EMIS Group "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EMIS Group Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 16 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
EMIS Group Chief Executive Officer Andy Thorburn
Andy Thorburn
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Another thing to note is that the work/life balance at EMIS is great(in 17 reviews)

  • "You're helping the NHS provide a better service to patients(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Still not out of the woods yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people at EMIS Health are brilliant. They are some of the most driven, passionate and kind people I have ever met. There are still some staff members a little stuck in their ways however the company is embracing the change. Company Car - Is definitely a big perk to the role. A choice of cars which you can spend a little more to spec up how you like. Vision - I believe the senior management do mean well and are trying to push the company back to where it should be. It was pleasing to hear from Andy Wainwright and listen to someone who is clearly connected to what is happening at the ground level without all the corporate nonsense thrown in. Offices - The offices at EMIS Health have been brought up to date and are refreshing to work from. The Cause - The market and the difference you can make at EMIS is a superb reason to work for EMIS. Progression - The company usually recruits from within which allows for progression although since the re-structure things are now more centralised. Acknowledging Faults and Planning a Way Forward - People like Lynn Moffat and Andy Wainwright have acknowledged a lot of the problems and if they are true to their word and can deliver then the company will be in a substantially better place in 6 months time.

    Cons

    Equipment - The equipment at EMIS is terrible. Its under par for the average laptop and for a technology company that is trying to demo in front of customers it is embarrassing. This is something that has been promised to correct itself over the years but clearly its not a cost the company want to embark on. Parking - Parking at the offices is terrible. There is not sufficient parking for the amount of staff that work their which is even more frustrating for field staff who may spend a long time travelling to the offices. High Staff Turnover - We are still losing a lot of staff from rocking the boat with the re-structure. Lots of people were made redundant and now we have dozens of vacancies. Numbers Game - Every department operates in fear slightly of being able to justify itself to the company - This means that really challenging KPIs are set which is getting to the point where its detrimental to the customer at times.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-02-21

    EMIS Group Response

    February 27, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Glassdoor. As you know this is a place where a number of people looking for jobs with EMIS will come and its important for people to understand what we do well and what we are still trying to improve. Thanks very much for your comments on Andy Wainwright's presentation and other comments on Lynn's work. I'm sure they'll be glad to receive this feedback. As a new employee I certainly agree with your comment about the people here, some really excellent employees trying very hard to improve things! As far as some of the practical points you make, these are very valid areas for employees to be concerned about. We have sufficient parking at our EMIS Fulford Grange, Sheffield and Cambridge offices and will shortly be adding a further 56 spaces at our Egton sites so I am presuming your comment is related to Rawdon House which has limited parking. We have investigated numerous options for this site and are operating a first come first served policy for staff that permanently on this site. We continue to look in the local area for further parking because as you say, this is an issue. Technology – We are currently working through a technology audit to adopt group wide systems – first project is the implementation of Skype for business which should be complete by the end of March. The ability for field staff to be able to carry out successful demonstration has been identified as part of the technology project and we should be in a position to provide an update to staff in the following weeks. On attrition, last year saw a spike which undoubtedly related to the redundancy programme which we unfortunately had to undertake. I have ensured, since I joined, that we monitored attrition much more closely across all departments and focussed on understanding more about the reasons for people leaving. I can reassure you that over the last 4 months it has dropped significantly and is well below the industry norm now, so that's good. I fully agree with you, though, that it is an important indicator and one we need to work hard at. The other positive news is that the number of Developers hired over the last 4 months is significantly higher than the number of developers moving on. Your point on KPIs is definitely one for us to think about. They are really critical to running a successful business but its important that they measure the right things. Thank you for taking the time and as I say with all reviews, feel free to come and chat at any time Jacqui Summons, EMIS Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Doesn’t value good, experienced staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company car & fuel card Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Emis Health changed beyond all recognition in the nearly 10 years I worked there. My experience at the start was one of a genuinely caring, fun, vibrant and productive company that I was proud to say I worked for. That all changed for the worse around 4 years ago when a mass cull of staff took place, under the orders of a new American CEO that had clearly been brought in to do that task, as he left shortly afterwards. Following this, the atmosphere of the company changed and there was a negative feeling ever since, due in part to people feeling insecure in their jobs, having lost good colleagues with experience and feeling undervalued, as well as the constant small changes in job role/job title/structure etc. I was no longer proud to work for this company, but I continued to do the best I could to represent then in front of customers every day. Fast forward to the end of 2018 and into 2019, the biggest ever cull of staff was undertaken in three waves, every 90 days, code-named “Project Pickford” by the senior management (an insensitive choice as it shares the same name as a well known removals company - this did not go unnoticed by the affected staff). During these these 3 cycles (and in-between) there were numerous staff, with invaluable combined experience of EMIS products of literally hundreds of years, who were made redundant. In the area I worked in we were promised for months and months that our team was “safe” and we would be getting extra staff in our already stretched team. This however turned out to be a lie, as all 21 of my team were made redundant after the SLT decided the role of account managers were no longer required in the primary care market (without actually consulting a single customer). To say this left me feeling undervalued is true, however my first thought was not for myself but for the customers and how they would feel being let down by a company that had previously provided support on a level above and beyond any competitor. For me personally, this experience was a blessing in disguise. I immediately moved into a new role, where I can share my years of experience, I am far less stressed and actually manage to sustain a life outside work, amazing after having given so many hours of my own time to EMIS and their customers, only for the company to claim my role wasn’t required and customers don’t want account managers. The company that claimed to pride themselves on honesty and transparency let all these staff and customers down, but also were not honest in that they didn’t tell them the real reason for these cuts - the truth being that they were paying out millions of pounds in fines to NHS Digital for breaches in contractual obligations such as SLAs (this information is readily available online). Unfortunately, removing years of experienced staff from all recently affected departments has unequivocally damaged the reputation of this business beyond all recognition, and although they may have made short-term savings, the ultimate cost to try and rebuild it will be far more in the long run, and anyway it’s probably too late for that now. However if the (unsubstantiated) rumours are to be believed, the business is being primed to be sold off.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-12-16
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Company going through major changes and lost significant skilled/knowledgeable staff due to poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Team 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The whole ethos of emis is to improve patient outcomes/lives by delivering quality software solutions...

    Cons

    There are a lot of problems within emis which can all be attributed to the senior leadership team, with this I include directors and C level. Senior leadership, clearly don't understand the business, as mass redundancies to facility a simplistic operational model (some call it streamlining) has not worked, now they have no experienced staff to support existing contracts...I can only imagine they'll have increasing fines (like the widely published fines of millions due to mis-reporting) associated with these decision, will those who made the decision be held accountable...or was this budgeted for... Lack of senior leadership engagement with the operational teams, decisions being made without any consultation with those dealing with the day-to-day operational side of the business...caring? certainly not, very much do as we say or get out attitude.... Lack of core knowledge in the product/market, due to mass redundancies and loss of talent due to above two points Lack of talent to deliver emis x, due to above. Pay not in line with industry standard for IT healthcare, no bonuses, appreciate that this will be refuted but this is my genuine experience. Performance reviews are not measured, senior management make the decision based on their own view, as no formal performance review process existed No culture, business direction is very focused on the share price, the current CEO's main driver when brought on board no doubt.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-08-07

    EMIS Group Response

    August 26, 2019Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. It is in stark contrast to most of the reviews we now receive on Glassdoor and given your length of service I am very surprised that you do not acknowledge the considerable change that has taken place in recent years. Our C Level and Director group is world class and the Executive team are working tirelessly to build a company that all employees can be proud to be a part of. I am sorry that you did not see this in your time at EMIS and if you wanted to contact me with slightly more specific concerns I would be happy to talk to you. All the best in your future plans. Jacqui Summons, Group HR Director, EMIS

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Such a shame"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working (for some) and close to home

    Cons

    No communication or engagement from senior management, lack of direction in both communication of company focus and individual teams, huge losses of talented staff through redundancies and false promises leading to no other option but to leave the business. No pay increase for 4 years and I was only given one because I put a business case forward to justify a raise. Lots of posters put up regarding the charity MIND and mental health awareness but nothing company wide was actually done to implement any mental health improvement processes with the exception of asking staff to volunteer to become a mental health first aider - which wasn't actually implemented before I left, again putting the responsibility back on the staff rather than doing anything about it themselves.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-06-20

    EMIS Group Response

    June 24, 2019Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. I can tell you feel very strongly and I am sorry to hear the strength of your negative feeling against EMIS. Firstly, just to set the record straight a little: Our first Mental Health First Aider course takes place next Thursday and Friday in Leeds, with 15 delegates including a member of the Executive team. This action is as a result of a joint business/HR project. We are absolutely committed to this, improving mental health and supporting MIND. We will run a further course later in the year. We are reorganising and this is leading to some compulsory redundancies. The numbers are low and in fact our overall headcount has changed very little, as we are investing in many areas of the business at the same time, notably Development and Sales. I agree with you that surveys can only tell part of the picture. Despite responding to every comment on Glassdoor since November 2017 and offering countless times for people to come direct to me with their concerns, only one person has ever stepped aside from the anonymous cloak that Glassdoor offers and talked in confidence to me. I think that person will agree that this helped resolve their concern. I do agree completely with you that not all our employees are happy, but they are not all unhappy either. The key is to know exactly where to focus and quite often vague information such as is provided on this forum helps no-one. Jacqui Summons, Group HR Director, EMIS

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very Sad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Based in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family company, fantastic colleagues. Friends

    Cons

    Senior Management, joke, idiots, no idea, nepotism.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-09-21

