EF Education First Operations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Operations Manager Reviews

Updated 17 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
7 Ratings
  1. "A lot go scope to develop, but limited development and poor communication and planning from managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Madrid
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Freedom to create own role and learn by doing

    Cons

    Poor management and retention

    EF Education First2019-04-17
  2. "young and dynamic team, super friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    young and dynamic team, super friendly environment

    Cons

    lower salary for an averagy salary in Zurich

    EF Education First2019-02-06
  3. "Employee Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Employee culture for recent grads! There is a lot of emphasize on employment development and growth in the first few years of your career

    Cons

    There is not a great work/life balance. Those that are incredibly successful are working nights, weekends, etc to achieve their success

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to invest in staff that allow a better balance between their in-work and outside of work passions

    EF Education First2018-12-26
  4. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Responsibility at early stages -Managers trust you -Constant growth in the first years at the company

    Cons

    -High turn over -Lack of training

    EF Education First2018-09-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Educational Homestay Programs (EHP) - Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Cant think of any to be honest

    Cons

    this program is horribly designed. they work you to the BONE, and BARELY compensate you for it.

    Advice to Management

    pay your employees and delegate work more. lots to fix in this program

    EF Education First2018-06-26
  6. "Operations Manager at EF Ultimate Break"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Lucerne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many business trips, high level of indipedency

    Cons

    very long working hours, lot of pressure

    EF Education First2018-06-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "EF is a fun company that allows you to travel and meet new people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EF Tours is a great company to work for if you are a recent graduate. It is a company full of young people and they are always planning office events and EF wide events in different cities across North America. Travelling is a huge perk. The amount of vacation days is also great. In your first year, you get 15 paid vacations days plus 2 personal days. In year 2, you get 20 vacation days!

    Cons

    The pay is not so great.

    EF Education First2018-04-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a Bad Place to Get Your Feet Wet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Boston, MA

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Although I quickly realized EF would not be a long-term fit for me, overall I enjoyed my 2.5 years working in Operations, and it was a good resume builder. I was given a lot of responsibility and very quickly, got to travel to cool places, and benefitted from very good managers and, for the most part, colleagues.

    Cons

    Low pay, sometimes disorganized and chaotic environment, not much room to move up so people move out instead

    Advice to Management

    Provide better compensation and opportunities for promotion so you don't lose all the young talent you help cultivate. Less turnover would also yield a less chaotic environment.

    EF Education First2017-05-30
  9. "EF review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture and community are really great. The company is full of like-minded people working towards the common goal of cultural exchange. We work hard and definitely play hard!

    Cons

    The compensation is not competitive and the turnover rate is very high. It's a fun place to work but it's hard to afford living in this city on the salaries they offer.

    EF Education First2017-05-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and fun work environment. Company promotes activities outside of work, etc. Opportunity for growth and movement within the company

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay. Sadly growth doesn't always come with a raise in salary. Company demands a lot of you. Can feel a bit cultish sometimes.

    EF Education First2016-10-28
Found 14 reviews