ELS Educational Services "health benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ELS Educational Services Employee Reviews about "health benefits"

Updated 31 May 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
39%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ELS Educational Services CEO   Curt Uehlein (no image)
Curt Uehlein
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Great benefits for an ESL school (used to work for 2 other companies that didn't give any benefits)(in 24 reviews)

  • "Health Benefits, great international students(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your job depends on enrollment numbers(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay like most teaching position(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "health benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "ELS needs more education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time

    Pros

    People and work environment are great. Pay and health benefits are good.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, vision and guidance.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2018-05-31
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Needs better leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Princeton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health Benefits, great international students

    Cons

    Weak Management, minimal advancement opportunities

    ELS Educational Services2018-04-28
  3. Helpful (8)

    "English Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Instructor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer pretty good health benefits and paid time off.

    Cons

    They pay very little and do not care about their employees. The morale was always very low. They expect you to do a lot of work on your own time. If you bring it up to the directors they tell you to do all the paperwork, grading and lesson planning while you teach. They also expected us to attend three teacher's meetings per month and only one of them was paid. They expect a lot and offer very little help or support. When I started I did not receive any training. I was simply told to ask other teachers how to do all the grading and paperwork(most of which was redundant)

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2017-08-16
  4. "A mix ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, good health benefits

    Cons

    work very dependent on student enrollment

    ELS Educational Services2017-05-12
  5. Helpful (14)

    "ELS is a revolving door with good reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the students I work for - that is what keeps me going despite the long hours without extra pay or comp/flex time. I also love my coworkers who bring a wealth of talent and experience to their jobs. I love my actual job responsibilities because they allow me to advise and mentor international students in a way that makes a difference in their lives. Vacation was mediocre when I was hired - 2 weeks each year. We recently were granted an extra week of vacation so we now have 3 weeks of annual vacation per year, plus holidays like Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Good Friday, Martin Luther King Jr Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas (only 1 day!!!). That's an improvement, but with the fast pace of having thirteen 28-day sessions per year (which means processing a whole new batch of students every 4 weeks), you will have limited options to actually take that vacation time and when you do, you will work long hours in an attempt to prepare to be gone for vacation and/or catching up with what you missed while you were gone. Health benefits are good, but ELS excludes acupuncture and massage, which is disappointing for those who are into holistic and alternative medicine.

    Cons

    The pay is abysmal. I had 5 years of experience when I was hired, and I was only offered an entry-level salary (which I took, because I desperately wanted to relocate to where the job was). Later I found out that bonuses and performance raises are contingent upon ALL 60 ELS Language Centers meeting certain target goals (which I've never seen in writing)...so don't hold your breath or expect regular incremental pay increases. We experienced an administrative staff turnover rate of 50% the year I was hired. Since I originally posted this review on Feb 22, 2015, I have received a corporate recruiter response on May 27, 2015 that says the following: "Thank you for your feedback. Our salary structure is competitively based on a combination of levels of education, overall experience and cost of wages at each specific location. We are constantly evaluating and supporting our staff through training and educational incentives in order to have the best-suited and most talented professionals in each role within our organization. Please note that there are significant variances in turnover throughout our organization as we currently have over 60 locations nation-wide." I'm sorry, but $31,000 per year is NOT a fair or competitive annual salary to offer anyone with a Master's degree in ANY geographic region, especially with 5 years of experience on top of that. It's not possible to live on your own in a studio apartment and own a car with that salary. These are basic cost of living calculations that affect the lives of your employees on a daily level. I also want to note that even after receiving a meager annual pay raise, after considering the taxes that are taken out of my paycheck and the 10% of my salary that I am responsibly contributing to my 401K, I am only taking home a net salary of just above $20,000 per year. When faced with this reality, who WOULDN'T want to look for another job and jump ship at the earliest opportunity??? Especially when comparable jobs at public universities are offering $10,000 more per year! No matter how much I love my actual job, there's no way I can afford to stay here long-term because I don't want to live the rest of my life paycheck to paycheck.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2015-07-25
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Hoping it gets better, but I'm afraid it won't!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time

    Pros

    Interaction with student from all over the world and wonderful co-workers. Excellent health benefits.

