EF Education First "travel opportunities" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF Education First Employee Reviews about "travel opportunities"

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
736 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is required to work Long hours journeys(in 106 reviews)

  • "low salary (perks instead of pay)(in 92 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "travel opportunities"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Video Crew Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Really loved working with the Video team at EF - culturally conscious, exciting travel opportunities and always looking to tackle new and innovative ways to tell stories centered around their core mission.

    Cons

    long hours, but to be expected for a video shoot in the field.

    EF Education First2017-04-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional and poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met great people Some travel opportunities

    Cons

    Gossipy high school culture--seems fun if you're young, but you waste a lot of time on office politics. Managers take part in "who slept with who"/"how attractive is X" gossip, which is uncomfortable and unprofessional Poor management No growth opportunities Acts like it's changing the world, but it's a sales company

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-11-12

    EF Education First Response

    November 14, 2017Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for this feedback. I hate to hear that you didn't enjoy your time here, but am glad that you seemed to have met some good people and saw new parts of the world while working with us. In the last year, we've rolled out dozens of new professional development opportunities for managers so that they have the knowledge, support and resources to be great leaders for their teams. We've also worked hard to grow our staff through training and weekly Staff Coaching Office Hours and by empowering them to entrepreneurial within their roles. Additionally, we've beefed up our programming and internal Employee Development Team resources dedicated to helping staff propel their careers by transitioning to exciting new roles internally -- often in EF offices abroad or in different products. I do appreciate your feedback and hope you'll contact me directly with any additional ideas for how we can continue to improve. Thanks, Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to come every morning!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Tour Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone at work is like minded and therefore I feel like I'm working with friends - Many great travel opportunities for all departments - Continuing PD opportunities - Great support from colleagues in all departments - Fun activities every month and get to participate in "kick offs" every two years that is a combination of PD, getting to know the team better, and a fun time.

    Cons

    - We have busier periods (March break and early summer travel) which can be stressful, but also a lot of fun when you know what you're doing. Not a con, but someone who is faint of heart probably wouldn't be able to handle it

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-09-10

    EF Education First Response

    September 30, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Thank you for this feedback! Our people is key to our business and I'm happy to hear you get to work with people you love and also travel and explore whilst working. It's one of the many perks working at EF! Best regards.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (41)

    "Inspiring mission, incredible opportunities to see the world while developing your skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Everything we do at EF is about helping people build bridges across borders and cultures, spark mutual understanding, and create new opportunities. It's a mission that feels incredibly relevant right now. - Travel opportunities: I spent more than 3 months traveling abroad last year to some of the most amazing places including Spain, Sweden, UK, France, and Germany. Everyone travels once a year, most travel far more than that. - The people. EF people make coming into work every day energizing and fun. - The benefits. Probably among the best on offer in Greater Boston.

    Cons

    - EF isn't for everyone; and in particular, folks who are looking for lots of structure and a clear path to promotion on an annual or semi-annual basis. People who aren't a good EF fit probably won't be happy here.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-01-08

    EF Education First Response

    January 14, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for this feedback! Our mission, people, professional development and benefits and perks are the most common things our staff refer to when they talk about why they love working here. I love that you saw so much of the world last year. I hope 2019 brings more amazing opportunities your way!

    Continue reading
  5. "Amazing company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people! Positive and energetic people, passionate to make a big difference in the world, helping people become global citizens through language, cultural exchange and educational travel. Travel! There are lots of travel opportunities with EF and everywhere you go, you meet inspiring EF colleagues. Ownership! You make the role you have your own, you drive your own development and if you have a nothing is impossible attitude, you will be able to implement a lot of your good ideas. It's like a startup but you have the support and knowledge.

    Cons

    Salary levels aren't the best, but the culture and opportunities weighs up

    EF Education First2019-05-16
  6. "Great people, not enough growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Travel opportunities - Events

    Cons

    - Salary is very low - Growth takes very long

    EF Education First2019-05-28

    EF Education First Response

    June 7, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for this feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your colleagues, traveling the world, and the fun events. I'm a bit surprised to hear that you felt it was taking long to experience growth, particularly in your role as a Tour Consultant. Our Tour Consultants are part of an intensive Sales Development Program that includes monthly and quarterly professional development opportunities. The Sales Development Program is also designed to meet each individual within the program's professional growth objectives -- which could include anything from promotion to a sales leadership role to transitioning into a new function -- and holds the Tour Consultant's manager accountable for helping the TC meet those goals. I'm sorry to hear that the program did not meet your expectations. Thanks again for your feedback, and best of luck in this next phase of your career. -- Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for a young travel enthusiast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    -Company has a lot of younger staff, 20's-30's -Very fun and inclusive culture, a lot of employee appreciation, support and encouragement -Beer fridge and weekly happy hours -Free snacks -Monthly themed happy hour party (St Patrick's Day, Hawaiian Luau, etc) -Ping Pong table -Lots of clubs and socialization opportunities (great place to work if you want to get involved and be friends with your coworkers) -Lots of opportunity for movement and advancement, company really encourages you to stay and find the right fit if you're not happy rather than leaving -Company is not hierarchical, so you never feel 'less than' or like you're low on the ladder, everyone works and socializes together -Free travel opportunities (get to go on the tours they sell for free, either once a year or every other year depending on your position) -Work travel opportunities (EF has locations all around the world, staff will often travel to other offices for work) -Feel like you are actually working towards something important, letting students travel and see the world -Does not feel like a soul-sucking meaningless corporate job - day-to-day life is really fun, lots of teamwork, plenty of time to let off steam and socialize, you feel appreciated and like you are making a difference

    Cons

    -If you aren't a 'party' person, or are more introverted, this might not be the place for you -The pay is fair but not super high (although in sales you can make good bonuses/commission) - if you are on a single income or expecting a lot, it might be a little tight, but there are a lot of perks/benefits that make up for this -Hours can be long in the sales positions, sometimes working overtime/weekends, however a lot of the time you get lieu hours/they are flexible about you making time up -Sometimes you are expected to stay extra hours for events, meetings, etc without compensation - but again, hours tend to be sort of flexible to make up for this.

    EF Education First2019-05-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of work and patience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English As A Second Language Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, kids, travel opportunities, team building

    Cons

    very fast paced, a business not a school, can be overwhelming at times

    EF Education First2019-04-12

    EF Education First Response

    April 14, 2019Vice President

    Thanks for sharing your views on your time with EF. It's great to hear that you enjoyed working with your students, traveling, and team building activities. We understand that the fast-paced work environment can be challenging. We try and supplement this with training and development, health and wellness, team building, and other support initiatives. We greatly value the hard work and dedication that many of our teachers bring to the classroom every day. Thank you again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to start a career and learn the basics - lots of young people and travel opportunities

    Cons

    Pay does not match cost of living in Boston - no guidance for those in middle management - high turnover

    EF Education First2019-02-19

    EF Education First Response

    February 22, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to hear you learned a lot and got to see the world with us. We promote staff into management roles early in their careers because we believe they can meet their teams’ high expectations of them. But we’ve also heard feedback that managers crave more support and training, which has been a major focus over the last year. In addition to the ongoing support and mentorship that managers receive from their product’s leadership team, managers now also have the opportunity to participate in weekly manager coaching sessions; monthly manager training workshops; bi-monthly manager nuts and bolts trainings; and bi-annual new manager training conferences. We’ll continue to focus on giving our managers the tools they need to lead high performing teams. -- Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

    Continue reading
  10. "A lot of work for little money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel opportunities. Health benefits. The people.

    Cons

    Basically a glorified sales/cold calling job.

    EF Education First2019-02-08
Found 60 reviews