EF Education First Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
703 Ratings
  1. "Lots of opportunities to progress but.."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    -lots of opportunities to progress -every office/school has very friendly staff

    Cons

    -long hours -expected to work extra hours without extra pay -very low pay -conditions make it hard to do job

    EF Education First2020-03-11

    EF Education First Response

    March 16, 2020Director

    Thank you for this feedback! At EF, we put a lot of effort into professional development and thanks to the many offices and schools around the world, we can offer a wide range of opportunities. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. Please get in touch with compliance@ef.com if you feel you are treated unfairly in terms of working hours or working conditions. We wish you all the best in your future EF career!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great job but bad management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Course is very well developed and students are mostly enthusiastic making for a good atmosphere. Facilities ae very good.

    Cons

    Job involves: pay, stable hours and some growth. All there are mossing. So this is great for a very flexible gig but not as a job. Hence very high attrition and dissatisfaction.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-03-04
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Don't fall for it! They do not care about their staff!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office benefits Good people working here

    Cons

    In one of the worst crisis our world has ever faced which have left so many people in fear and uncertainty.. True colors really show of what this company truly is about. When you work here, all you hear is about how they care about their employees.. But what do they do when Corona is breaking up the world and leave so many people worried? They start with redundancies left and right. You should literally be doing everything else humanly possible before you do that. At a time of great fear and uncertainty YOU are abandoning your people. They won’t forget it & they’ll be damn sure to let future prospects for your business know that you’ll throw them under the bus a little too easily! If there comes a time where there’s no choice, make sure you explain it and do absolutely everything you can to support them. Pay attention to how EF treat their employees during this time. It speaks VOLUMES to their core ethics. Core values? Just stop with that blue book of yours.. its all just for show. And by the way with a company that large.. They don't even have an HR department, this type of time is exactly why they do not have one. They get away with everything ;)

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-03-22

    EF Education First Response

    March 24, 2020Director

    Thank you for your feedback. As much as we love EF as an employer, we know we are not perfect. We always want to improve and your comments are valuable for our efforts in this matter, especially in a time like this. We are sorry to hear you perceive a lack of what you refer to as a HR department. We have payroll functions taking care of all employee contractual matters such as contracts, insurances, taxes etc. In additional we also have functions specifically dedicated to recruitment and professional development. I would advice you to please reach out to your local RED department to discuss the communication during these very difficult times. EF and the world have never been through a crisis like this before and our management team are doing their best to ensure the safety of our employees. Best regards

  4. "Money Making"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Leader 

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    - You get other activity leaders in your group. This is helpful when controlling 30 kids. Senior staff track your progress and give you advice on how to improve connecting to your group. - The nights out with the staff at the end of the day.

    Cons

    - No training given. - Too many kids in one group and they are hard to control (especially being teenagers) - Kids are ripped off. They pay a lot to be on this programme and then find they don't get simple things like a bus pass included or they have to pay for their own drinks at the under 18s club you take them too. -

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-02-26
  5. "Decent employer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lesson materials provided. Minimum prep required. Online support when needed. You are paid on time.

    Cons

    The pay is too low. The lesson materials need updated and should follow a more clear structure (Present - Practice - Produce).

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-02-20
  6. "EF"

    3.0
    Current Employee - English Language Teacher 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    My colleagues are fantastic and the hours are flexible.

    Cons

    Staff members are underpaid and undervalued.

    EF Education First2020-02-18

    EF Education First Response

    February 20, 2020Director

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you value your colleagues, I certainly agree that having great colleagues makes a job so much more fun. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. We wish you all the best in your future EF career.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "US company without morals"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some flexibility with lessons at times.

    Cons

    Extremely brutal employer without any regard for employees. The staff are rude and blunt. They will terminate contracts when they feel like it. There is little protection and the employee is there simply to be used.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-03-02

    EF Education First Response

    May 15, 2020Engagement and Retention Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with EF. We strive to make our teachers feel supported, and we’re sorry that you didn’t feel positive about your experience working with us. Thanks again for taking the time to send over your experiences.

  8. "Marketing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, fun, lots of young international people, good travel (you see the emphasis here?)

    Cons

    Bit of a disneyland environment for business, I realised after leaving how poorly structured the business is, non KPI environment.

    EF Education First2020-01-21
  9. "Not great"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros. Really.

    Cons

    Worse project management ever. Lack of communication and direction. No career growth. Lots of burocracy. Feels a bit old sometimes.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-02-10

    EF Education First Response

    March 6, 2020Director

    Thank you for your feedback. As much as we love EF as an employer, we know we are not perfect. We always want to improve. Your comments are valuable for our efforts in this matter We are sorry to hear you perceive a lack of management and we are investing resources to train new managers to make sure they have the skills for the job. We will take your feedback on-board, and see what we can do to train more staff. Please reach out to your local RED responsible to discuss should you wish to do so. Wish you all the best in your future EF career.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great colleagues, great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extremely positive, fast paced environment. Lots of responsibility and opportunities to take ownership

    Cons

    Not the place for you if you need a lot of structure or defined processes.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-11-21

    EF Education First Response

    November 25, 2019Director

    Hi. Fist of all, thank you for your time with EF. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for contributing to our culture and growth. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

Found 1962 reviews