    Cons

    I don’t know why anyone would want to work more than 2-3 years at this company. The employees that stay long term work in Princeton, work at smaller centers, or really need the money/benefits. ELS has a combination of an outdated (Berlitz) business model and the Japanese work-till-you-drop attitude. The amount of work allotted for the period of time is insane. It doesn’t take long for new people to be completely burned out. The technology needed to be productive is non-existent. The pennies they throw your way to compensate for the pressure through manipulative and intimidating management tactics is not nearly enough. ELS believes the only thing that is important is ELS, not your family/home life. It seems that many of the managers do not have business degrees, so they lack management skills. Management knows who the problem people are. There are really sociopathic behaviors that are encouraged from higher level managers. Eventually you will lose the employees that can help the company grow. Begin by learning to LIKE your employees, and send your managers to sensitivity and management training.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2015-04-21

    ELS Educational Services Response

    May 27, 2015Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your response. We truly value our employee feedback so that we can improve our centers not just for our staff but the students as well. We advise that you reach out to your direct supervisor to voice your concerns over work-load issues and seek solutions. Note that ELS provides four weeks of paid vacation for our instructors. We are currently working on improving our efficiencies, including the issuance of handheld computers/devices and pre-prepared lesson plans within the next few months. ELS offers free online training to all employees on numerous topics, including time-management. This may be a valuable resource for you going forward.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It is all in your perspective and approach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Students from around the world Solid curriculum with multiple ways of enhancing instruction Excellent medical and health benefits Tuition reimbursement for many levels of education; opportunity to earn CELTA certificate for free after 1 year of employment; Willing to hire folks who have taught overseas but may not have an MA or Certificate in TESOL

    Cons

    The size of the organization does make communication difficult and the fact that centers are located all over the US (and world) means there is the possibility of managers "doing their own thing." As a global company there are various regulations and procedures that may not make sense to you in the local center; this can cause frustration but is not unusual for companies of this size. This is not a public college or university so salaries may not compare. ELS pays close to its competitors but less than a community college ESL faculty. 4-week sessions are tough but manageable. At my center we teach the same level for several sessions in a row so our prep time is reduced and we get to know the material well.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2014-09-22
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Friendly place but overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Instructor 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to teach students from around the world who are mostly intelligent and motivated. You have a fair amount of freedom in the classroom. Your have a set curriculum but a lot of freedom in the classroom. You get one month of paid vacation and health benefits, and 10 sick days.

    Cons

    Your classes change every month and there are 12 levels, so you rarely repeat what you are teaching. This is good for avoiding repetition, but bad for mastering any one class. You teach 30 class hours a week and are paid for 7 hours of prep time. It's nearly impossible to spend only 7 hours a week prepping if you want to make interesting lessons and get all your grading done. I typically spend twice that amount or more. There's not a lot of support if you need help or ideas because everyone is so busy. You are surveyed on your classes by the students each session and if your scores are low you can be fired. You end up always worrying about how to get good survey scores instead of how to teach them most effectively. You have so many things to grade in a 4-week session!

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2014-06-27
  9. Helpful (11)

    "This is a business, not a school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well-behaved, mature international students, interesting coworkers, 4 weeks vacation, health benefits, 401k

    Cons

    Little respect from incompetent management, unpaid grading time, crazy 4-week schedule, instability, little room for growth, terrible classrooms, no technology, lack of diversity in the student body, discriminatory behavior from management

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2014-06-24
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's nice to be able to interact with people from all over the world. The admin part is pretty structured and routine. Health benefits for full time work.

    Cons

    HORRIBLE pay! As a for profit company, the pay is so low, even worse than some non-profit organizations or small businesses out there. They bend the rules at times in order to get more money from students. It's really all about profit and not about anything else.

    Continue reading
    ELS Educational Services2014-04-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews