EMIS Group "nhs" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EMIS Group Employee Reviews about "nhs"

Updated 16 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
EMIS Group Chief Executive Officer Andy Thorburn
Andy Thorburn
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Another thing to note is that the work/life balance at EMIS is great(in 17 reviews)

  • "You're helping the NHS provide a better service to patients(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "nhs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work if you can handle the pace of change both in technology and business priorities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Leader in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good employee benefits. You're helping the NHS provide a better service to patients. Many of the people who work there are first class.

    Cons

    Nothing major, it's a growing IT business so some people struggle with the pace of change but you'll see that in any successful business.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-10-09
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Doesn’t value good, experienced staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company car & fuel card Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Emis Health changed beyond all recognition in the nearly 10 years I worked there. My experience at the start was one of a genuinely caring, fun, vibrant and productive company that I was proud to say I worked for. That all changed for the worse around 4 years ago when a mass cull of staff took place, under the orders of a new American CEO that had clearly been brought in to do that task, as he left shortly afterwards. Following this, the atmosphere of the company changed and there was a negative feeling ever since, due in part to people feeling insecure in their jobs, having lost good colleagues with experience and feeling undervalued, as well as the constant small changes in job role/job title/structure etc. I was no longer proud to work for this company, but I continued to do the best I could to represent then in front of customers every day. Fast forward to the end of 2018 and into 2019, the biggest ever cull of staff was undertaken in three waves, every 90 days, code-named “Project Pickford” by the senior management (an insensitive choice as it shares the same name as a well known removals company - this did not go unnoticed by the affected staff). During these these 3 cycles (and in-between) there were numerous staff, with invaluable combined experience of EMIS products of literally hundreds of years, who were made redundant. In the area I worked in we were promised for months and months that our team was “safe” and we would be getting extra staff in our already stretched team. This however turned out to be a lie, as all 21 of my team were made redundant after the SLT decided the role of account managers were no longer required in the primary care market (without actually consulting a single customer). To say this left me feeling undervalued is true, however my first thought was not for myself but for the customers and how they would feel being let down by a company that had previously provided support on a level above and beyond any competitor. For me personally, this experience was a blessing in disguise. I immediately moved into a new role, where I can share my years of experience, I am far less stressed and actually manage to sustain a life outside work, amazing after having given so many hours of my own time to EMIS and their customers, only for the company to claim my role wasn’t required and customers don’t want account managers. The company that claimed to pride themselves on honesty and transparency let all these staff and customers down, but also were not honest in that they didn’t tell them the real reason for these cuts - the truth being that they were paying out millions of pounds in fines to NHS Digital for breaches in contractual obligations such as SLAs (this information is readily available online). Unfortunately, removing years of experienced staff from all recently affected departments has unequivocally damaged the reputation of this business beyond all recognition, and although they may have made short-term savings, the ultimate cost to try and rebuild it will be far more in the long run, and anyway it’s probably too late for that now. However if the (unsubstantiated) rumours are to be believed, the business is being primed to be sold off.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-12-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A business with good values towards the NHS but with retention issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Engineer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working towards supporting the NHS through new technologies

    Cons

    Underpaid staff compared to other industries which results in a high staff turnover. If the salary matched the job i would rate higher.

    EMIS Group2019-04-14

    EMIS Group Response

    April 15, 2019Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to add a review to Glassdoor. I agree that we are supporting the NHS and other businesses with some strong products and have plans to develop these further. I am sorry to hear that you feel that our employees are underpaid, but I must correct your statement. . I'm not sure where you are getting your facts from, but we don't have high turnover. If you want to get in touch I would be happy to share our turnover figures with you and show you industry comparators. This is not to say that I wouldn't want attrition to be even lower. I seek to avoid any unnecessary attrition. What I have said in many recent communications to all employees is that we have some areas of our business that we need over time to improve salary, but most companies would probably have that issue. We pay well against the market generally and our benefits package is good. Where we are adrift of the market we make sure that we understand this by using relevant geographical market data and we will address this gap as we can over time. Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company to Work For, If you can get used to it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In my experience there are two types of people at EMIS. There are those that join the business for the first time, and find it doesn't really work like most other places they have worked. They don't like it, and don't last long. But for every one of those people, there are plenty more who approach EMIS with an open mind, and stick at it. Those people usually find themselves staying here for ever. Plenty have left seeking pastures new, only to find the grass isn't always greener on the other side and come back. There is a great culture of people being promoted from within. Many of the technical specialists within the business started life out as 1st line support analysts, and worked through the ranks to become developers, testers, DBAs or Solutions Architects. Equally, there are quite a lot of middle management posts where the job is being done by somebody who worked their way from the ground up. Rarely are team leaders or managers recruited externally. There has been a big shift recently to try and right some of the wrongs that have happened in the past. Communication from the top is as clear as it can be, and the business really seems to have a new energy behind it as everybody gets behind the new technology that is coming.

    Cons

    Because a lot of the business is NHS contracts, this means that the amount of profit EMIS can make is limited. This in turn means that wages won't be big when compared with other sectors like Finance, Telecommunications and Online Services. Those companies can make large profits without government oversight so can and do pay more for the same roles that EMIS offer. If you're the sort to constantly move job always seeking the best remuneration package, EMIS probably isn't for you.

    EMIS Group2019-03-01

    EMIS Group Response

    March 4, 2019Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I thought your comments were very perceptive and in many ways they explain the quite different reactions people can have as employees at EMIS. One thing I am very passionate about is hiring people that will enjoy working here, so your review will hopefully help people to understand what we are and what we are not. I think our strategy, when executed, will diversify our business and widen our customer base. This in turn will likely bring about an even greater return for employees, but lots of hard work between now and then for sure. Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Moving forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Pay & Benefits have improved recently - The current senior leadership team is trying to transform company culture for the better - Business is actively looking to improve leadership qualities and consulting with employees - 2019 product strategy will revolutionise NHS systems if successful - Opportunities to grow each day, if you are willing

    Cons

    - Hangover and silos from fast growth / many business acquisitions - Lack of repercussions for negligence / incompetence / maliciousness - Ongoing internal battle with those who are reluctant to modernise, collaborate or adopt responsibility - Some key day to day decisions are not being delegated by senior leadership, which implies a lack of trust for their managers

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-12-14

    EMIS Group Response

    December 17, 2018Group HR Director

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to review EMIS on Glassdoor. It is pleasing to see that many of the areas that are high on our focus are being seen as moving in the right direction, notably improvements in pay and benefits, improving the working culture, consulting and communicating more, leadership capability and providing employees with opportunities to grow. You are also very accurate about the areas that must be focussed on in 2019 and the importance of winning the battle with those reluctant to change. As you can imagine, I am keen to see them move with us on the journey, but effort is still required in areas. I note your point on delegation and will pass on and I look forward to seeing 2019 strategy as executed, as you do. Thanks again Jacqui Summons, Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Positive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally a positive place to work where I feel really empowered to make decisions. The people here are great and there is a good culture of hard work and getting stuff done. Professional development is encouraged and there are lots of opportunities outside of your day to day role, from charity work to getting involved with improving the organisation. Being based outside of a city centre with easy commute and parking is a benefit a lot of employees. Good to know you are working on projects that make a difference to the NHS and patients.

    Cons

    Flexible working is theoretically available but there isn't a culture for this. Information isn't always cascaded from the most senior level when it should be.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-11-13

    EMIS Group Response

    December 1, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Glassdoor. I very much appreciate your thoughts on flexible working. We have areas of EMIS that have really embraced this and are reaping the benefits from a company and individual point of view and we have other areas that have a policy, but don't really go as far as they could. Next week we are launching a new flexible working policy and with it we are focusing on the manager's role in carefully considering requests and trying to think of innovative ways to support requests. Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are really friendly and most are understanding if there something going on out of work. The atmosphere used to be a little tense but now I really feel it is changing for the better. I feel empowered to take time out for learning and development, for example I am able to attend events or help with charity days. You are also encouraged to excel and find jobs in other areas of the business if you want some more experience. Most importantly the business does something which most other IT companies don't; it develops a products which saves lives and helps the NHS.

    Cons

    Whilst the negativity is decreasing, there are still some negative people who can sometimes bring the mood down.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-04-20

    EMIS Group Response

    April 24, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of EMIS on Glassdoor. It is particularly good to see that you are enjoying the newly launched charity days. This gives us all a great opportunity to give something back and spend some quality time with our colleagues out of a work setting. I agree with your comment that negativity still exists in places and it can have an effect on us , but we wont let it get us down! All the best Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "There are ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time

    Pros

    The company does some amazing things that I truly believe positively impacts patients and improves working practices in the NHS. Valued opinions within teams and the ability to affect positive change (most of the time). There are some amazing people who work at EMIS Health and are really passionate about what they do.

    Cons

    Continual change and lack of direction. Whilst teams are great to work with I feel that the organisation under-values staff and does't do enough to keep good people.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-04-05

    EMIS Group Response

    April 9, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time. It is encouraging to see that you think there are positive and negative aspects of your time here. It is always so difficult when there are no positives to build on! There is certainly more work going on now to increase engagement levels among all of our employees and I am focussed on this as a priority this year. We are taking the views of employees from the Employee survey very seriously and supporting managers to take positive steps to improve any areas which hamper engagement in their team. There is still a long way to go though and you are therefore right to point out that this must be a continuing focus for management. Thanks again and do feel free to get in touch direct if you think I can help in any way Jacqui Summons Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time

    Pros

    Out of town location means less traffic when commuting. Worthy products which help the NHS, makes you feel good when things go well. EMIS Web despite many bugs is an invaluable tool for GP surgeries.

    Cons

    Half a decade of poor strategic decision making (which has not stopped yet) has seen this company go from a slightly eccentric and dysfunctional but enjoyable and motivational place to work, to a cold, city obsessed, wannabe corporate machine which spits people, projects and customers out without a care. Some of the remaining management are well out of their depth and are happy walking around, trying to look important drinking coffee rather than getting their hands dirty and fixing the many problems that exist.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-04-10

    EMIS Group Response

    April 24, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to add a review on Glassdoor. I am glad to see that you wish the management team well in its challenges in making this a place that everyone wants to work. As you will see , from other reviews, improvements are being made and recognised in some parts of the business so I'm really sorry that didn't come soon enough for you. One thing EMIS is not is a city obsessed company. Having worked in some of those, i feel qualified to say that! As so often, the anonymous nature of Glassdoor means that i cant investigate further, particularly as I don't know which managers you are referring to , but I am always happy to hear more if you wish to get in direct contact. Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (20)

    "Needs to move fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at EMIS Group

    Pros

    Although it has lost a ton of good people throughout the business there are still a core of people who are trying to make it work and sort the mess out. If only the wider management could see that and support it we could really turn a corner

    Cons

    Very slow change. Needed radical intervention. Has just had tweaks. Still has the same people in the company just shuffled into different positions and even promoted for pure incompetence in a lot of cases. Doesn't know what its focus is. No direction or strategy still. Chases every opportunity and rarely delivers anything. Doesn't value architecture and design functions, where big companies have mature architecture functions and everything flows from them throughout, EMIS question the need to even have any architects and place little value on the vast input they have in making things viable, profitable, delivered and even possible. Small business mentality impeding the big business ambitions. Senior management hang on in waiting for a share pay out rather than trying to improve the business. Chennai is the future. Everything is going out there despite numerous assurances that main dev will be UK, huge recruitment out in Chennai and a very naive view that this will just work. UK nhs healthcare lookout for the bug, clinical risk and quality drop that's coming. Good UK developers are put on projects at a whim of the cto who dictates random deliverables with nothing to back them up then the projects just get canned. Technical debt is growing and it's only a matter of months before it's impossible to develop anything in under 12 months. Even the smallest change. The new regime is just the same as the old, all talk, no action apart from self preservation.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2017-11-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews