EF English First Online English Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF English First Online English Teacher Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
EF English First President 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
3 Ratings
  1. "Awesome ESL Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    I like their platform. I love my students.

    Cons

    The TNS. If you get just one TNS, you disqualify for the whole month student's fee.

    EF English First2020-02-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wellness at EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF really cares about the happiness and development of teachers, I learn a lot from EF career development events and activities.

    Cons

    As a teacher, I need to work on the weekend. But I like to spend time with students, I love my job.

    EF English First2019-11-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A decent job that could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I have been working at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    (1) The system is relatively simple to navigate. (2) You can choose any hours. (3) You can recover from student no shows with writing corrections. (4) The lessons are straightforward and some of the best lesson materials I have ever encountered.

    Cons

    (1) The pay is comparatively low. (2) There is no opportunity for career advancement or raises. (3) Trying to have lessons with people who are extremely low level (who need bilingual teachers) is very frustrating. (4) Trying to have classes with people whose levels and lesson materials are mismatched is very frustrating. (5) People enrolling in the courses without any counseling as to their English development path is frustrating. (6) Having to accommodate ridiculous custom lesson requests from students. (7) People who do not participate are permitted to remain in group classes.

    EF English First2019-09-26

    EF English First Response

    November 12, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you find the platform easy-to-use and that you are enjoying delivering EF proprietary content. We would be happy to support you with additional training in managing mixed level classes and creating content for custom topic classes, so please reach out to your manager to learn more. If you have any additional comments or questions please feel to reach out via email to teacher.feedback@ef.com. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Let down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    They did give lots of hours to begin with and the schedule is flexible

    Cons

    I was working many hours a week. The pay is lot great, then, I lost my hours and had no work. Contact with try he office is chaotic to say the least

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-10-10
  5. "Descent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Decatur, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They always pay you on-time.

    Cons

    Recently I can't get enough hours.

    EF English First2019-04-12
  6. "I am currently working at EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher in Milan

    I have been working at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, I choose the hours I want to work, the lesson materials are already prepared and preloaded. You can make a decent amount of money per month depending on how many hours you teach.

    Cons

    Sometimes you will not have classes assigned to you but luckily this is rare.

    EF English First2019-01-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Do not work at EF!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Online English Teacher in Jakarta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to live in Indonesia.

    Cons

    The management is so stupid. They should name the company "profits first, teachers last."

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-01-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Online English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF English First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an amazing company to work for. The management team is great, always ready to help if you need it. The training was good too. You can pretty much work as much as you want.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints about this company.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2016-08-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Online Teaching Was surprisingly great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Structured work hours with regular classes Opportunities to develop into a team leader, take on new projects and advance in career Great curriculum Loved working with of my international colleagues Office environment was very good Lots of social activities Free Online Chinese classes

    Cons

    Took time to get used to the new teaching technology in the beginning. Everyone is expected to contribute ideas and mix with the group. As a shy person, I found this difficult at first.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2016-07-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews