EMIS Group "high staff turnover" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EMIS Group Employee Reviews about "high staff turnover"

Updated 14 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
EMIS Group Chief Executive Officer Andy Thorburn
Andy Thorburn
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Another thing to note is that the work/life balance at EMIS is great(in 17 reviews)

  • "You're helping the NHS provide a better service to patients(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high staff turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Still not out of the woods yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people at EMIS Health are brilliant. They are some of the most driven, passionate and kind people I have ever met. There are still some staff members a little stuck in their ways however the company is embracing the change. Company Car - Is definitely a big perk to the role. A choice of cars which you can spend a little more to spec up how you like. Vision - I believe the senior management do mean well and are trying to push the company back to where it should be. It was pleasing to hear from Andy Wainwright and listen to someone who is clearly connected to what is happening at the ground level without all the corporate nonsense thrown in. Offices - The offices at EMIS Health have been brought up to date and are refreshing to work from. The Cause - The market and the difference you can make at EMIS is a superb reason to work for EMIS. Progression - The company usually recruits from within which allows for progression although since the re-structure things are now more centralised. Acknowledging Faults and Planning a Way Forward - People like Lynn Moffat and Andy Wainwright have acknowledged a lot of the problems and if they are true to their word and can deliver then the company will be in a substantially better place in 6 months time.

    Cons

    Equipment - The equipment at EMIS is terrible. Its under par for the average laptop and for a technology company that is trying to demo in front of customers it is embarrassing. This is something that has been promised to correct itself over the years but clearly its not a cost the company want to embark on. Parking - Parking at the offices is terrible. There is not sufficient parking for the amount of staff that work their which is even more frustrating for field staff who may spend a long time travelling to the offices. High Staff Turnover - We are still losing a lot of staff from rocking the boat with the re-structure. Lots of people were made redundant and now we have dozens of vacancies. Numbers Game - Every department operates in fear slightly of being able to justify itself to the company - This means that really challenging KPIs are set which is getting to the point where its detrimental to the customer at times.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-02-21

    EMIS Group Response

    February 27, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Glassdoor. As you know this is a place where a number of people looking for jobs with EMIS will come and its important for people to understand what we do well and what we are still trying to improve. Thanks very much for your comments on Andy Wainwright's presentation and other comments on Lynn's work. I'm sure they'll be glad to receive this feedback. As a new employee I certainly agree with your comment about the people here, some really excellent employees trying very hard to improve things! As far as some of the practical points you make, these are very valid areas for employees to be concerned about. We have sufficient parking at our EMIS Fulford Grange, Sheffield and Cambridge offices and will shortly be adding a further 56 spaces at our Egton sites so I am presuming your comment is related to Rawdon House which has limited parking. We have investigated numerous options for this site and are operating a first come first served policy for staff that permanently on this site. We continue to look in the local area for further parking because as you say, this is an issue. Technology – We are currently working through a technology audit to adopt group wide systems – first project is the implementation of Skype for business which should be complete by the end of March. The ability for field staff to be able to carry out successful demonstration has been identified as part of the technology project and we should be in a position to provide an update to staff in the following weeks. On attrition, last year saw a spike which undoubtedly related to the redundancy programme which we unfortunately had to undertake. I have ensured, since I joined, that we monitored attrition much more closely across all departments and focussed on understanding more about the reasons for people leaving. I can reassure you that over the last 4 months it has dropped significantly and is well below the industry norm now, so that's good. I fully agree with you, though, that it is an important indicator and one we need to work hard at. The other positive news is that the number of Developers hired over the last 4 months is significantly higher than the number of developers moving on. Your point on KPIs is definitely one for us to think about. They are really critical to running a successful business but its important that they measure the right things. Thank you for taking the time and as I say with all reviews, feel free to come and chat at any time Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A business with good values towards the NHS but with retention issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Engineer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working towards supporting the NHS through new technologies

    Cons

    Underpaid staff compared to other industries which results in a high staff turnover. If the salary matched the job i would rate higher.

