the summer was over. Finally, after many years, it have been replaced. I was taking it more-or-less allright, but my colleagues were not good with high temperatures. On occassion we asked our area manager if we can put a standing fan from Argos, to help us out on the tills during lunchtime. Our request was denied, citing that the fan did not fit into the shops image. Of course, our area manager did not have to work his back off every day in that heat. During the years I have also seen, how things were taken away (altough this happens everywhere): first, full time people were contracted 40 hours, that went down to 35 (they still work 40, or even more hours, but when they go on holiday, they will only get payed for their contracted hours). First we had access to food, iced drinks, now even the battled water has been taken away (yes, we were asked to pay for battled water if did not wanted to drink from the tap). It wasn't better for the shop managers, either: my manager had to cancel her holiday multiple times, because the company refused to give us more people to help out, citing that our budget won't allow it. That is another point: when I've started, people got bonus based on a mistery shopper programme. Every shop had equal chance, we just had to be nice to customers. Simple. Then, they took it away for at least a year, and later re-introduced another programme: a given shop had to beat it's target budget by 5%, so that people can get bonus. My shop was unable to even reach the budget because of the incresed competition around us, and because, with less and less people to serve customers, nobody wanted to stand in long queues and have chosen the competition instead (which made matters progressively worse). So, despite working hard, I haven't had any bonus for years. The screening process for new applicants is also inadequate. Shop managers cannot choose, who ever they want to work with, instead they will get who ever has been sent from the head office. The screening process focuses on how cool and relaxed people look, and not on how sincere or hardworking they will be. Because of this, I have seen many new candidates who should never have been allowed to work with us, and I'm sure that many people who would have been a great help have been declined, just because they were not so chatty and not having a big mouth. Also, the company employs many store managers who are treating their staff very bad, and unless they do something extreme, there is now way they will be removed. Since the company rewards those managers who make the numbers, some managers are willing to go very far, and make their people suffer (but, I'm sure that this happens with other companies, too). One time we had to go to the head office for some sort of training. They told us that 'Now you can finally tell us how to do things better, we listen to your opinion!". What they did was, they have given us a paper where we had to do give at least 5 reasons of what is essential to be a customer host. Now, this is how much they care about our opinion, and how ridiculous can they be, instead of helping us by giving us more people to work with. Well, they treat as very nicely, but they also turn their backs on us. And also, we are expected to be happy all time, regardless of what is happening. People who dare to complain about their daily struggles, are unpopular ,and if they happen to be shop managers,they can expect lots of nagging from management and area managers. Also, managerial positions are quite shaky: since most managers don't have the resources to do everything by the book, random inspections can turn out to be very bad for them, and after a couple for those, the company has every right to get rid of them. So most people just force their biggest smile when they have to deal with their superiors - they not going to get help anyway. Things have turned noticably worse after the owners decided to sell the company out for investors. There are countless many things, which I'm not going put here. Also, for fairness, I have to say, that not all shops are the same. In some shops, its better, in some places, it might be even worse. The places I have worked, it was bad. Every collague, who left my shop, felt relieved once they have stopped working for EAT, including me. I have seen countless people come and go, but literally there is not single person whom I know and has any fond memories of the time spent there. I would say that every day I have spent there, was a struggle. I guess that says it all.

    Continue reading
    EAT2015-09-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews
</>Embed