EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1697 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
569 Ratings
  1. "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, nice team, pay was okay for the job

    Cons

    poor management, chaos, unorganised, tiring

    EF Education First2018-07-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "EF offers responsibility and opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time

      Pros

      EF offers responsibility and opportunities to grow

      Cons

      EF can sometimes be a bit disorganized

      EF Education First2018-05-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good team spirit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at EF Education First (Less than a year)

      Pros

      dedicated individuals who love what they do and work hard to make the company what it is.

      Cons

      low financial compensation for the amount of hours required.

      EF Education First2018-05-21
    • "Former"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The company is big and the managing team is really supportive There is a good atmosphere and I would have liked to stay more

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say as I really enjoyed but maybe if I want to be picky I would

      Advice to Management

      None

      EF Education First2018-05-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Have to learn on the job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - EF Activity Leader in Manchester, England

        I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fun/get to meet lots of interesting people from different background/staff were great to work with

        Cons

        With almost no training you have to think on your feet

        EF Education First2018-04-24
      • Helpful (4)

        "Stressful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Accommodation Manager in Oxford, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        You meet a lot of people and have a lot of fun

        Cons

        Stressful to the max Salaries are extremely low for the work you do

        EF Education First2018-04-27
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great company with amazing people but not perfect"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Surrounded by fun, smart people from all over the world. The offices are also very nice places to work.

        Cons

        At the heart, it is still a very sales-driven organisation. Therefore, some decisions are more with PL in mind first.

        Advice to Management

        The senior leaders and management trainees have very similar backgrounds. There is an assumption that you need to have gone to a certain school or worked at a certain consultancy to get a senior position. Drawing from this same pool hurts internal moral and can create a groupthink. Also, while the ratio of men/women managers is amazing, the offices can be monochromatic.

        EF Education First2018-04-11
      • Helpful (1)

        "great team"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Student Welfare Officer in Cambridge, East of England, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at EF Education First full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        It has great culuture and wonderful environment

        Cons

        bad management and more training is required

        Advice to Management

        more training

        EF Education First2018-04-19
      • Helpful (3)

        "Lots of opportunities to try new things and work with fantastic people from around the world!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Despite being a large, global company, the culture is incredibly entrepreneurial. It means that you will have the chance to work independently and try new things, whether that is a new task, a different role or an international transfer. You will also have the opportunity to work with people from all around the world. Across the offices I have visited, there is a real 'can do' attitude and buzz within the office.

        Cons

        The downside to be given lots of responsibility and having the opportunity to try new roles is that the learning curve can be steep and a lot of the training happens on the job.

        EF Education First2018-03-22
      • Helpful (3)

        "Big company with strong start up culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

        I have been working at EF Education First full-time

        Pros

        Innovative and fast-moving place which offers a massive range of intra-company opportunities, and encourages you to take them. Autonomy and accountability are high, espcially at mid-senior level and above.

        Cons

        Could work on training and development for employees further. Most learning is on-the-job and depends on your self-motivation.

        Advice to Management

        Treat employees like customers

        EF Education First2018-03-21
      Found 1697 reviews