EF English First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF English First Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
157 Ratings
Pros
  • "Large company with schools all over China(in 74 reviews)

  • "plenty of progression opportunities and mainly it is a positive working environment(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "make it very difficult to leave company for another job in China(in 49 reviews)

  • "Long hours, sometimes management is disorganized(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    Legal visas etc., paid on time, good pastoral care.

    Cons

    No cons that you wouldn't find in most other jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe employ some older people so there is more of a mix.

    EF English First2019-02-10
  2. "a great year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    great experience to see other cultures

    Cons

    poor management, but only in my centre

    EF English First2019-03-20
  3. "Not the most competitive salary for English teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    Good onboarding and always paid correctly and on-time.

    Cons

    There are far more competitive salaries out there with better benefits such as more annual leave.

    Advice to Management

    Give teachers salaries that reflect the number of years ESL experience they have.

    EF English First2019-03-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you want to get into teaching and have NO experience, you can do their 120-hour course and get some background in teaching EFL for free.

    Cons

    There are lots of negatives. Firstly, if you don't have a TESOL or Celta qualification you have to do a 120-hour course that won't necessarily have any validity outside of EF schools. You don't get a contract until you complete this. Fine, you may say, if you're just starting out in EFL teaching. After all, the course is free. Better to do a course that you can use to find work after your summer work is over though.... In my case, I had a lot of experience teaching EFL but just didn't have the qualification (just a PGCE) so it would have meant 120 hours of unpaid hours for me just to get a 4-week job. Also, the company doesn't tell you what you will get paid UNTIL you complete the course. I did a bit of research and discovered that the company expects you to do 6 hours of teaching every week day and then take the students out on Saturdays for an excursion. They pay roughly £400 a week so we're talking about £11 an hour (not including prep time). Some people on here seem to think that's a good rate for a teacher. If that's your view, you're welcome to it. I personally found it insulting. If teachers don't push back against language schools like this, then they will always be treated as though they're not worth much. Don't work for a company that won't tell you how much you'll get paid in order to hide the terrible rate of pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay better. Be open about what you're offering the teacher for their valuable work.

    EF English First2019-03-04
  5. "Residence Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good and friendly teams Very busy

    Cons

    Long hours During the end of summer, there is not much to do.

    EF English First2018-11-22
  6. Helpful (4)

    "working as a tour leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EF English First

    Pros

    can't think of anything

    Cons

    -worst salary ever in the industry, even though you expect tips (35£ a day) - selection process long and painful, "American" style, doesn´t matter whether you are new or have 10 years experience; I would say best if you have no experience

    EF English First2018-12-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at EF English First

    Pros

    Stable work in a trusted company

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other English schools. Very high turnover of staff due to poor treatment

    EF English First2018-05-27
  8. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training programme, good opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Teaching material is already prepared by EF so not as much flexibility in using teacher's own materials

    EF English First2018-01-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Ok for first time teachers. Much better options available if not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Legit visa Paid on time Good stepping stone into ESL, they will support you with training initially.

    Cons

    Poor management - Will take advantage of you at every opportunity. Summer course has you working a lot of extra hours with laughable compensation. High turnover, you will probably see a completely new office within a year.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so surprised so many teachers are leaving when they get treated poorly.

    EF English First2017-12-13
  10. "a fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First part-time

    Pros

    very friendly work environment, open and communicative, very high sense of happiness in this company. Colleagues are very helpful and supportive.

    Cons

    sometimes long hour works, can be stressful. Some parents are hard to deal with. should have more native English speakers as tutor.

    Advice to Management

    More recruitment, more experienced tutors, especially foreign tutors. More flexible work-life balance, and more sick pay and holidays.

    EF English First2017-02-15
Found 407 reviews