    EMIS Group2019-04-14

    EMIS Group Response

    April 15, 2019Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to add a review to Glassdoor. I agree that we are supporting the NHS and other businesses with some strong products and have plans to develop these further. I am sorry to hear that you feel that our employees are underpaid, but I must correct your statement. . I'm not sure where you are getting your facts from, but we don't have high turnover. If you want to get in touch I would be happy to share our turnover figures with you and show you industry comparators. This is not to say that I wouldn't want attrition to be even lower. I seek to avoid any unnecessary attrition. What I have said in many recent communications to all employees is that we have some areas of our business that we need over time to improve salary, but most companies would probably have that issue. We pay well against the market generally and our benefits package is good. Where we are adrift of the market we make sure that we understand this by using relevant geographical market data and we will address this gap as we can over time. Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (34)

    "Corrupt to the core"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Watford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time

    Pros

    There's few good eggs. I've made a few good friends here. there are also a few very bright sparks who are fantastic at what they do (albeit neither praised nor rewarded for it).

    Cons

    I've seen some pretty remarkable things in this company. There’s a lot so I'll stick to what I deem to be the big stuff: Bullying: I've seen Incompetence, bullying and being generally underhanded become the mark of a successful person here. If a manager doesn't like someone, I've seen them simply make that persons work life so miserable that they are forced to leave. I've seen a team leader throw their own manager under the bus so they are forced to resign and then take their job. Nepotism: I've seen lots of nepotism. Preferential treatment is given to special friends and family members across most departments in this division (and by the looks of it, a number of other divisions too). I've heard about people failing interviews and then suddenly get in and rise to team leader once one of their friends got into an influential position. I've seen mates promote mates directly and I've seen bullying campaigns being launched on friends and family members' behalf. I've seen members of staff put in the effort and get mediocre scores in their appraisal while people who are mates with the director get great scores and land large bonuses as a result. I've seen good people bared down upon for minor infractions while the highly regarded get away with spending all day surfing the web or messing about on their phone. There was apparently an announcement of a big training budget but the only people who saw the benefit of that were the privileged few (the same few who are allowed to 'work' from home and get arbitrary promotions to new non-roles etc.). General culture: I've seen a single department have the highest staff turnover I've ever seen in any department anywhere because their members are so stressed by the utterly toxic culture of blame, KPIs and clock watching fostered by their director, they couldn't bear the thought of staying. So much good talent has gone to waste this way. I've seen people get made redundant and then I've seen the company try to trick them into accepting a 'trial' for role so they don't have the pay the redundancy pay. I've seen countless cases of people making an honest mistake, and then desperately claw for someone else to blame and throw under the bus for fear of being made miserable by their director. I've seen genuine cases of discrimination in this day and age and in a company of this size too numerous to go into individually (it was even pointed out in an anonymous company survey but nothing was ever done about it. No investigation. No change). I've seen sexual harassment cases get swept under the carpet with the victim being told to keep quiet about it in the office for fear of upsetting the perpetrator (who, at this point I’m sure you'll not be surprised to know is still here). To sum up: Want to know if someone's successful here? Find out how many colleagues they've made miserable or how much they have cost the company with their self-gratifying actions or look at who their mates are. Don't look at how hard they work or how good they are at what they do. I'd love to say that I'm an edge case, only seeing the worst of the company but after reading these other reviews, I'm saddened to see that I'm not. This is the rancid culture of EMIS Health.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2017-07-21

    EMIS Group Response

    August 7, 2017Group Talent Partner

    Thank you for your comments. We’re disappointed to hear about your experiences and observations in this area of the business and would like to hear more so we can properly investigate it. If you feel able to please contact either someone on the senior leadership team, your local HR manager or any member of the group people services team. You’ve made some serious allegations and we take these seriously – you’ll find details of our Whistleblowing Policy on the intranet and this has a contact number if you would prefer to report your concerns to our anonymous helpline. As helpful as an anonymous review on Glassdoor may be for a potential candidate, it doesn’t help us to identify and tackle issues head on, therefore if anyone else is reading this and has concerns, we would encourage you to speak to us directly. It’s only by doing this that we can create an environment where everyone values and enjoys their work with us. We are aware that some text is missing from this response, it is caused by a bug in the Glassdoor system. It should read "If you feel able to please contact". We are working with Glassdoor to rectify this

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Absolutely horrendous company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Helpdesk Analyst in Rawdon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None whatsoever, unless you like being disheartened, treated like garbage and underpaid.

