EF Education First Tour Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Tour Consultant Reviews

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
63 Ratings
  1. "Fun company to work for out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment, great travel experiences

    Cons

    low pay and little room for growth

    EF Education First2020-01-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great team environment -Transparency between team and management -Beer fridge fridays & snacks & coffee -Great benefits

    Cons

    -Long hours at times -path moving upwards seems difficult -nothing else really

    EF Education First2020-01-24
  3. "Fun Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Young environment feel - Very collaborative - Your voice will always be heard and the company values employee feedback - Everyone is contagiously happy and hard working - They throw amazing parties as well

    Cons

    - Salary, not so great

    EF Education First2020-01-22

    EF Education First Response

    January 27, 2020Director

    Thank you for this feedback! At EF, putting trust in our staff is key and we give every employee lots of responsibility from early in their EF career. We certainly agree that the people here are a special group! In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. We wish you all the best in your future EF career!

    Continue reading
  4. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work young people

    Cons

    Must be meeting goals to stay, like any sales job

    EF Education First2019-12-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great big-company culture, fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    employee experience is great, company takes care of you and provides many perks including a huge, modern building with many amenities. people are friendly and nice, culture is one of helping you reach your potential; including lots of one on ones with your managers, trainers, and anyone you want!

    Cons

    tour consultant role is sales heavy with lots of goals you have to reach. salary is low, but it is an entry level job

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-12-09
  6. "Amazing work atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can tell that everybody who works here genuinely LOVES this place, which is something that is extremely hard to find these days. EF hires people with amazing personalities and a great work ethic-- these people are amazing to work alongside. Also, every person who works here is passionate about the product.

    Cons

    Don't work here if you arent willing to go out of your comfort zone and challenge yourself every day.

    EF Education First2019-12-09

    EF Education First Response

    December 16, 2019Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    So happy to hear that you are loving your time at EF! I couldn't agree more - the people here are some of the most inspiring and fun colleagues you can find. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and I wish you all the best as you continue your career at EF! - Emily

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good, Based on Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun culture, ability to travel, great for relationship builders who like working with normal people

    Cons

    It is really based on your manager what your experience is like here, I've seen people get out of here quickly when they dont like their bosses

    EF Education First2019-11-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Micro managing leads to inefficiencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educational Tour Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Downtown core office, travel, beer fridge.

    Cons

    Huge micromanagement! Humiliating in an open concept environment. Pay is low. Always pushed to get new clients even if we were in fact losing money on a tour by booking them with "competitive prices". Work hard play hard with BIG party culture and drinking, including a beer fridge at work (open for special once a month socials).

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-11-22
  9. "Great culture, great people, little pay and mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel perks, over-the-top company events, fun culture, great people

    Cons

    Slow mobility in moving up in roles, little pay because they know a lot of people want the job

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-10-18

    EF Education First Response

    October 21, 2019Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you valued the opportunity to travel and that you enjoyed our culture here at EF. We certainly agree that the people here are a special group, too. We take professional development seriously and we're sorry to see that you found mobility to be a challenge. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Fun people and culture but bad pay and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of young fun people, good for just getting out of college, fun activities

    Cons

    Feel like you are in high school, terrible pay, poor management that only cares about goals and making their own money and not concerned with you, you are replaceable, long hours expected with no over time

    EF Education First2019-10-22

    EF Education First Response

    October 28, 2019Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had fun during your time at EF, but I'm really sorry to read about your experience with your manager. We pride ourselves on maintaining a people-focused approach to business and growth, and we value our employees as the great individuals they are. We appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best. - Emily, Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 116 reviews