EF English First "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EF English First Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 382 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Large company with schools all over China(in 67 reviews)

  • "I find my work environment to be positive and upbeat(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "make it very difficult to leave company for another job in China(in 44 reviews)

  • "Long hours, sometimes management is disorganized(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "a fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First part-time

    Pros

    very friendly work environment, open and communicative, very high sense of happiness in this company. Colleagues are very helpful and supportive.

    Cons

    sometimes long hour works, can be stressful. Some parents are hard to deal with. should have more native English speakers as tutor.

    Advice to Management

    More recruitment, more experienced tutors, especially foreign tutors. More flexible work-life balance, and more sick pay and holidays.

    EF English First2017-02-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Support and First Job In China"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    If you’re coming to China for the first time, EF is a great way to get settled into the country. For me, the culture shock was real upon coming into the country so it helped to have the support provided. The two weeks of orientation really helped to just have time to get used to the country, but as far as teaching goes, if you’re quite new, it still felt like being thrown into the deep end for me. You’ll learn and... get better as you teach though. Curriculum and lesson plans are all organized and you’re encouraged to use games and interaction in class. What you learn here is really helpful if you want to continue in teaching. The work environment is really professional among Chinese and foreign staff, and there are events sponsored by EF year round if you want to take advantage of it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Had to find our own apartments by our third weekend there. It was nice to have 2-3 weeks to do this, but still stressful.

    EF English First2019-06-21

    EF English First Response

    June 26, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We understand the challenges and stress of relocation to a foreign country. We are happy to hear that our orientation program made the adjustment a little bit easier. We're extremely proud of our teaching materials, and the ongoing training and support ...

    Show More
  3. "I have been working at EF full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good work environment and friendly workmates, Work/Life Balance.

    Cons

    layoff lots FTE in shanghai....

    EF English First2019-06-24
  4. "Great Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EF English First is an awesome company to work for in China. They gave me a lot of support in my initial visa and visa renewal, making it very straightforward and ensuring that I knew well in advance of any deadlines or things to sort out. I've received a lot of training and support at work and my Managers have always listened to where my interests are and given me opportunities to find projects or positions that... align with those. When I've had personal issues come up I've found my Managers to be supportive in helping me navigate things, which has made it a lot easier to stay on working in China. I've worked for various different large companies and I appreciate how at EF, people really do try to live out the corporate values at work. I find my work environment to be positive and upbeat.

    Show More

    Cons

    Vacation time is good by local standards but less than you might have from back home, at least for your first year or two.

    EF English First2019-04-22

    EF English First Response

    May 23, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for sharing about your experience. We're pleased to hear you've felt supported throughout your EF career. We care a lot about the teacher experience and ensuring that everyone receives training and support to be successful at work. It's great that you enjoy the work environment, ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Start Your ESL Journey in China"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Qinhuangdao
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Large company with schools all over China. - Competitive pay. - Comprehensive range of materials to help with lesson planning. - Structured training programme. - Relaxed working environment. - Great Team.

    Cons

    - Sometimes money matters more than teaching quality. - High staff turnover.

    EF English First2019-04-09
  6. "Exciting TRT events, Systematic Teacher development Path and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great foreign company where you can experience different cultures and meet people from different countries. The development path is getting more and more clearer and systematic through years. The working environment is nice, ease and professional. As long as you want to shine, there are many opportunities open every year now. The training sessions for teaching and leadership is very systematic and well... organized. Promotions can be very fast in current career development path. Career opportunities are fair and also challenging. You can always learn new things from colleagues. Escape from all peak hours of Shanghai. Many annual leaves.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a kids and teens teacher, you need to work at the weekends and the schedule is usually busy at the weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more help and guidelines to every individual teacher development.

    EF English First2018-12-10
  7. "Teacher events"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always good to see other EF staff members from other schools. Good working environment, at my current location. Can't honestly state how all schools operate.

    Cons

    Communiction issues, sometimes understaning the true meaning of the conversation can be challenging. Just another adventure working in China.

    EF English First2018-12-10
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF English First

    Pros

    Great opportunities, cool working environment with international colleagues. You have the chance to choose and conduct projects that interest you since they believe employees will perform better when they like what they are doing.

    Cons

    Sometimes working hours can be long, but well valued and compensated

    EF English First2018-08-17
  9. "Good entry level job, fun environment with diverse coworkers,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Educator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -they help you get your visa and housing accommodations -friendly and safe work environment -they care about your well being

    Cons

    -long shifts (but it depends on your school) -last minute changes to weekly schedules -difficult to balance work and life

    Advice to Management

    -increase pay - have more EF group excursions

    EF English First2018-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working with EF has been excellent!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Teacher in Guangzhou, Guangdong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The teaching team and work environment are great! The students are very friendly and easy to work with! EF provides free monthly teachers events like going to great restaurants or playing laser tag with other teachers from the city. EF sponsors the Visa process and integrates new teachers very effectively into their respective schools. Overall, I have had a wonderful experience.

    Cons

    Like any big company, change can happen slowly. Promotional opportunities can take some time to happen.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! If you have good, qualified people and opportunities for advancement, promote them quickly as opposed to waiting for them to (maybe) renew their contract.

    EF English First2018-03-28
Found 382 reviews