    Cons

    Lowest pay for this type of role in the industry The work isn't very interesting (not very technical at all - at least in my role) You can only advance if you suck up to management / cliques Company pays the bare minimum and does the bare minimum it can get away with They treat you like mugs. They will do things to make it look like they are changing for the better. Pay reviews, etc. but nothing ever actually changes. Staff turnover is high. For a company with "health" in the name, it doesn't care about driving down its employees' mental health. "Let them leave, we'll just hire someone else and pay them peanuts" was a line I once heard come out of a senior manager's mouth. If you care about yourself, keep looking for something else.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2017-06-28
  5. Helpful (17)

    "One of the very many ex-development employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Architect in Rawdon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff were great. Brilliantly ethical vocation. Some really talented people creating a market leading GP systems. Good canteen and nice surroundings.

    Cons

    Very political, lots of senior managers with very low to no EQ. Accusations of bullying and harassment against Senior Management with no visible action taken. Emis seemed to me to be managed by career minded sociopaths who think nothing of using people to further their careers. Lack of recognition and reward. You often felt unsupported, set up to fail then exposed by you manager. Lack of formal career progression. Very little internal training. Poorly trained or untrained, unskilled "people" managers. Very little focus on personal development. Obviously and quite unsurprisingly there's a high staff turnover.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2016-09-03

    EMIS Group Response

    November 22, 2016Internal Communication Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's great to hear about the positives! As for the negatives, many of your suggestions are things that we're already working on. It's been a big task to bring together different companies under one group, but everything you described in your 'advice to management' is exactly the sort of culture that we're trying to build. We're reviewing every aspect of the employee experience, and have significantly invested in line manager development to make sure that we have skilled and capable leaders at every level of our organisation.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Worst company I've ever worked for avoid..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Support Consultant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, becomes repetitive then becomes boring.

    Cons

    Sold me the job in interview so that I accept the job on the basis that I'd be given extra training for development. Soon realised that the training promised would never materialise. Loads of favouritism within the organisation basically it's a case of if your face fits. You'll see individuals working extremely hard often hounded by management. Whilst others (the managers favourites) sat around doing absolutely nothing! Within my short employment span there not a single day without major national fault effecting users which confirms how unstable the Emis web system really is. This understandably has made users migrate to its major competitor. Friday dress down is basically employee extortion so that a piiss up can arranged. There's no employee union you are at the managements peril so God forbid if you fall ill & your not classed as the favourite few. If your seeking development within Emis then you do not fall for lies within the interview it will never happen. The majority leave for those reasons hence the high staff turnover.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2015-03-15

    EMIS Group Response

    May 15, 2015Internal Communication Manager

    Hello, I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at EMIS, but thank you for taking the time to identify the areas that didn't work for you. We've recently conducted our first full employee survey so that we can can understand how people feel about working for EMIS Group - what they love and where we can make improvements. We're currently sharing these results with teams across the business and together we'll work on solutions to address the issues - some of which may be the same as those you've highlighted above. I hope you've found a role in another company that suits you more. Thanks, Laura

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Cheap labour and a high staff turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible, laid back approach, using up to date technologies, some helpful staff.

    Cons

    Pay is terrible, benefits are none existent, staff turnover is alarming and there are many cliques. Organisation within departments is poor and there are no organised social events paid for by the company.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2014-01-21
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent Company to start a career with who give anyone a chance - a little too much red tape."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and there are lots of socialising opportunities.The main office is in a nice area with free parking. They give people with relatively little experience or qualifications a chance at proving themselves which is rare to find in today's job market. The amount of guidance available means you can rarely go wrong. Every solution is documented and fixes described in a vast knowledge base. This helps employees with no technical experience become excellent problem solvers without them even knowing it. The business is innovative and a market leader which provided excellent job stability and looks really good on a CV. An Excellent place to start an IT career.

    Cons

    The amount of procedure, policy and red tape is suffocating. Although this allows for Emis to employee low skilled staff and train them up quickly and efficiently, any bright stars would quickly absorb the training and leave for pastures new as soon as possible. I would expect Emis to have a high staff turnover in certain areas of business and with no progression in year 1 regardless of talent I'm not surprised. This is odd as they give people without qualifications jobs but then if they surpass expectation and would be better suited to another area of business they will not allow them to move and would even let them leave the company rather than break the procedure. I found management had very little power and were really just providing statistics and guidance. It may have been that to some degree they hide behind procedures to be your friend and still say no. Too strict on lateness and sickness that produces unnecessary pressure and stress.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2012-08-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews