EF Education First Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Director Reviews

Updated 31 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
24 Ratings
  1. "Great EF Spirit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - School Director 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ambitious company who always strive for improvements & development! Colleagues really embody the EF spirit and make the work place a fun environment.

    Cons

    Nothing to share in this section

    EF Education First2019-03-21
  2. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Director in Eastbourne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for the company for more than 10 years in 4 different positions across the UK, I truly feel at home here. The amazing people you work with and the company's mission is truly inspiring. As a manager, I have the freedom to hire my own teams and take ownership as if I was running my own business.

    Cons

    The lead up to the summer can get intense but it's the nature of the business

    EF Education First2018-10-09
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great organisation with a dynamic and international culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    EF has an ambitious mission to Open the World through Education and a very collaborative management culture. This helps the company attract some of the brightest and most positive go getters from all over the world. Many iconic offices headquartered is some of the world's most dynamic cities like London, Shanghai, Boston, Zurich and Hong Kong provide a open environment and exciting opportunities to build a global career.

    Cons

    Non-hierarchical culture means that the most successful employees at EF are those that have have an entrepreneurial mindset. Building your own network inside EF and being proactive is as important as being skilled in your expertise.

    EF Education First2017-01-26
  4. "EF Academic Partnerships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Director of Studies in Liverpool, England

      I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

      Pros

      Clear pathway for development and promotion

      Cons

      No real pedagogical core to courses provided. Very much factory teaching.

      EF Education First2016-05-26
    • "tour director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tour Director in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at EF Education First for more than 8 years

      Pros

      great flexibility, always meeting new people, travelling to exciting destinations.

      Cons

      not always very organised, the initial training can be better.

      Advice to Management

      invest more on the staff.

      EF Education First2016-03-30
    • "NOPE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tour Director 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at EF Education First

      Pros

      Great kids, groups, teachers. Got to experience some fun activities!

      Cons

      Bad pay, bad management, no benefits, your tips are not given to you unless you receive 100% customer reviews, no sense of support.

      EF Education First2019-05-31
    • "Good entry level management position. Very tiresome as your only friends are under your management."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director of Studies in Taizhou, Jiangsu
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great experience managing a team.

      Cons

      Poor working conditions, unpredictable upper management in a franchise.

      Advice to Management

      Be open-minded about foreign culture, and allow more input from DoS in hiring.

      EF Education First2019-04-25
    • Helpful (22)

      "Inspiring mission, incredible opportunities to see the world while developing your skills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      - Everything we do at EF is about helping people build bridges across borders and cultures, spark mutual understanding, and create new opportunities. It's a mission that feels incredibly relevant right now. - Travel opportunities: I spent more than 3 months traveling abroad last year to some of the most amazing places including Spain, Sweden, UK, France, and Germany. Everyone travels once a year, most travel far more...

      Show More

      Cons

      - EF isn't for everyone; and in particular, folks who are looking for lots of structure and a clear path to promotion on an annual or semi-annual basis. People who aren't a good EF fit probably won't be happy here.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up! Staff events and professional development opportunities were fantastic in 2018. Not surprising that EF consistently ranks in the top 2 on the Globe's Top Places to Work list.

      EF Education First2019-01-08

      EF Education First Response

      January 14, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

      Thank you for this feedback! Our mission, people, professional development and benefits and perks are the most common things our staff refer to when they talk about why they love working here. I love that you saw so much of the world last year. I hope 2019 brings more amazing opportunities ...

      Show More
    • "Good start to your career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Activity Director 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great way to build job experience, especially right out of college. People who have worked at EF can do ANYTHING after. Medical benefits are the best I've ever heard of.

      Cons

      Low pay. Overworked hours. EMERGENCY PHONE. (Make sure you get a clear picture on how this is handled at your location).

      EF Education First2019-03-01
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Art Director 
      Recommends

      I worked at EF Education First full-time

      Pros

      Skilled, talented people. Very helpful and polite. Nice office in Zurich.

      Cons

      Well,no job is perfect but I can't think of any.

      EF Education First2019-02-12
    Found 46 reviews