ELEXON Reviews

Updated Sep 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 46 reviews

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
ELEXON Chief Executive Officer Mark Bygraves
Mark Bygraves
20 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Jun 15, 2021 - Senior Communications Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great to work with, good benefits, and a flexible approach to working post-Covid.

    Cons

    It's a small company which has it's limitations, however there's lots of change happening which means opportunities to get involved in different projects and initiatives.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for posting a review on our Glassdoor site. One of the regular areas of feedback I get from current and past colleagues is that we offer a positive and supportive place to work so I am pleased that you have experienced the same. Your “con” is that we are small, and therefore this limits some opportunities. As a non-profit company, we do have to make sure that we manage our headcount carefully so that we do not overburden the industry that pays for our services. I am delighted that the significant change we are experiencing as a company (and an industry) presents lots of opportunities and initiatives for you to be part of. We expect this change to continue for the foreseeable future and raise even more possibilities. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Sep 24, 2021 - Project Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits available to employees

    Cons

    Too much restructuring in recent times

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for your feedback via Glassdoor. I am very glad to see your pros as these are things we try to focus on as we are a small company with a genuine drive to support our employees’ emotional, physical and financial wellbeing. As you say, we are undergoing a lot of transformation both from a technology and digital perspective as well as within our business operating culture. This is a significant time at Elexon as these fundamental changes to how we work and how we supply services to our customers become embedded in how the company moves forward. We are at the beginning of this process and essential progress has been made but more will take place as the new operating model is fully embedded. It will take a while but we intend to drive forward with the changes to achieve our corporate vision “to champion innovation to better our customers’ experience and reach targets and goals that will benefit everyone in the electricity industry”. We already have a range of important skills at Elexon and expect that this business transformation will also create many opportunities for our staff. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst Company to work for

    Aug 17, 2021 - Finance Business Partner in Euston, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Zero Pros in working at Elexon

    Cons

    Discrepancy in salary between old staff and new staff joining to do the same job. When you leave they short pay your salary and accrued leave as they state working days are 365 instead of the 260 as defined by law worldwide. They also short pay you for notice in lieu as they state one months notice is 20 days and one weeks notice is 5 days when legally worldwide one months notice is 30 days and one weeks notice is 7 days.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    I am sorry that your experience at Elexon consisted of only a short period of time and I am of course disappointed by the comments in your review. I note that you are querying our understanding of employment regulations and would like to offer some clarification in case there is a misunderstanding in some way. I have checked again with our legal team and can confirm that our methods for calculating holiday entitlement and notice pay do meet legal and best practice obligations. We have also validated our procedures using an independent tax and payroll consultant to ensure we match HMRC guidance and normal market practice. I hope this has allayed any concerns you may have had so that you can see that we have managed this process for you correctly. Brett Buchanan Head of Resurcing

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic place to work

    Jun 22, 2021 - Operational Support Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Senior leadership really thinks about staff welfare

    Cons

    Can be hard to get promoted unless someone leaves

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for your Glassdoor posting. It is always important for us to hear about people’s experiences of Elexon as this helps us gauge how we can improve things, particularly for our staff and for their overall work/life balance. Currently, we are undergoing a significant transformation of our processes and technology and this is having an important influence on both our business culture and on our employee culture. As our business culture changes we are also focusing on our employee experiences at Elexon and have recently undertaken a review of our culture and values to ensure that they meet our staff’s expectations. This in turn is helping us review our training and promotion opportunities for our current staff as well as for any new recruitment that may also take place. We are hoping that there will be many more opportunities for staff at Elexon as the demand on our services continue to increase. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Jun 19, 2021 - Head of Supply Chain Management in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of transformation and digitalisation opportunity currently.

    Cons

    Lacking coordinated corporate business culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for your comment on our Glassdoor site. As you say, we are undergoing a lot of transformation both from a technology and digital perspective as well as within our business operating culture. This is a significant time at Elexon as these fundamental changes to how we work and how we supply services to our customers become imbedded in how the company moves forward. We are at the beginning of this process and essential progress has been made but more will take place as the new operating model is fully embedded. It will take a while but we intend to drive forward with the changes to achieve our corporate vision “to champion innovation to better our customers’ experience and reach targets and goals that will benefit everyone in the electricity industry”. We already have a range of important skills at Elexon and expect that this business transformation will also create many opportunities for our staff. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good stuff

    Jun 14, 2021 - Business Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Company to work for

    Cons

    not applicable for now right

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for your comments on Glassdoor. I am pleased you are having a positive experience working at Elexon. One of the regular areas of feedback I get from current and past staff is that we offer a positive and supportive place to work, so I am delighted that you are experiencing the same. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work, just some minor tweaks needed

    Apr 14, 2021 - Risk Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, strong benefits package, the freedom to make impact.

    Cons

    Formal development planning is undercooked, Knowledge and Experience is siloed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for you feedback via Glassdoor. I am very glad to see your pros as these are things we try to focus on as we are a small company and competing with bigger companies can be hard. Your Cons reference some areas we are now keen to improve and when we recently completed our review of our operating model these were raised and we now have a number of ongoing initiatives that are looking at how we can share knowledge around the various teams and enable staff to move across different roles to develop their skill-sets. This new operating model has already had an impact on how teams interact with each other so we are hoping for good things to come out of the work and to break down those inevitable silos. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good company to work for

    Apr 9, 2021 - Legal Counsel in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive company with interesting work

    Cons

    quite small, so limited in some respects

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for posting a review on our Glassdoor site. One of the regular areas of feedback I get from current and past staff is that we offer a positive and supportive place to work so I am very happy that you have experienced the same. Your “con” is that we are small and therefore this limits some opportunities. As a non-profit company we do have to make sure that we manage our headcount carefully so that we do not overburden the industry that pays for our services. However, over recent years, due to the greater demand on these services, we have gradually increased our numbers and this has provided a range of openings that our staff are able to take advantage of. We have recently reviewed our operating model and are now undertaking a review of the skill-sets and training that will be required to meet these increased demands. We are expecting these changes to really expand the opportunities our staff are able to access. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good

    Apr 7, 2021 - Business Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A calm environment to work in

    Cons

    Need to like the Energy market to want to stay there long term

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Thank you for submitting a review on our Glassdoor site. We are currently looking at our culture and values to ensure that they up-to-date and reflective of how staff want working at Elexon to be. Your comment about Elexon being a calm place to work is certainly part of that ongoing culture. Thanks. You also mention needing to like the energy market and that is certainly true but it is also worth mentioning that there are a range of other roles at Elexon that are not fully immersed in energy. I am thinking of areas such as HR, finance, project management and digital where skills are required that sit across the company and are less energy focused so if that is your area of interest please consider Elexon when next looking for a job. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Do not bother @graduates

    Feb 25, 2021 - Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Honestly, can't think of one

    Cons

    So much promises & politics

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ELEXON Response

    Would you be happy to have further communication with me? It would help me get to the bottom of why your experience of working at Elexon was this way? I know I am asking a lot but I would really like to know more about your time with Elexon as this can help us develop opportunities here for our staff. Please feel free to contact our reception if you would like to help further. Brett Buchanan Head of Resourcing

Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Popular Careers with ELEXON Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ELEXON? Share Your Experiences

ELEXON logo
or