EF Education First "low salary" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Employee Reviews about "low salary"

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
734 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is required to work Long hours journeys(in 106 reviews)

  • "low salary (perks instead of pay)(in 91 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low salary"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Education Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team work , International company and has many schools and sales offices all around the world. international career opportunities

    Cons

    low salary , work/ life balance is not great

    Advice to Management

    better training can be given

    EF Education First2016-08-26
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Residential EFL Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    great environment, good experience, lovely places

    Cons

    very low salaries, long hours

    Advice to Management

    reward your employees more!

    EF Education First2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No Support from Line Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Homestay Manager in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning experience and very dedicated and passionate people

    Cons

    No support from your line manager (school director), low salary, working 12-16 hours a day up to 6 days a week.

    Advice to Management

    You expect too much from people and don't understand those with families. I was discriminated by my line manager for having children. When I wasn't able to work until 22:00 one night I was told it was unacceptable and I need to sort out my personal life. I had started work at 07:00 that day. There is no care for student welfare to the point students terminate their course and go home because you don't want to listen... to their concerns. The host families that you use are disgusting, but when you are told this you say EF can't be picky. You put money before everything else including student happiness and staff. What is more shocking is that you failed your ISI inspection in October 2017 and only just passed the follow up in April 2018. Yet you have not declared this on your website, or to parents. In fact, I can't find any record of you being inspected despite the fact I know it happened. You are very good at covering up bad press by paying people off. Be warned, do not send your students here or work for this company.

    Show More
    EF Education First2019-01-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big environment - new technology. You meet a lot of people from all corners of the world.

    Cons

    Extra long working hours. Low salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making rush decisions .

    EF Education First2018-03-01
  5. "Exploitation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Varied and interesting tasks, lots of professional development, personal growth

    Cons

    Shockingly low salary, unbelievable workload and no empathy for burn outs

    Advice to Management

    If you raise the salary to a normal level you might not have such a turnover and a more stable and dedicated team

    EF Education First2017-11-28
  6. "Regional Operations Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Operations Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International company, with a great environment and the office is located right in the heart of London, on Oxford street.

    Cons

    Difficult communication among departments because they are all around the world (Boston, lucerne, London). Not many career opportunities. Very low salary.

    Advice to Management

    Give staff better training at the beginning of the placement and give them more feedback so they can grow and see what they can improve on.

    EF Education First2017-10-10
  7. "Ef london"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Support in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    Relaxed environment and friendly management.

    Cons

    Difficult to promote and low salary

    EF Education First2016-08-11
  8. Helpful (6)

    "To be avoided unless you don't care about having a life outside of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly fun work environment and amazing coworkers Multi-Cultural environment

    Cons

    Crazy working hours Unrealistic work expectations Incredibly high staff turn-over Really low salaries (the lowest in the industry as far as I can tell)

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and give them a reason to stay.

    EF Education First2016-04-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer in test"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, informal, freedom to apply new technologies. Good benefits for employees, amazing office and nice people

    Cons

    Mid level management is poor, not specialized in agile practices and poor project management. Low salary.

    Advice to Management

    Improve!

    EF Education First2015-08-17
  10. "Some structure please"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment. Flexibility. Part of a big international Company.

    Cons

    High Turnover. Low attention to employees from management. Poor internal communication Super Low salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees!

    EF Education First2015-08-18
Found 91 reviews