EF Education First Tour Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Tour Consultant Reviews

Updated 28 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
48 Ratings
  1. "Great people, not enough growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Travel opportunities - Events

    Cons

    - Salary is very low - Growth takes very long

    EF Education First2019-05-28

    EF Education First Response

    June 7, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for this feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your colleagues, traveling the world, and the fun events. I'm a bit surprised to hear that you felt it was taking long to experience growth, particularly in your role as a Tour Consultant. Our Tour Consultants are part of an intensive ...

    Show More
  2. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Lots of opportunity for advancement. Great benefits and fun work culture.

    Cons

    Low salaries for entry-level employees.

    EF Education First2019-04-18
  3. "Great Company Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    high engery and amazing company culture!

    Cons

    A lot of recent grad hires can often make it feel like college mmore than your office

    EF Education First2019-03-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional, scheming manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free tour, amazing co-workers and nice office space

    Cons

    deliverables of over 100+ cold-calls to teachers in the middle of the summer?! Treated as a number not a teammate by any higher-ups. inter-team competition did not foster a kind or learning environment

    Advice to Management

    When you hire people, invest in them not only for your training but after training too.

    EF Education First2019-03-07

    EF Education First Response

    April 10, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to hear that you had a strong connection with your colleagues and that you were able to see the world with us. However I am sorry to hear of your negative experiences during your time with our team. Training is a huge priority for us, both in ...

    Show More
  5. "A lot of work for little money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel opportunities. Health benefits. The people.

    Cons

    Basically a glorified sales/cold calling job.

    EF Education First2019-02-08
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Office culture is amazing - tons of friendly, hard-working professionals. It's a great place to start and advance your career. Great perks too! Travel, fitness classes, language classes. Lots of opportunities to meet others and network.

    Cons

    During the busy season, hours can be long.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    EF Education First2019-01-09

    EF Education First Response

    January 29, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thanks for your feedback! It's great to hear you're learning, growing and having fun at work!

  7. "Educational Tour Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Tour Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office culture, location, events. Everyone here is working towards a common goal of getting more students travelling the world, which is pretty inspiring and makes for a great group of people to work alongside.

    Cons

    If working in sales there is always the pressure of activity and meeting goals - but if you like that type of environment, and that is what fuels you, it won't really be a con!

    EF Education First2018-12-03
  8. "EF is a huge company that feels small. My job combines 3 different sales roles into one so it’s dynamic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and ability to discuss and collaborate with other divisions in the company.

    Cons

    The job I do is hard to translate to other types of sales roles that I would be looking for, simply because we are asked to do so much in our role but the title doesn’t always match up to the level of experience you get out of your role.

    EF Education First2018-08-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "The best place to work on the planet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything. Company culture, energy, the people that work here, management, benefits, environment, pay, travel, etc.

    Cons

    This isn't the kind of job where with tenure you are just "promoted." If you want to move up in the company, you need to identify things that you like to do and speak with your management to work towards that. Then, when the opening in that role happens, you need to speak up and work towards it. This isn't really a con, but just food for thought for those that won't push towards things they want.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being wonderful.

    EF Education First2018-06-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Tour Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA

    I worked at EF Education First for more than a year

    Pros

    free travel perks, fun young work environment, good opportunity for recent grads, excellent benefits packages

    Cons

    highly demanding position in sales

    Advice to Management

    give more support to your TC's, give more opportunity for upward growth

    EF Education First2018-05-22
Found 93 reviews