EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
659 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is required to work Long hours journeys(in 108 reviews)

  • "low salary (perks instead of pay)(in 92 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great colleagues, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extremely positive, fast paced environment. Lots of responsibility and opportunities to take ownership

    Cons

    Not the place for you if you need a lot of structure or defined processes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building the culture

    EF Education First2019-11-21
  2. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, fun, lots of young international people, good travel (you see the emphasis here?)

    Cons

    Bit of a disneyland environment for business, I realised after leaving how poorly structured the business is, non KPI environment.

    EF Education First2020-01-21
  3. "Loved it...mostly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Owner in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Start-up culture in digital team, within a big organisation. Generally great people. Inspiring vision.

    Cons

    Internally used products were great to work on. Inspiring vision to develop products for third party use, but without the plan to deliver it.

    EF Education First2019-11-23
  4. "Fun job but zero hours contract and low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Online ESL Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    The company provides some online training and mentoring. The teaching platform is quite user friendly and most of the students are serious about their English. There is good flexibility for teachers of adults, but less so on the kids' program. You can work from home. High expectations of teachers - professional environment.

    Cons

    The job is very badly paid - especially as 1) you provide your own workspace (heat and light, broadband, computer, headset and camera), 2) preparation for lessons is not paid for, 3) you are allocated private lessons, and the students very often don't show or cancel at the last minute, leaving you with wasted time. If you get 1 bad review a month that can seriously affect how much you're paid. Hours of work are not guaranteed. You are paid the same even if you are very good and work on special programs under pressure to perform at a high level. This job pays less than cleaning or working in a store, despite expecting work at a high level, a university degree, professional qualifications, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is a good ESL company, but I don't think it's possible for teachers to live on this salary.

    EF Education First2019-12-05
  5. "Mad house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Good students, flexible schedules, weekly pay

    Cons

    Corporate BS, low pay for teachers

    EF Education First2019-12-05
  6. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    It gets you into China

    Cons

    There are better jobs out there

    EF Education First2019-12-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Really great job!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Flexibility!! you are able to pick your own hours and you only have to work in the mornings!! so you can get on with the rest of your day +The online teaching platform is really easy to use!! All the content is there and how to approach the lesson, little preparation is needed!! + Not such a bad pay too!! You get paid a lot more than people in other types of part time jobs!! + Lovely and respectful students!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Variety in the times you can teach, like teaching in the evenings or afternoons

    EF Education First2019-11-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of any

    Cons

    A strong culture of presenteeism with people being very unproductive but deemed to be doing well as they would sit at their desks into the evening. The worst work-life balance I have ever experienced at any organization. It feels like a talent vacuum with very old fashioned working practices. You need to give up your life to the company to progress.

    EF Education First2019-12-20
  9. "Would never work for EF ever again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Course Leader, Teacher in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can watch and learn from the many mistakes staff members make.

    Cons

    - super low pay for working 24/7 - people seem to be randomly selected for jobs - dirty accommodation

    EF Education First2019-12-07
  10. "Academic, Pastoral support and Liasion with admisson and parents."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pathway Manager in Torquay, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, flexible and easy to communicate with people

    Cons

    Not really, I really enjoyed my time working here

    EF Education First2019-11-14
Found 1929 reviews