EE Employee Reviews about "ee"

Updated Dec 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 of over 1,114 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
EE CEO Marc Allera
Marc Allera
321 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good commission and good pay as well(in 50 reviews)

  • "Well you get great benefits working with the company(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing EE is a good company to work for(in 62 reviews)

  • "long hours and abuse from customers(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "ee"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Customer adviser

      Oct 22, 2020 - Customer Advisor in Derby, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get really good discount

      Cons

      Nothing EE is a good company to work for

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No good for your wellbeing

      Dec 11, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wages were OK, discount but the best part of the day was home time

      Cons

      It felt like you were literally chained to your desk. Need the toilet ? We'll give you 9 minutes per day for comfort breaks, doesn't seem to matter even if the facilities are a 3 minute walk each way from your desk. Work in customer service and billing? SELL SELL SELL. Don't sell enough? Then there's hell to pay, pulled into meetings told not allowed representation as its you and manager one on one with a note taker? Join the union to fight for your employee rights, no point they are the yes yes people. People don't want to buy anything? Your sales pitches must be wrong or you're not trying hard enough.. how about maybe people just don't want it? Being told you have to be logged on and ready to take calls bang in your start time yet old broken outdated systems took 20-25 minutes to load. You weren't paid for your time when you had to come in early to be ready to take calls and you were also expected to stay past your finish time if a call came the minute you finished, yet was an absolute hassle trying to put overtime hours through, not going to lie I got sick of it and hung up on people if a call came through on my finish time. Long monotonous hours, abuse from customers but if you dared tell them where to go disciplinary for you. A lot of mid to high level management completely up them selves, walked around department with a horrendous arrogance barking at people for having a laugh screaming asking if you are logged on and ready. You can progress If your face fits and your ops manager likes you, regardless of skill. I've seen people who were absolutely useless at the job progress high because they were in the clique. I was generally a good performer hitting band 5 performance targets month in month out for over a year, but have a bad month or a customer is dissatisfied with the company and takes it out on you, you're in for a world of pain. Ops think they a great in their little crew borderline bullying people same with some team leaders bully you but nothing is done about it. Not going to lie I would not work for this company again even if they paid 5k a month, it is a horrendous place and does you absolutely no favours for your mental health or wellbeing. I class myself as quite a strong minded happy person who just gets on with it, but working in an ee contact centre slowly but surely ground me down day in day out until I was miserable, constantly stressed and anxious about going to work. It affected my family life my relationship with my wife and my children, working here generally made me a horrible person purely by the way I was treat and the constant pressure of the job that the wages certainly did not reflect. Again the pressure for sales was crazy even when you worked in the billing department, dealing with all of the complaints. If I wanted to push sales and earn mega bucks in commission I would of applied for the sales team. Ask anyone you know about staff retention and the high turnover of decent people, then ask them how many people they are aware who are off with issues relating to mental health, stress, depression anxiety etc you will be shocked. Horrendous job, horrendous management with bad attitudes long boring mind numbing hours and an awful blame culture. If I knew then what I know now I wouldn't have wasted my time. I get call centre work isn't the best life, but they big up ee so much, it isn't what you're told. They scrutinze everything record your calls record your screens and then use it against you. Have a family emergency ask for lieu hours get told no. Late by 5 minutes OK mate 15 minute up at the end. Car breaks down? Sorry can't give you time offline to get it sorted. Dependency leave? Yeah right.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Boring and calls are routed to certain teams to get high revenue customers/ deals.

      Dec 1, 2020 - Sales and Retentions Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home 75% discount on your own phone

      Cons

      Very little time off the phones to do other jobs. Expected to talk continuously for 12 hours and have short breaks throughout the day! Very strenuous on your throat and vocal chords. Minimal support from management. EE are not competitive enough especially with 3rd party companies. Calls are routed to key agents to get high revenue deals. No career progression. Ground Hog day over and over again. Not enough holidays to go around. Not given time off over Xmas and new year holidays. Pay raises are embarrassing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good

      Sep 19, 2020 - Sales Associate in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good place to work at

      Cons

      No cons working at ee

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't stay for more than a year

      Jul 13, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Darlington, North East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Entry level job 75% off your phone Some other useful benefits Somewhat flexible working hours

      Cons

      Some managers and ops managers are really awful, once saw someone who thought they were having a heart attack get told if they leave or get ambulance it will be considered sickness Monitor everything you do, 1 minute late? when are you working it back? Expected to start work 20 minutes early every day without pay to load slow outdated systems Tied to a schedule all the time, unable to even go for a toilet break unless schedule says Very poor training, most of it is how to speak to people instead of how to use systems and understand your job or how to help people Progression within your role depends on who likes you or if you can suck up to the right people Hard to move outside of role as there is often long lists of people trying to get off call centre phones and into other jobs within EE Unreasonable targets, always getting higher without explanation or help on how to hit targets Dealt with corona-virus very badly, didn't tell staff when people in the same building got sick, people found out on social media CEO and CMO ignored emails when asked about issues wit handling of corona-virus