    EMIS Group Response

    September 24, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Glassdoor, even though it is not o recommend us. EMIS is not a family company, but I wonder if you mean it feels like a family working at EMIS. This friendliness is something that I very much see at the company myself and is a huge strength. I'm sorry that you feel so negative about EMIS having been here for a long time too. Your comment about "senior management" is very general and I simply don't see that your description applies to most of our senior managers. I would ,of course, be happy to receive more specific details from you if you wanted to get in touch direct. Jacqui Summons, Group HR Director, EMIS.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time

    Pros

    Good hardworking people who care about patient safety

    Cons

    Poor middle and senior management

    EMIS Group2018-05-15

    EMIS Group Response

    May 30, 2018Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review to Glassdoor. I'm sorry that you don't see more positive things happening at EMIS, but good to know you feel we have hardworking employees that care about patient safety, as this is a key value for us. There isn't a lot of detail in your review to help me know where to focus and I think I would probably (politely) have to disagree with you that the company is going downhill, given what the majority of employees are reporting internally and externally. As always, I would be more than happy to speak directly, in confidence with you. All the best.. Jacqui Summons, Group HR Director

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (12)

    "We were better off before Emis bought us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are slightly better than before.

    Cons

    New CEO was supposed to visit sites, well he got bored of doing that and didn't visit us. Mind you Previous CEO was more interested in doing magic tricks and sitting in his ivory tower. Senior management are so detached it's unbelievable. As previous stated by others very much a face fits culture regardless of skills and experience of others. Middle Management are a joke as well, no backbone, no guts and just because they have manager in their titles, it doesn't make them managers a lot of them couldn't manage a pee up in a brewery. Progression opportunities are available to the chosen few, or are based in totally the wrong location, so that golden boys and girls are able to take them. Promises made by middle management regarding progression frequently broken.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2018-01-10

    EMIS Group Response

    February 12, 2018Group HR Director

    Having joined EMIS as Group HR Director at the end of last year I have read reviews posted before I joined and since. I would really like the the opportunity to understand and try to resolve any issues raised but it’s hard to do that without a two-way conversation and it makes no sense to have a public debate on Glassdoor. I would encourage you to get in touch with me. You make a very valid point about what can be understood from direct interaction with individuals and teams and Andy Thorburn, CEO has met many, many teams since he joined last year and continues to do so. Please do let me know if you would like to arrange a visit for a specific team or location. Jacqui Summons

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (19)

    "Bullies culture, politics, poisenous middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Rawdon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Over the 15 years that I was at the company, I had a fairly good all round experience of most of the development of the company saw how it's evolved. Some of the people who work there are brilliant.

    Cons

    Seniors/Team leads do not know what they are talking about they get away with it because they have the ear of the senior management. Bullying culture at EMIS. So called senior developers will use other developers are pawns in their personal battles. Middle management bully other staff members. Career progression is non existent. It's more about who you know than what you know or how good a job you do.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2017-11-30
  9. Helpful (20)

    "Needs to move fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at EMIS Group

    Pros

    Although it has lost a ton of good people throughout the business there are still a core of people who are trying to make it work and sort the mess out. If only the wider management could see that and support it we could really turn a corner

    Cons

    Very slow change. Needed radical intervention. Has just had tweaks. Still has the same people in the company just shuffled into different positions and even promoted for pure incompetence in a lot of cases. Doesn't know what its focus is. No direction or strategy still. Chases every opportunity and rarely delivers anything. Doesn't value architecture and design functions, where big companies have mature architecture functions and everything flows from them throughout, EMIS question the need to even have any architects and place little value on the vast input they have in making things viable, profitable, delivered and even possible. Small business mentality impeding the big business ambitions. Senior management hang on in waiting for a share pay out rather than trying to improve the business. Chennai is the future. Everything is going out there despite numerous assurances that main dev will be UK, huge recruitment out in Chennai and a very naive view that this will just work. UK nhs healthcare lookout for the bug, clinical risk and quality drop that's coming. Good UK developers are put on projects at a whim of the cto who dictates random deliverables with nothing to back them up then the projects just get canned. Technical debt is growing and it's only a matter of months before it's impossible to develop anything in under 12 months. Even the smallest change. The new regime is just the same as the old, all talk, no action apart from self preservation.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2017-11-25
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Experience, Qualifications, Loyalty, Dedication to Work etc. Don't Count"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The era that I worked for EMIS Health, there was job security as there was no redundancies.

    Cons

    As so many other reviews, I experienced that the only criteria to progress in this company was to be liked by senior management. Senior management was known to have no concern about how staff feels. They loved giving confusing messages. You ask them something and you would get an answer that would not make sense. Take an example of a review here, where an ex-employee correctly mentioned how managers are picked over more experience and qualified staff just based on likings. The response from HR is that we are training our managers. The question was not that whether you train your managers or not. I was paid much less than the market rate for my role that was a combination of many roles.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2017-10-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews