EF Education First Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
77 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great colleagues, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extremely positive, fast paced environment. Lots of responsibility and opportunities to take ownership

    Cons

    Not the place for you if you need a lot of structure or defined processes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building the culture

    EF Education First2019-11-21
  2. "Low pay and hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activities Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    - International brand on CV - Good office space - Discounts/ free visits to London attractions

    Cons

    - Low salaries - Hard work and no compensation - No work life balance - No training but high expectations on performance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your teams/employees and actively support them so that they can succeed in their roles and bring real value to the business.

    EF Education First2019-12-07
  3. "Good Managerial experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activity Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn very fast that you’ve a great deal of responsibility and will learn lots of traits that will benefit you in the future.

    Cons

    The company don’t really take care of you. No benefits to the job at all. The occasional free meal but that’s about it. Long working hours with no overtime pay

    EF Education First2019-08-29
  4. "Treats Employees Like Machines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activities Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Having the "manager" title at a young age.

    Cons

    Management expects you to put your job before mental and physical health. Throughout the whole summer, employees were sick, getting panic attacks, crying every day because of stress, and not sleeping. When complained about this, they blamed us, saying that if we were better prepared and did our jobs correctly, we wouldn't stay so late. Out of 10 employees, five started one week before the entire summer program... started, and the other five started they day the summer program started. There was no time to prepare for 11 weeks of upwards of 500 students. They give instructions once, and expect you to remember everything, and if you ask questions, even to clarify, you get a lot of attitude and get told off for being stupid and not listening. And if you don't ask questions out of fear, you get told off for not asking questions. They make you work upwards of 80 hours a week, and if you leave before 7pm, you will be made to feel guilty. This summer program happens every year, it is understaffed, under paid, and overwhelming. The moment you start leaving at 7pm, you will get told off, asking you why, and if you tell them for your own mental health, they will tell you that it is selfish, and that you need to think of the students. Essentially risk your mental health for the sake of the students.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you keep the employees happy, they will keep the kids happy.

    EF Education First2019-07-29
  5. "A company that cares about her employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EF really invests in its employees to the fullest as long as they perform well in the job, which is very fair. They organize 2 major company parties a year and another 5 happy hours in the year for special occasions. People are human and interact with each other with respect just like members of the same family.

    Cons

    I don't have anything to report just yet. :)

    EF Education First2019-04-29
  6. "Established Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chelsea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment where workers are really valued. A company that always wants to innovate and grow in the educational field

    Cons

    It is not a perfect company, but I can not say that there really is a cons.

    EF Education First2019-02-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No Support from Line Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Homestay Manager in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning experience and very dedicated and passionate people

    Cons

    No support from your line manager (school director), low salary, working 12-16 hours a day up to 6 days a week.

    Advice to Management

    You expect too much from people and don't understand those with families. I was discriminated by my line manager for having children. When I wasn't able to work until 22:00 one night I was told it was unacceptable and I need to sort out my personal life. I had started work at 07:00 that day. There is no care for student welfare to the point students terminate their course and go home because you don't want to listen... to their concerns. The host families that you use are disgusting, but when you are told this you say EF can't be picky. You put money before everything else including student happiness and staff. What is more shocking is that you failed your ISI inspection in October 2017 and only just passed the follow up in April 2018. Yet you have not declared this on your website, or to parents. In fact, I can't find any record of you being inspected despite the fact I know it happened. You are very good at covering up bad press by paying people off. Be warned, do not send your students here or work for this company.

    Show More
    EF Education First2019-01-09
  8. "Great company with lots of professional growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company's core values are exceptional and it is a fun company to work for. You have a lot of support from your manager & colleagues and there are a lot of professional development opportunities inside the company.

    Cons

    It is a demanding business. It requires to be committed to the company and sometimes it is difficult to combine work & family life.

    EF Education First2018-10-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accommodation Manager in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You meet a lot of people and have a lot of fun

    Cons

    Stressful to the max Salaries are extremely low for the work you do

    EF Education First2018-04-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company with amazing people but not perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Surrounded by fun, smart people from all over the world. The offices are also very nice places to work.

    Cons

    At the heart, it is still a very sales-driven organisation. Therefore, some decisions are more with PL in mind first.

    Advice to Management

    The senior leaders and management trainees have very similar backgrounds. There is an assumption that you need to have gone to a certain school or worked at a certain consultancy to get a senior position. Drawing from this same pool hurts internal moral and can create a groupthink. Also, while the ratio of men/women managers is amazing, the offices can be monochromatic.

    EF Education First2018-04-11
Found 168 reviews