ELS Educational Services Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ELS Educational Services Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 258 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Reiji Terasaka
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits for an ESL school (used to work for 2 other companies that didn't give any benefits)(in 24 reviews)

  • "Health Benefits, great international students(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay like most teaching position(in 16 reviews)

  • "There were not enough students to keep teachers on full time(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Substitute Teacher."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at ELS Educational Services

      Pros

      The other teachers and supervisors are all helpful and hard working

      Cons

      The ESL business is slow these days

      ELS Educational Services2017-05-11
    • "Wonderful Professional Growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor in Ruston, LA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great teacher support and ample opportunities to advance career.

      Cons

      Only left my job due to cut backs

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work!

      ELS Educational Services2019-06-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "Needs new blood"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Students were amazing to work with. So was much of the Center staff.

      Cons

      Bloated management Not keeping up with the times - Change how you do things!

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your stakeholders

      ELS Educational Services2019-05-24
    • Helpful (5)

      "Soul-crushing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Instructor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      paid time off and health insurance

      Cons

      curriculum is poorly designed and students' time is often wasted on non-academic activities

      Advice to Management

      I have been teaching ESL/EFL for ten years in many different capacities. I’ve worked at public elementary schools, universities, one-on-one tutoring services, and private language academies. I understand that no school is perfect and that some things must be compromised in order for teachers to make a living. That being said, I have loved teaching at all of those institutions. I loved teaching until I came to ELS. As...

      Show More
      ELS Educational Services2019-05-09
    • "ESL teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The staff are fantastic and the new management are very flexible and supportive

      Cons

      difficult to get seniority and regular hours because staff stay for a long time!

      ELS Educational Services2019-04-24
    • Helpful (4)

      "This kite is being dragged down by terrible management!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Trainer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at ELS Educational Services part-time

      Pros

      Students are fun and interesting!

      Cons

      St. Louis local management is unqualified, inexperienced and incompetent-admins provide alcohol/party with students! Poor pay and, as overall company fails, fewer hours for teachers.

      Advice to Management

      Just go ahead and shut it down!

      ELS Educational Services2019-05-22
    • Helpful (4)

      "You can do better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Benefits are good for a Language School

      Cons

      Low pay, disconnected, over-stressed, untrained management

      Advice to Management

      Understand that you and your administrative staff are less important than the product your selling - your teachers. Value teachers by paying them fairly and create an environment that nurtures a career worth keeping.

      ELS Educational Services2019-04-13
    • Helpful (7)

      "Don’t"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor Specialiat 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits are amazing. 4 weeks of vacation time is nice

      Cons

      Teaching isn’t where they make money so they don’t care about the teachers; pay is low

      ELS Educational Services2019-03-29
    • Helpful (5)

      "Worst Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Nothing at all, it is a mess here.

      Cons

      I agree with all the negative reviews. Teachers are treated like trash, no respect for effort and time that we invest to keep this place running. Anyone close to the management are given salary raise and promotion even when the company's performance is all time low. In this company, you can grow only if you are a sycophant. This is quite evident , look around the people who are reporting to the executive vice president....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      To Curt - You have an opportunity to turn around this company. Old timers will not help you in this pursuit. A jet-setter with an entourage of parasites are bringing down this company. Look around, start with Operations and Admissions.

      ELS Educational Services2019-04-22
    • Helpful (5)

      "Only for those who cannot find a teaching job anywhere else!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Those who have no teaching experience and no advanced degree can find employment and get experience here.

      Cons

      Instructors are paid only for time in the classroom. You will spend 40-90 hours per week (no exaggeration!) on preparation and grading that is uncompensated. Essentially, you are volunteering your life to keep this cheap company in business. The maximum number of hours that the company will pay for your 80+ hours of work per week is 30. The company shamelessly exploits teachers.

      Advice to Management

      Fight for a salaried position for teachers that pays them fairly for at least a forty hour work week. You know your teachers are working twice that number of hours weekly and getting paid only for 30 hours!

      ELS Educational Services2019-04-22
    Found 258 reviews