EF English First Senior Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Senior Teacher

EF English First Senior Teacher Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Jacob Toren
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great Job, Not a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting people working with you, the teachers are great. Good potential for moving up the ladder, at least when I was there. Chance to gain different experience in different depts. Some good teacher training, however this is mostly scrapped now.

    Cons

    Terrible working hours and little respect for staff Little coherence internally: Total mismatch of pro ported values and actual actions Appalling management attitudes at the top, continual change for changes sake Business trumps education High turnover of staff, real imbalance in fairness between Chinese and Western staff-though this is changing

    Advice to Management

    Build the company into something more evenly balanced between education and business. You do both after all. Stop externally hiring useless ladder climbers as your senior management. Be much more transparent and flat (you say you are but really you're not.)

    EF English First2014-10-19
  2. "Work hard for huge return."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Tianjin, Tianjin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Training - a lot of teachers come to work with EF who don't have adequate training. EF has weekly training sessions and one-on-one mentoring to get you ready for the classroom. *Career development - if you work hard, your efforts are recognised and your career will progress. But it takes two to tango - you get out what you put in. *Living in China and receiving a salary which is appropriate for an expat means the...

    Show More

    Cons

    *Hours are long, but if you're organised, then you can get your work done and learn good time management skills from managers in order to do this better. *It gets hot in Tianjin, if you don't like heat, at least all of the schools and offices are airconditioned, and in winter it gets really cold, but heating is adequate. *Communication can be a little difficult but the school has free Chinese lessons etc.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    EF English First2019-07-15

    EF English First Response

    July 19, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your 5+ years of dedication to EF. We are happy to hear that you've had such a rewarding experience working with EF as well as living in Tianjin. We wish you continued success.

  3. Helpful (18)

    "Beyond just teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities for upward development. ESL is a tough industry and it's something you age out of, if you choose to, at EF you have more than a few directions into which you can develop and be promoted. I know people who started off as teachers with no previous relevant experience who are now senior content developers as well as Regional Managers etc As far as annual leave goes: For your second year you'll get...

    Show More

    Cons

    If all you do is teach you might find the job a bit constraining as materials are overdeveloped to better assist new teachers so it will be up to you to adapt and change materials to suit your own style. It might at times feel like you are being spoonfed but again, more experienced teachers will probably be able to easily adapt materials and lesson aims to depend on student needs. Another con, especially, if you are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep focussing on teacher development and make sure you set expectations during the recruitment phase. Don't promise prospective teachers things which a CD or DoS can't deliver on. Also, make sure that PM's keep track of teachers satisfaction with management as unaired issues tend to build up and that causes some people to leave or to become disengaged.

    EF English First2018-12-31
  4. "Absolutely good training and support within schools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teacher development , good in centre training

    Cons

    Missing Sundays and special holidays with family

    Advice to Management

    Develop an understanding that especially international teachers would like to spend lengthier periods of time with family when they go home, this the current Winter school arrangement is not conducive

    EF English First2018-12-28
  5. "Exciting TRT events, Systematic Teacher development Path and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great foreign company where you can experience different cultures and meet people from different countries. The development path is getting more and more clearer and systematic through years. The working environment is nice, ease and professional. As long as you want to shine, there are many opportunities open every year now. The training sessions for teaching and leadership is very systematic and well organized....

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a kids and teens teacher, you need to work at the weekends and the schedule is usually busy at the weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more help and guidelines to every individual teacher development.

    EF English First2018-12-10
  6. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working as an independent contractor for 3 years. There is a lot of flexibility and I get a chance to work with students from all over the world. I love everything about my position and feel that the staff is very responsive and helpful whenever a rare issue arises.

    Cons

    Paid monthly, lower pay than other companies in this field

    EF English First2018-08-08
  7. "TRT Ceramic Painting Event"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Beijing, Beijing

      I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The activity was very interesting since I'm a big fun of painting and cats! I love experiencing new things and really appreciate the opportunities offered by TRT. Hope to see more fun activities in the future.

      Cons

      Sometimes the time table of TRT events doesn't match my schedule, so it's quite pity when I can't sign in some of the amazing events.

      Advice to Management

      I hope to see various of activities in the future, such as tailoring, flower arrangement, etc.

      EF English First2018-06-05
    • "Good First Teaching Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Teacher in Jakarta
      Recommends

      I worked at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place to get your feet wet

      Cons

      *Don't expect high pay *I wasn't given a great deal of feedback.

      EF English First2018-05-22
    • "Feeling"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Long annual leave, clear developmental ladder

      Cons

      Balance between local staff and foreign staff. Interaction among different departments should be improved.

      Advice to Management

      Responsibilities for different roles should be clear.

      EF English First2018-05-01
    • Helpful (5)

      "The McDonalds of English teaching"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Teacher in Wuxi, Jiangsu
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Hire anyone regardless of experience or interview performance - Good products created by EF

      Cons

      - Sales focused environment with little importance given to education - Tiny or zero compensation for large amounts of overtime - Lowest possible amount of holidays provided - Workers are financially punished for taking sick days or holidays - Stressful environment and overwork leading to unhappy staff and poor health - Poor salary - Poor management and exploitative franchise investors - Very high turnover

      Advice to Management

      Provide a better environment for teachers and other staff to decrease turnover and inspire better work. Staff who feel exploited have no reason to stay with EF or provide good service.

      EF English First2017-11-09

      EF English First Response

      December 26, 2017Vice President

      Thank you for your feedback. If you'd like to send an email on how we can improve the environment for teachers and staff, we'd be happy to listen to your suggestions. You can contact teacher.feedback@ef.com.

    Found 15 reviews