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of Targets managers Have to much power and push towards their own interests regardless of cust

      Jul 6, 2020 - Sales Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The incentives are good and they have a good pension scheme and the commission is alright

      Cons

      Mangers have to much power The jokes are inappropriate pub like conversations about race and gender need to put a cap Not as equality diverse only minority there Will find excuses to write you up Hard work Mangers stress over targets and not enough on the staff Encouraged to lie to customers to better targets Mangers will find any way to run and differ work to others Lazy mangers who are incompetent go on breaks whenever they want To many targets that can’t be met Encouraged to give cuts the most expensive products EE need to fix the auto payment system a lot of vulnerable people I spoke to had accounts that where out of contract sometimes 3 years however managers would just Enforce us to tell them that it was there own responsibility and rare occasions a good will gesture maybe of 30 pound even tho the company has taken thousands Made me feel uncomfortable working there a lot of the people where surprised at my accent just because I’m a minority A lot of hidden racism in the workplace A lot of the work you feel is mandarin with no purpose Commission Scheme is flawed it pays out those who chase rather than helping the cust find the best products or even targets KPI is flawed Their are annomounise reviews but most times the managers will ask you on certain reports breaking the confidentiality. It’s a game of favouritism if the people like you they Will do anything to keep you break process, offer incentives and even ignore misconduct whereas if they don’t they will find any excuse to kick you out the door. Remember you are disposable as the money is good but don’t think to far ahead. Bottem line hard work not the best treatment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      too many frauds and force churns

      May 29, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay , room to progress . in EE .

      Cons

      it is own by BT but its hard to progress to BT HQ jobs. its a shame that they recruit external for most of HQ roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      good job

      Feb 26, 2020 - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      75 per cent off line rental

      Cons

      no downsides to working for ee

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The Ignite Group - Franchise Store

      Jan 3, 2020 - Sales Advisor in Blyth, North East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - massive discounts on mobile phone contracts - the 3 day training was decent I think that's it.

      Cons

      I worked for the Ignite group franchise but I've heard the EE stores operate the same. - very, very pushy sales tactics. You have to pitch to EVERY customer, even if it's a 90 year old disabled technophobe, you best get ready to pitch the iPhone Pro Max with unlimited data. - you get a break when and if you can. Other phone stores you get an hour no matter what -- if you don't have a break, you wear yourself out, you're not 100% then you struggle to sell, right? - franchise are dogs, out for money money money and that's all they care for - 9 hour shifts 5 days a week but only paid for 7.5??? - when you leave, they don't try contact you, just send a P45 and underpay you substantially - my wife was in hospital with a very turbulent pregnancy, close to giving birth, and I was told to give proof? - didn't pay me holidays for my paternity --- or statutory (understandably I hadn't been there 6 months) - systems are horrendous to operate - no trust --- camera's in every corner of the stores, only managers have keys to the safe making selling to a customer difficult - "half-time team talks", so mid-way through a customer conversation you have to fill in a question sheet (drilling the customer on their home life even if they're in because they've just bought a phone from you and have an issue). You have to go speak to the manager who then tells you what to pitch -- essentially talking the SALES out of SALES ADVISOR - managers and assistant managers only greet customers and sit them down with you -- when I worked for Carphone Warehouse, the manager would be on the front line with us, but putting the sales through in the staffs name to help for better bonus and stats - they expect you to sell every single product known to man. Phones (obviously), broadband (both EE and BT), watches, accessories, tablets, apple TV, and so much more -- they expect all of that to be pitched essentially to a single customer There is probably a lot more but to put it straight, the EE that's ran by the Ignite Group is absolutely disgustingly awful in every sense of the word. I've worked for every major telecommunications company, and this position that was very brief has put me off ever working in sales again. If you have an ounce of dignity, and respect, you'll avoid working for Ignite, or EE if this is the current state corporate owned stores are too.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      The real truth about EE

      Sep 13, 2019 - Senior Customer Advisor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If your a customer advisor doing under 20 hours you will love your job honestly because there’s no stress. The colleagues you meet along the way The mobile phone discounts are decent.

      Cons

      They gloss this company like its the best place to work for They are so many cons but first and foremost If you are of Black Asian Minority Ethnic just know that you will not be developed any higher than senior or assistant manager. If you are a woman they disregard you and promote your fellow male colleagues before you even if you work 10 X harder than them. So ADVISE to the women and BAME don’t even apply genuinely wasting your time and I wish someone had told me when I applied to work in the company. The “ASPIRE” program that is meant for career development is a joke, the work load from that is heavy and they expect you to do this work on your own time instead of dedicating time out to do it while on shifts. The work and life balance is non existent they expect you to breath EE into every part of your life The leaders lack BASIC people skills and lack humanity The commission is appalling the company find new way every three months to not pay you as much

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 75 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with EE Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at EE? Share Your Experiences

    EE logo
    or