EE "unrealistic targets" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EE Employee Reviews about "unrealistic targets"

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EE CEO Marc Allera
Marc Allera
280 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and great commission structure, as well as decent benefits and discounts(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great to work for, great benefits would recommend(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "BT purchased EE around two years ago that now seems to be a merger which is eroding the culture of(in 55 reviews)

  • "Unrealistic targets for good bonuses(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "unrealistic targets"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "100% dedicated to exceeding my role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tamworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    amazing atmosphere on shop floor great marketing and customer leading products and great company benefits

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets for good bonuses No support system Expect non stop micro management

    Continue reading
    EE2019-06-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "It all depends on your team..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor (In Store) 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Good pay + commission • Rota’s usually publishes 6 weeks in advance

    Cons

    (in my store) • They’ll train you for about a week and then if you don’t know what you’re doing, you’re an idiot and you’ll get talked down to & shouted at every day. • Unrealistic targets • Loads of overly complicated systems to try and get your head around, most of which are “common sense” according to my management which is the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard • Bundle selling is heavily pushed. Someone comes in for an upgrade and you don’t sell them broadband? You’re a failure, even if they just outright don’t want the product, it’s your fault. Every. Single. Time. • You WILL get talked down to and treated like an idiot, prepare for that. • Need help? Who cares, your management certainly doesn’t. • Area managers couldn’t care less about you, neither do the Senior Customer Advisors or Store Managers, it’s all about statistics. I feel like this varies from store to store as I’ve spoken to everybody else on my induction and there are people feeling the same as me and are in a similar situation whereas others are finding it fine and their management is lovely and supportive, it’s luck of the draw really.

    Continue reading
    EE2019-04-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EE part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good discount offers for staff

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets Hard to progress, unless you have connections. Doesn't matter how good you are at your role Under qualified management.

    EE2018-08-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Profit over people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    75% off mobile phone contract, cheap broadband and 5 x 30% family and friends discounts per year.

    Cons

    Constant FTE cuts Unrealistic targets Always on the threat of losing your job Micro Management Extremely old IT system Policy driven culture (lack of human touch) Too focused on profit and not enough on supporting the people.

    Continue reading
    EE2018-05-11
  5. "EE - Sunderland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Retention Agent in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Massive discounts on mobile contracts Good canteen Good loaction

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets No parking Poor Seating Bad shift pattern

    EE2018-03-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits and team, but stressful targets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The team I was working with was outstanding and extremely helpful - Personal and friends and family discounts (75% and 30% for 5 friends/family) - Good pay and potential for commission - Potential to develop and extensive training

    Cons

    - Targets are cutthroat, if you're working weekends expect to have much higher targets then week day workers - Targets were not based on store footfall creating unrealistic targets - Training does not cover everything, there are many processes you need to learn, often in your own time - pressure to hard sell products - Some techniques used to sell felt fraudulent - Prepare to be put into a whatsapp group that is going 24/7, feels like you're at work 24/7 even when the chat is muted

    Continue reading
    EE2018-03-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Be aware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount - although this was being stripped back more and more before I left Great staff in stores Easy training - before and during employment Eased in to full targets - given some time before full targets expected

    Cons

    Sales Sales Sales - if this is what you are expecting/hoping then you'll love it but its not suitable for someone hoping to do it on the side of something else. The company had an 80% staff turnaround when I was there - so don't expect to see the same faces for too long. Unrealistic targets - if a store doesn't get a foot fall of 100 new customers a week how could that store produce 100 new contracts per week?

    Continue reading
    EE2018-02-19
  8. Helpful (6)

    "If you have genuine compassion, morals or humanity this is not the company for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable basic salaries for managers Good employee and F&F discounts Some good people in the business The best mobile network, from a customer perspective - I wouldn’t use another Yearly awards and events for teams Good selection of products Good partnership with major manufacturers like Apple Competitively priced HBB packages and good customer service support with this

    Cons

    *Exceptionally cliquey at regional level *Favouritism *Treated differently and mocked for being weak if you’re not aggressive - Managers proudly sharing stories of making people cry *Culture of sexism, racism and discrimination noted at store level when I joined, this appeared to be the norm. *Jobs for the Lads - women treated differently and decisions made dependant on who’s friends with the right people *Store Managers and assistant managers contracts state that they are not entitled to overtime or even time in Lieu for any extra hours worked which happens often and is expected *Completely unrealistic targets and commission structure created to reward just a few *All training is around managing performance, not developing people and encouraging them *Hide behind the EE Way which doesn’t play any part in the real service techniques used at store level *Takes an old fashioned aggressive sales approach driven by regional and some store management. Customer service is secondary *Uses archaic management style of pointing the finger and making heads role when things go wrong. When sales are bad, managers manage someone out to save themselves. If like me you refused to take this approach and scapegoat others the pressure on you was unbearable *Encouraged by those in regional leadership roles to fill in needs sheet solutions on a need to know basis - really it felt like Mis-selling to me but they’re clever enough to fill in enough detail to get away with this *It’s all about making money for BT *Appalling attitude and treatment of those with Mental Health issues. Was told by a member of HR during a management training that we should not pay someone who goes off sick while being investigated, even if this investigation is about their performance being affected by their mental health and the investigation itself is causing more stress. This was in a training session with 22 plus people present and when I challenged by saying that’s punishing someone before they’ve even been invited to a disciplinary hearing, the HR representative told me coldly ‘We don’t need to pay anyone for sick if we don’t want to, it’s a benefit we don’t have to’ I could go on and on and share more about my personal experience and the things I witnessed but I’ll leave it at this - overall I can’t express enough how shocked I was by my experience in EE. It felt like working back in the 80’s or 90’s. A truly horrible experience which impacted my health hugely. Despite having no job to go to the sense of relief I had when I gave my notice was like no other and unsurprisingly I wasn’t the only manager in the region that day......In fact it was quickly followed by the notice of senior management too which speaks volumes.

    Continue reading
    EE2018-01-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "senior sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    fast paced work met some great people

    Cons

    unrealistic targets manager cared more about his targets than anything else work life balance is poor spent too much time after work hours in the store overworked and underpaid didn't get promoted because they couldn't afford to lose someone on the sales side

    Continue reading
    EE2017-12-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Never again!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EE

    Pros

    Staff were generally nice and friendly. It was a joy to meet so many people and customers were generally understanding and nice.

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets to hit. Shifts would be the same for months on end, requested made for shifts to be changed would be ignored. Shift rotas were not given to us until Sunday night at the earliest. The stores use of the Band app meant managers would berate you and contact you at inappropriate times. Holiday requests were almost always ignored. Overtime was not paid for months on end. Career advancement was never discussed. Staff were encouraged to sell things in a "dodgy" manner.

    Continue reading
    EE2016-07-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews
</>Embed