EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1697 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
572 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "No Support from Line Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Homestay Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning experience and very dedicated and passionate people

    Cons

    No support from your line manager (school director), low salary, working 12-16 hours a day up to 6 days a week.

    Advice to Management

    You expect too much from people and don't understand those with families. I was discriminated by my line manager for having children. When I wasn't able to work until 22:00 one night I was told it was unacceptable and I need to sort out my personal life. I had started work at 07:00 that day. There is no care for student welfare to the point students terminate their course and go home because you don't want to listen to...

    Show More
    EF Education First2019-01-09
  2. "Unique work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic work environment with lots of opportunities to travel and meet amazing people. Alot of pride in their company culture and always felt supported in my role.

    Cons

    Each product works very separately and it can take time to understand EF globally. Benefits could be better.

    EF Education First2018-11-22
  3. "Activity Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Long hours but rewarding enviroment. Make lots of new friends.

    Cons

    Long hours, disorganized and bad pay

    EF Education First2018-10-17
  4. "EF Education First Eastbourne"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    amazing international environment, new experiences every day, extremely fulfilling in terms of job satisfaction!

    Cons

    the balance between work/life could be improved (role dependent) however you receive what you put in!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    EF Education First2018-10-12
  5. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Director in Eastbourne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for the company for more than 10 years in 4 different positions across the UK, I truly feel at home here. The amazing people you work with and the company's mission is truly inspiring. As a manager, I have the freedom to hire my own teams and take ownership as if I was running my own business.

    Cons

    The lead up to the summer can get intense but it's the nature of the business

    EF Education First2018-10-09
  6. "Great company with lots of professional growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company's core values are exceptional and it is a fun company to work for. You have a lot of support from your manager & colleagues and there are a lot of professional development opportunities inside the company.

    Cons

    It is a demanding business. It requires to be committed to the company and sometimes it is difficult to combine work & family life.

    EF Education First2018-10-09
  7. "EF Education First is simply a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing, EF English Live in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    EF is truly a great company to work for. It has a friendly culture and they treat employees very well. Compensation is relatively high compared to other companies in education. The offices are beautiful. For the most part, people are friendly in every office. I am going to miss my team at EF. Great group of folks.

    Cons

    I loved my days at EF. Difficult for me to think about a negative. I´m sure EF is not for everyone but it was truly a fantastic place for me.

    Advice to Management

    Don´t change. Stay true to what EF has always stood for. Don´t hire people who do not uphold the traditional EF values.

    EF Education First2018-09-15
  8. "A fun summer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Activity Leader in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were fantastic- very supportive and great social aspect.

    Cons

    Very long hours and little sleep due to host family issues.

    EF Education First2018-09-14
  9. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EF Education First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Place to Work and devleop

    Cons

    Lack of IT facilities in many schools

    EF Education First2018-08-20
  10. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    It's an excellent company to work

    Cons

    I would like to have more information.

    EF Education First2018-08-16
Found 1697 reviews