ELS Educational Services "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ELS Educational Services Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 15 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
39%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ELS Educational Services CEO   Curt Uehlein (no image)
Curt Uehlein
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Great benefits for an ESL school (used to work for 2 other companies that didn't give any benefits)(in 24 reviews)

  • "Health Benefits, great international students(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your job depends on enrollment numbers(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay like most teaching position(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Just Wish I Got Paid for Prep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good curriculum. Good support staff. Great students who want to learn. Great benefits for an ESL school (used to work for 2 other companies that didn't give any benefits). Good PTO.

    Cons

    Hours are a bit short and prep time usually isn't paid unless you have a private student.

    ELS Educational Services2019-01-16
  2. "ELS Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ELS Educational Services part-time

    Pros

    Great Coworkers. Great Benefits. Interesting to meet people from all over the world.

    Cons

    Hours are based on student enrollment. Pay is okay until you get married and want to have kids.

    ELS Educational Services2018-08-07
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Missing the mark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time

    Pros

    -Great benefits, pretty generous amount of PTO and excellent health care -Good people

    Cons

    -Underpaid -Little opportunity for upward mobility, even with upward mobility the pay doesn't increase to a livable wage -Completely inefficient - everything must go through headquarters which is understaffed causing angry customers -Lack of clear protocol which makes me feel unable to do my job/incompetent -Lack of resources - especially time and ample staff to support the work load -No training for accounting work at the centers which causes many errors to be made and frustration from both customers and staff

    ELS Educational Services2018-07-27
  4. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All of the employees I have met at ELS, from the top down, have been both caring and supportive. They hold true to their mission and vision and provide an excellent environment for their students. Almost all of the staff at the home Office have worked in the Language Centers and their expertise and knowledge are invaluable. The benefits are great and compensation is fair.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2018-02-28
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services part-time

    Pros

    Great students , great benefits

    Cons

    Terrible pay, they call it "salary" just so you can't complain when they ask you to come in early or skip your lunch break. You actually put in how many hours you work a week.....that is not salary. You are paid only for the time you are actually teaching, which, as anyone who has taught before knows, is about half the work you do. I work about 40 to 50 hours a week and am paid for 25....pretty insulting and depressing. This is why they have a high turnover

    ELS Educational Services2017-12-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A decent short-term job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ELS Educational Services part-time

    Pros

    It's an okay paycheck for the work, and the commitments are for a month at a time, so if you need to take time off, you can. The benefits are great if you're lucky to Also, if you like learning about new cultures and meeting new people, it's a good job.

    Cons

    The opportunity for advancement is nil, and they probably won't raise your pay, no matter how good you are. You get kudos, but that's it. Also, they can cut your hours with no notice.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2017-09-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "ELS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time

    Pros

    There were really great benefits after you'd been there about 6 months. I got health, dental, and vision and I was only working part time.

    Cons

    The corporate focus is almost exclusively on selling their product: language learning. The problem was that they didn't seem to care very much about the quality and retention of their instructors. Some really bad teachers at my branch with a few really good ones.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2017-09-12
  8. "Good place to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Many entry-level positions, good pathway to break in to IE.

    Cons

    Demanding class schedules, low pay

    ELS Educational Services2017-02-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "My opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services

    Pros

    ELS is a great company to work for. The benefits are great - most are above average, I think. The company also creates opportunity for those who are willing and capable. The employees are super friendly and everyone is like family.

    Cons

    The salaries are below average, in most cases. There is a lot of work that needs to be done by each position, but this is across the entire organization. I think everyone is underpaid.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2016-08-09
  10. "University Information Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - University Information Specialist in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Great work environment Generous company Great benefits Good pay Laid back company

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement. Company randomly does layoffs

    ELS Educational Services2016-05-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews