EF Education First ESL Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First ESL Teacher Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
22 Ratings
  1. "Just getting started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher 

      I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The fact that they are based in the UK is amazing as there is no messing around with self-assessment and you can just crack on with things. They also offer a pension scheme.

      Cons

      Wage is only slightly above the national minimum and extremely low compared to what I can earn as a day-to-day teacher in physical settings.

      Advice to Management

      Consider further performance related bonuses/higher initial wage for teachers with proven years of experience.

      EF Education First2019-04-19
    • "Horrible Place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ESL Teacher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First

      Pros

      Your recruiter will be pretty helpful with your Visa application - although, they will omit to tell you legal and contractual aspects which would scare you off the job. They place you in a nice hotel for the first 2 weeks, and the woman who helped to set up the bank accounts was very nice and down-to-earth, unlike most people who work here.

      Cons

      Unpleasant Work Culture - there is a strange cultish, American vibe to the company which I find difficult to put into words, the only thing I can compare it to is the antagonist family from the movie 'Get Out' - expect many fake smiles, individuals who appear to be getting tortured behind the scenes but nevertheless promote EF's ostensible code of conduct, and individuals who are so married to their job they exhibit...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get a HR department Train your managers and supervisors properly and regularly - some seem to have forgotten how to act in a professional manner

      EF Education First2019-06-05
    • Helpful (4)

      "Corporate teaching"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ESL Teacher in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

      Pros

      Lots of hours to work in the summer. Central location in London

      Cons

      No teacher support. Zero hour contract so schedule and hours change weekly . Administration can be hostile.

      Advice to Management

      Pay teachers more! Don't fixate on weird EF corporate stuff because that's not how students will learn.

      EF Education First2017-12-15
    • "Poorly managed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ESL Teacher in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

      Pros

      I was always busy so the time went quickly. I could do what I liked in the classroom - no one checked.

      Cons

      They work you very hard and pay you below industry standard.

      Advice to Management

      Come out of your little glass offices and interact with your staff a lot more.

      EF Education First2017-05-23
    • "Hard working staff who care about the students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Salaried ESL Teacher in London, England

        I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Coworkers are great and very welcoming Management is understanding when teachers have concerns

        Cons

        Long hours Cover teaching is required frequently and at short notice

        EF Education First2016-03-06
      • Helpful (5)

        "EF"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Manchester, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at EF Education First

          Pros

          Students are lovely and thats it!

          Cons

          EF is the worst company I have ever worked for, it is an adhoc and disorganised 'organisation' that rips off its clients and pays its worker a pittance. There is no incentive to work for a company that is only profit orientated and has a total lack of respect for its staff. I used my time there as a stop gap as i had just returned to the UK and needed a job quickly. However it was most stressful and unpleasant work environment...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          see above... pay REAL taxes

          EF Education First2016-04-02
        • Helpful (2)

          "AVOID EF Hastings like the plague"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Hastings, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at EF Education First

          Pros

          You get to live like a homeless local if you don't have independent source of income

          Cons

          Low pay Long hours Pay not received weekly as stipulated in contract, but weeks late School is not accredited AVOID AVOID AVOID at all costs!

          Advice to Management

          Shame on you! Just remember, what goes around, comes around!

          EF Education First2015-07-31
        • Helpful (5)

          "Good place to start your career, but that's about it"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Salaried ESL Teacher in London, England
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at EF Education First

          Pros

          - a very international environment - you are encouraged to take on as many challenges as possible, and are entrusted with many responsible tasks, which helps you build a good portfolio

          Cons

          - contract teachers are overworked, under-compensated and not appreciated by management - while you are indeed entrusted with many responsible tasks that can help you grow as a teacher, you are given very little if indeed any support from the management - thus all the growth that's happening is a result of you learning by trial and error, from your own mistakes and sadly, sometimes, to the detriment of your students.

          EF Education First2015-01-06
        • "Good company but limited pay"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Shijiazhuang, Hubei
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          This is a great company to work at if you are brand new to teaching in China and need to build up your skills and experience. Multimedia teaching materials are excellent and the newly renovated facilities are very nice. Management team and local staff are generally very friendly, helpful and supportive. Team-building events and outings are usually quite fun.

          Cons

          For some reason, the salary is lower than the industry standard for training schools in China. After you have gained enough confidence and experience in teaching, you really should move on to a higher paying job.

          EF Education First2019-06-11

          EF Education First Response

          June 19, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

          Thank you for your candid feedback. We take great pride in our teacher training programs and materials, and, we are very happy to hear that you feel we successfully develop our teachers. We care a lot about the culture of our centers and work hard to ensure teachers have a great experience. ...

          Show More
        • "Good for a first year teacher"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Wuxi, Jiangsu

          I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Nice environment. Artistic licence. Lessons already lay out.

          Cons

          Salary. EF don't transfer ZVisas at the end of contract (in order to keep you) so you must reapply if you want to move to another school.

          EF Education First2019-05-13

          EF Education First Response

          May 23, 2019Vice President

          Thank you for sharing this feedback. We're happy to hear that you are enjoying the work environment and feel supported by the curriculum and materials. We strive to provide a career path for teachers through an emphasis on training and development so our teachers stay with us. Regarding ...

          Show More
        Found 80 reviews