EF English First Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF English First Teacher Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
EF English First President 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
100 Ratings
  1. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training programme, good opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Teaching material is already prepared by EF so not as much flexibility in using teacher's own materials

    EF English First2018-01-05
  2. "Great staff and students but poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - English Language Teacher 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Academic team/management is great. Very flexible, honest, and accommodating Students in general are there to learn and receptive to a variety of classroom activities Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Poor pay Very corporate, it can be hard to get a straight answer from the senior management

    EF English First2020-02-18
  3. "Average summer camp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Residential EFL Teacher in Oxford, England

    I worked at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    The lessons are pretty much set up for you

    Cons

    Money is appalling compared to other English summer camps Teachers should not have to do so many additional duties

    EF English First2020-01-11
  4. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Teacher in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, nice students and facilities

    Cons

    Very average salary that could be better.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-09-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you want to get into teaching and have NO experience, you can do their 120-hour course and get some background in teaching EFL for free.

    Cons

    There are lots of negatives. Firstly, if you don't have a TESOL or Celta qualification you have to do a 120-hour course that won't necessarily have any validity outside of EF schools. You don't get a contract until you complete this. Fine, you may say, if you're just starting out in EFL teaching. After all, the course is free. Better to do a course that you can use to find work after your summer work is over though. In my case, I had a lot of experience teaching EFL but just didn't have the qualification (just a PGCE) so it would have meant 120 hours of unpaid hours for me just to get a 4-week job. Also, the company doesn't tell you what you will get paid UNTIL you complete the course. I did a bit of research and discovered that the company expects you to do 6 hours of teaching every week day and then take the students out on Saturdays for an excursion. They pay roughly £400 a week so we're talking about £11 an hour (not including prep time). Some people on here seem to think that's a good rate for a teacher. If that's your view, you're welcome to it. I personally found it insulting. If teachers don't push back against language schools like this, then they will always be treated as though they're not worth much. Don't work for a company that won't tell you how much you'll get paid in order to hide the terrible rate of pay.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-03-04

    EF English First Response

    March 19, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for your post. Many new teachers do begin their TEFL careers with EF and benefit from the extensive training, support and development opportunities we provide. A basic TEFL qualification is required of all teachers, even those with previous teaching experience. Please note that the TEFL qualification is not only an EF requirement, but a government regulation when coming to China. In the summer, some staff do work a 6 day week, but this is always clear before you start.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Ok for first time teachers. Much better options available if not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Legit visa Paid on time Good stepping stone into ESL, they will support you with training initially.

    Cons

    Poor management - Will take advantage of you at every opportunity. Summer course has you working a lot of extra hours with laughable compensation. High turnover, you will probably see a completely new office within a year.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2017-12-13

    EF English First Response

    December 26, 2017Vice President

    Thank you for your review. If you would like to offer more feedback on how we can improve the overall teaching experience for our teachers, please send an email to teacher.feedback@ef.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Ther"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a real career here if you want it, plenty of opportunities for promotion within the EF network. Training workshops. Support network

    Cons

    The half hour catch up classes for students of other teachers who missed their previous class (you can't do anything in half an hour) Money at times seems to be the most important thing to the company.

    EF English First2016-07-14
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Flexible online work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English Teacher in Perth, Scotland

    I worked at EF English First

    Pros

    Flexible - create your own schedule from week to week. Open 24hrs a day so suits those in any time zone. Easy - all group class materials are pre-prepared and are very straightforward and easy to use. Fun - Lovely students and short classes make for a fun atmosphere. I worked various hours as a contract teacher over several years and overall the job was enjoyable, extremely convenient and suited my needs. I taught mainly private classes and spent my own time preparing class material which was not a problem for me as I was at home and could do it when convenient. I enjoyed it and the students really were super.

    Cons

    Pay - EF employs teachers of all levels of ability so the low pay (£6-£7) is good for some but very poor for those of us demanding £20 an hr elsewhere. Management - I was left to my own devices most of the time but I saw decent teachers treated very badly, threatened, accused of being unprofessional and underpaid every month! IT - Constant problems with sound and connection. Considering it is an online school this should be faultless. Customer service - I got many complaints from students about cost and how they were not given the service they paid for, that is unacceptable for any school. You MUST treat your students kindly and with respect. I felt very bad for some of them. Overwork - more and more work is being demanded for the same pay which was starting to get out of hand just before I left. I felt the respect for teachers was even lower than that for students sadly.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2016-01-14
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great Job, Not a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting people working with you, the teachers are great. Good potential for moving up the ladder, at least when I was there. Chance to gain different experience in different depts. Some good teacher training, however this is mostly scrapped now.

    Cons

    Terrible working hours and little respect for staff Little coherence internally: Total mismatch of pro ported values and actual actions Appalling management attitudes at the top, continual change for changes sake Business trumps education High turnover of staff, real imbalance in fairness between Chinese and Western staff-though this is changing

    Continue reading
    EF English First2014-10-19
  10. "Your experience will vary ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to travel is great and meeting many individuals is another awesome feature.

    Cons

    The lack of proper management. The pay is not worth what they REQUIRE you to do.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2020-02-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 276 reviews