EF Education First Activity Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Activity Leader

EF Education First Activity Leader Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
24%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic and rewarding work, but hard long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Leader in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will work hard and often long hours as an activity leader. However it is lots of fun and there is a good team vibe always built. Would recommend for anyone looking to develop in a fast paced environment

    Cons

    Long Hours Shift Work Lots of ambiguity

    EF Education First2017-03-31
  2. "EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Activity Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    - great co-workers - fun job - get to do activities in London for free

    Cons

    - stressful - work more hours than you get paid for

    EF Education First2019-08-06
  3. "Worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - EF Activity Leader in Torquay, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to meet nice people and students

    Cons

    Lack of organisation and management is beyond a joke.

    EF Education First2019-08-26
  4. "The company should be called Money First, not Education First."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Activity Leader in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    I met some amazing people working here and have made genuine friends from across Europe. I have also had some really nice moments with my kids, you really do bond with some of them, saying goodbye to my seniors was really emotional for me!

    Cons

    This was my first summer working with EF and it will be my last. I would not recommend it as an employee or even sending your child here. It's almost immoral the way this company is run. Here is a quick list of the main things I found about this company after working for them for a month: 1) The level of organisation among senior staff is very poor. While a certain amount of chaos in situations with so many... moving parts is to be expected, a lot of situations that were very much foreseeable were not anticipated and this left leaders in stressful and sometimes dangerous situations. (Think using public buses to transport 500 students from one bus stop to a university at 10 pm at night) 2)The sales office in individual countries often exaggerates what EF courses actually provide, and when the food/activities/management/accommodation falls short it is left to the activity & course leaders to deal with these complaints. Not the senior staff and not the sales office. 3)Hours are long and the work is mostly thankless - this is especially true for juniors. My colleagues and I work from 7 am until 10.30 pm 6 days a week as we have to get the kids up to bring them to breakfast and walk 25 min/travel 2 hours on a coach to that days activity - yes, TWO HOURS; over and back 4) There is a HUGE emphasis on the end of course feedback from students; whether or not they would recommend EF to a friend. EF is a company that totally focuses on their bottom line and on marketing. Example; their EF Brighton Instagram page they heavily feature Brighton home-stay - a lovely campus in the center of Brighton, very picturesque with lots of instagramable 'wow' moments. About 75% of EF Brighton students do not go here but to the University of Sussex/Falmer - nowhere near the beach and without all those little touches. But many students do not realize this until they arrive. 5) There is a very strange almost propaganda-like message that comes from senior staff; there is definitely an attitude that everything is great and if you complain about anything you are the problem/ have a poor attitude/ must work harder. It becomes difficult to provide that 'EF Sparkle' after working an 84 hour week in a high stress, high-responsibility environment with little support from senior staff. Perhaps there is an EF center somewhere in the world that is well run and provides what the sales office sells the parents. I have yet to hear about it if it does exist.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better pay for staff - Activity and Course Leaders especially earn next nothing (I worked out that I get paid an average of £3.20 an hour for a 14 hour day, 6 days a week) Smaller staff ratio for juniors - 1:17 is manageable for seniors, it should be 1:10 for juniors Shorter days for juniors - the kids do incredibly long days and the nutritional value of the food is awful, they may as well eat McDonald's every day... for 2 weeks Better communication from senior staff - it is clear to anyone who deals with them that senior staff do not communicate well enough and this has caused more headaches for myself and my colleagues that I can ever put into words.

    Show More
    EF Education First2019-07-28
  5. "EF Activity leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - EF Activity Leader 

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    Good for a summer job

    Cons

    Too long hours . No training

    EF Education First2019-05-29
  6. "A fun summer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Activity Leader in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were fantastic- very supportive and great social aspect.

    Cons

    Very long hours and little sleep due to host family issues.

    EF Education First2018-09-14
  7. "Activity Leader Brighton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EF Activity Leader in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun to work with students!

    Cons

    Bad management Underpaid Lack of information and communication

    EF Education First2018-07-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Have to learn on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - EF Activity Leader in Manchester, England

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun/get to meet lots of interesting people from different background/staff were great to work with

    Cons

    With almost no training you have to think on your feet

    EF Education First2018-04-24
  9. "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EF Activity Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly young and international environment

    Cons

    Mostly outdoor, sometimes schedules would change with very short notice

    Advice to Management

    None

    EF Education First2018-03-11
  10. "Nice students but not well organised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - EF Activity Leader in London, England

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Enjoyed spending time with students Free trips e.g. on London Eye, London Dungeons

    Cons

    Information not always clear Not well managed Disorganised Often left in stressful confusion

    Advice to Management

    Put information out more clearly, and not just on Whatsapp

    EF Education First2018-01-11
Found 32 reviews