EBSCO Industries Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EBSCO Industries Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
EBSCO Industries Chief Executive Officer David Walker
David Walker
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Terrible upper management who find new ways to cancel annual raises every year(in 8 reviews)

  • "Favoritism, micromanagement based on personality clashes, no upper advancement opportunities(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "profit share is not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    flexible working hours, lots of training

    Cons

    Pay is not great. Profit share isn't a lot

    EBSCO Industries2018-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, corporate culture, perks

    Cons

    It’s a long way from downtown

    Advice to Management

    None

    EBSCO Industries2019-11-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company. Great Leaders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    EBSCO Industries is a great company with leaders who care for the team members. They want to see EBSCO, it's divisions, and it's people succeed. The benefits provided exceed those offered at other companies.

    Cons

    The location is not ideal for some, but the campus is beautiful and several amenities (health clinic, gym, café, walking trails, etc.) are provided to make things easier for team members.

    EBSCO Industries2019-10-14
  4. "Left as things went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Breaks and lunch were flexible

    Cons

    Had great insurance, then started to go downhill force less coverage for higher rates. Just one example of the QOL for employees being taken away as I left

    EBSCO Industries2019-10-09
  5. Helpful (5)

    "You do not want to work for this company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer/Sales Support in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    HQ campus is amazing and beautiful. Onsite medical clinic, cafeteria and gym. Great benefits

    Cons

    No job security!! I was laid off in 2016 from the EPPG division because of “low sales numbers” my job and three others jobs were “eliminated” I did get to transfer to the Grandview media division TWO MONTHS later! And in 2017 EBSCO sold that division to other publishing companies due to “low sales numbers” I transferred again to the EBSCO Information Services division where I thought surely I would be safe in the most profitable division but I was dead wrong!! I was laid off with 7 other people. Laid off AGAIN! Obviously there wasn’t a problem with me or they wouldn’t have kept hiring me. Bottom line if you want to get laid off then this is the company for you. They did value me as an employee obviously but in the end upper management doesn’t care how loyal you have been or how hard you worked for so many years. The company is struggling. Good culture is fading at this company because so many are fearful of losing their jobs. Take my advice and don’t chance it!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why bother they won’t listen

    EBSCO Industries2019-09-22
  6. "They do not care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial in Ipswich, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ipswich campus is beautiful and well located.

    Cons

    Terrible pay - it is not possible to afford housing in the area without a roomate or partner. Terrible upper management who find new ways to cancel annual raises every year.

    EBSCO Industries2019-09-26
  7. "A solid, sleepy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good work life balance. High salary in The Birmingham office. Better than average profit sharing plan.

    Cons

    It's an older, sleepier company. Lot's of unrefined, random software development processes are half baked, and pushed down to lower workers from above.

    Advice to Management

    Please get rid of the wall of employees between engineers and customers. Product Owners, Scrum masters, Managers, they all get in the way of our end goal, helping the customer. Most of the roles should be hybridized with a regular development role, so people don't get so out of touch about what we are actually building for people. We are a software company, not a processes company.

    EBSCO Industries2019-08-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits Bad Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Sales in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at ebsco for over a decade. Love the company and the benefits. Senior Mgmt hired some really bad managers that are very educated but lack life experience and sales experience. Unfortunately, I ended up with a terrible manager that destroyed an entire division.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between senior management and middle management

    Advice to Management

    Talk to sales and sales support teams to gauge health of each division. Don’t rely solely on the senior leadership team

    EBSCO Industries2019-06-27
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, work-life balance and wonderful corporate campus

    Cons

    Big picture strategic business reorgs made for stressful day-to-day and lack of job security

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully management has arrived at an optimal mix of profit centers and divisions that are aligned with long-view corporate goals.

    EBSCO Industries2019-06-26
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great insurance and benefits for employees

    Cons

    Wish I would have started working here at a younger age

    EBSCO Industries2019-06-15
Found 149 reviews