EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1824 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
619 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 150 reviews)

  • "Free travel opportunities (get to go on the tours they sell for free, either once a year or every other year depending on your position)(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on your role, expect to work long hours during "busy season"(in 100 reviews)

  • "Low salary especially in city like shanghai(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, nice office and great people. Tech teams feel like a start up.

    Cons

    Company perks are not great

    EF Education First2019-06-17
  2. "Good Culture, Fun Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, Culture, Start-up feeling which i liked

    Cons

    Not advanced technology which I did not like

    EF Education First2019-09-30

    EF Education First Response

    October 7, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Thank you for this feedback! Great to hear that you enjoy coming to work. Our people and culture are something we are very proud of and what really makes us different. I hope 2019 brings more amazing opportunities your way!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "English teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in London, England

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to pursue other work also, gorgeous children & interesting work

    Cons

    Base line pay needed increasing

    EF Education First2019-09-26

    EF Education First Response

    September 30, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Thank you for your feedback! Our mission, people, and customers is key to our business and I'm happy to hear you get to work on the things you enjoy. Best regards!

  4. "Fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - EFL Teacher in Brighton, England
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very fun and social work environment, lovely staff make it great to work there

    Cons

    The management is a bit disorganised.

    EF Education First2019-09-27

    EF Education First Response

    September 30, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Thank you for your feedback! Happy to hear you enjoyed your time with EF, our culture and amazing people are some of the things we are very proud of. Best regards.

  5. "Huge Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - There's a lot of support before and when you arrive with visa documents, finding housing etc. - The schools are all super modern and clean - Class sizes are small maximum or ten or sixteen depending on age - Detailed lessons plans and lots of resources

    Cons

    - There are over twenty schools across the city, each run very differently. Lack of consistency between them can be frustrating. - Staff in charge of school who don't know how to manage. - Uneven teaching schedules amongst teachers

    EF Education First2019-09-23
  6. "Disorganized Summer Camp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intercultural environment, cool coworkers, funny kids from all over the word, you definitely get stronger.

    Cons

    I worked in a summer camp in England as Teaching Leader, which I thought it would have been cool for the salary and for my CV, but you realize as soon as you start that even though salary is good compared to other companies, you are basically working the whole day and everything is so disorganized that makes the experience even more stressful. Kids are paying a crazy amount of money for something improvised, but... they'll obviously have fun anyway because they're kids and mostly because you are there for them so you don't care if yoi sleep 4 hours and you've been working nonstop, you just give them all of your energy, and they need a lot. You have 1 day off in which they say that you could go on a trip but you'd probably be so dead inside that you'll spend it laying on the bed in silence. I also had a lot of fun with coworkers, but we were all so stressed and tired that was crazy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay better, organize better activities and most of all MAKE USEFUL TRAINING AND PREPARATION before departure. Also be honest about the actual working hours.

    EF Education First2019-09-27

    EF Education First Response

    October 7, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time giving us this feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and your input is very helpful for us. I hope 2019 brings more amazing opportunities your way. Best regards.

  7. "A lot of smart people but a weak product and little direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice offices. Smart colleagues. An interesting and worthwhile mission.

    Cons

    Astonishing levels of waste. Lack of direction. Underneath all the gloss, some of the products are actually not that good.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what you are trying to do, communicate it better. Stop doing all the stuff that does not contribute.

    EF Education First2019-09-05

    EF Education First Response

    September 30, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Hi. Thank you for your feedback, itäs very valuable to us. We are always striving to develop the different products to become even better and also staff to be one team. Best regards.

  8. "Amazing teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People love working together and team culture is nurtured by management

    Cons

    Lot of unpaid overtime and work at unsociable hours. Salaries below average for the sector

    Advice to Management

    Reward the merit and you'll stop the crazy turnover

    EF Education First2019-08-29
  9. "Nice experience overall but very disorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EFL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The teaching environment is very good and the material provided is ready to use with minimum effort from the teachers.

    Cons

    Everything is so disorganised, the payroll takes ages to do anything and the HR is just a big mess where the recruiting manager never replies to the emails and gives away contracts the day before these are supposed to start giving little if none info to the employee.

    Advice to Management

    Work on the travel expenses refund system and make sure that employer received their contract or info about these in advance so that they can plan their lives!

    EF Education First2019-08-24
  10. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Good for getting into China Sociable environment

    Cons

    Low Pay Poor Management Odd work hours

    EF Education First2019-08-22
Found 1824 reviews